We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic..... perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
suffolk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic..... perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely hotel staff, so friendly and helpful. Have stayed in this hotel before a few times but it has now been refurbished so nice new decor. Room was nice and modern, slightly on the small side with little extra touches like different plug sockets so no need for adapters! Very comfortable stay and liked the pillow spray for a good nights sleep.
Shame about the bar on the roof being changed to a meeting room it had a fantastic view when we last visited!!

Thanks to the hotel for the waffles and birthday card left in the room (136) on 4th August for my partners birthday it was really nice touch. Luckily on arrival we were able to check in which is a great help as you can get sorted and then start your break without having to worry about luggage. This hotel is perfect for the city, straight of the train from Central station it's only 5-10 mins walk no need for a taxi and easy to get around as it's so central to everything.

Definitely recommend paying for the breakfast well worth the extra money, fantastic pancakes, want to return again soon for these!! A big thank you also to the lady cooking omelettes and pancakes she really had her work cut out and was even clearing tables too!

Thanks for a wonderful stay,look forward to staying again Sarah & Gary

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Sarah & Gary,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your birthday in this year. It is also great to read that you enjoyed the surprise that was send up to your room to celebrate this!

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you were able to have a good sleep in our hotel and that the aroma therapy package was able to assist you with this. This package includes two mini solutions for a better night’s sleep. One is named ‘ breath in’ ; this eucalyptus spray clears the head and helps you breathe more easily with a blend of Frankincense. The other one is the deep calm pillow spray; this a fusion of calming oils to relax and calm including lavender, Vetivert and Camomile.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    797
    136
    41
    22
See reviews for
227
929
145
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed a total of 5 nights. Prior to my visit, I emailed the hotel to see if there would be any rooms available, since I would be arriving from the states early in the morning. I was informed that if there was a room available early check-in would not be a problem, and it was not. I checked in without any hassle. The room was very spacious, however, I do wish that there was some sort of shelf-unit where you could put your clothes away. There is an armoire, however, it is not very big for two people. Other than that, the room and bathrooms were cleaned every day and the food (if you decide to order room service) is pretty good. Breakfast is tasty as well, however, I only ate there once, considering there are other economical places to eat breakfast around the area. Wi-Fi is not extremely strong, however, it did work for my iPad and it was free! The location is extremely close to Centraal Station and a tram/bus. Also, I accidentally left a pair of shoes in the room and the hotel team were kind enough to mail it to me, back in the states! The communication of the staff is phenomenal. I truly felt looked after and welcomed before, during and after my stay. While the price of the hotel is a little more than I had wanted to spend, I did receive a deal from Expedia.com and I felt I truly did get my money’s worth. I plan on returning to Amsterdam in the future and I plan on ONLY staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre! It is great to hear that you were able to check in early after a long flight from the States.

It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your spacious and clean room and the room service. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Just in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam and near by the train station.

Once again; thank you for your review and the staff is already looking forward welcoming to back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The value for money was excellent, the room was well equipped and clean, the staff were friendly, courteous, and very helpful and the breakfast included was very good. My only negative comment would be that the club lounge facility should be serviced on a much more regular basis to clear away used bottles, glasses and cups etc and to replenish the drinks and food when they run out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was excellent. It is also a pleasure that all the staff you encountered were friendly, courteous and very helpful.

It is wonderful to find that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day. However I am sorry to hear that you were not very pleased with the service in the Club Lounge.

We hope that this not influenced your stay and we hope to welcome you back one day!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan,Ayrshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I had booked the Crowne Plaza as a 'big' birthday treat for my wife. an easy 5 minute walk from the rail station, which is in itself a 15 minute train ride from Schiphol Airport. We were greeted at the Hotel by Melissa Grauwde of guest relations. On hearing it was my wife's 50th Birthday, she congratulated her and kindly upgraded our room. This level of staff excellence continued throughout our stay, from reception, housekeeping, bar and concierge.
Melissa continued to ask how we were enjoying our break and also gave us vouchers for 2 complimentary drinks on the special day. the room itself was a good size, the bed excellent and it was good to be able to catch up on the Commonwealth Games and British News as the TV carries both BBC1 and BBC2. The wi.fi for the room was free, but at times slow.
The Hotel is well placed for trams or exploring on foot. The street the hotel sits on also has a wide range of excellent restaurants. We ate in the Van Speyk, immediately across the Street from the Hotel and recommended on Trip Advisor. It did not let us down with good food at good prices with a lovely ambiance. All in all, the hotel added greatly to a wonderful 4 days in Amsterdam for an experience the both my wife and I will treasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful that you choose our hotel for celebrating your wife's birthday and that is was such a great succes!

I agree with you that the location is very convenient, at only 5 minutes walking distance to the central railway, where a train will take you in 15 minutes to the airport. It is just in the middle of all the highlights and nice restaurants that Amsterdam has to offer.

It is wonderful that all our staff was delevering great service, which makes your stay excellent!

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Having got on the train from the airport the journey was very simple; off the train and a 6 min walk to the hotel! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful; having been given a map at reception we were talked through the points of interest. The location of the hotel was excellent and it provided us with a sound base from which we could explore for the 4 days we were in Amsterdam. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you that the location is very convenient, only within 5 minutes walking distance to the train station, where a train will take you in 15 minutes to Schiphol Airport.

It is great to read that the staff you encountered were friendly and helpful.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back at out hotel.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night, while meeting friends for a weekend in Amsterdam in late June 2014. The hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes' walk from the train station (with connections to the airport), about 15 minutes away from Dam Square and the Red Lights District. My room was fairly large for a European hotel, and with the usual Crowne Plaza amenities- free water, coffee and tea, safe deposit box, paid wifi (free for IHG members), bathrobe and slippers. Despite facing a busy main street, the room was very quiet. Service was excellent. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Within 5 minutes walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal Station, where a train takes you in 15 minutes to Schiphol Airport, and right in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is good to read that you are a member of our loyalty program; IHG Rewards Club. It is as well good to read that you experienced the service as excellent.

We hope to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The front lobby always over flowed with attendants who were courteous, smiling, and eager to help. The front desk staff was unbelievably friendly. Truly, the employees went above and beyond.

The room was modern, clean and comfortable. It had a great air conditioning system and even a plug for to accommodate 110 volt power without an adapter.

We joined IHG Rewards and booked a club room, so we had free breakfast and access to the club lounge with free drinks and snacks. This was a wonderful perk.

The hotel is an amazing location. Right near the train station, the Ann Frank House, the Damm Square, the Jordaan neighborhood and the infamous Red Light District.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience on TripAdvisor.

It is great to read that the staff you encountered were so courteous, smiling, eager to help and friendly. I hope this made your stay excellent.

It is wonderful to read that you joined the IHG Rewards Club so that you had access to the Club Lounge where free breakfast, drinks and snacks are available.

I agree with you that the location is excellent. Within only 5 minutes walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal Station and in the middle of all the highlights that Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#25 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.