We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay with top class staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay with top class staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel. We were enthusiastically greeted at reception and checked in with the minimum of fuss. The receptionist was probably the most welcoming and helpful that I have ever experienced. I am ashamed to say that I cannot remember the receptionist's name other than it began with an E and was quite short. You know who you are! Time was taken to welcome us to the city and to point us in the direction of the best places to dine and sites to visit. Plenty of tips also regarding getting about, so thank you.

Our room was quite small and basic but certainly clean and comfortable. There was just the one bedside table which I thought odd considering there would have just about been enough room for another. The UHT milk on the tea/coffee tray had gone off but a quick word with reception and this was sorted promptly.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, New Dorrius, for the first of our three night stay. The food was excellent and the service top class.

The location is very central and a short walk from Central station. Trams 2 or 5 take you down to the excellent Vondelpark but you can walk to all major attractions, weather permitting.

All in all, an excellent hotel with fantastic, attentive staff in a beautiful city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you stay was very enjoyable. I agree with you that the location is very convenient, right in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam and near the train station.

It is a pleasure to read that all the staff you encountered was welcoming, attentive and helpful. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed diner in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar.

We hope to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    684
    114
    39
    22
See reviews for
189
801
128
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I thought I would write this review as we've had some poor hotel experiences in central Amsterdam in the past, and were keen to avoid something similar this trip.
Now there's 'quaint' and there's 'quaint'. In Amsterdam we've found 'quaint' is often an excuse for small, cramped rooms, sparsely equipped, with poor service and high prices.
So this time we thought we'd look for a well known and respected brand and try that.
We've used Crowne Plaza before and always found them to be very good. This one was no exception, with excellent well appointed air conditioned rooms, combined with superb service.
We stayed only one night, and didn't dine in the hotel, but the breakfast was great.
Add to that it's very convenient central location and a price not much more than poorer standard hotels, then we think it's a winning formula.
We would certainly use it again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, while your experience with the hotels in the city centre of Amsterdam was not that good. It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient; just in the middle of all the highlights of the Amsterdam.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has a great, central location. We arrived in Amsterdam from the airport via train. You can easily walk with luggage from the train station to the Crowne Plaza. The staff were friendly and spoke English perfectly. Our room was upgraded free of charge, and the shower in the room was amazing. We were within walking distance of the Red Light District and other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was great. I agree with you in saying that the location is excellent. It is only 5 minutes walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station and in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is great that your room has been upgraded and that the staff you encoutered was friendly.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a lovely clean, large room overlooking Voorburgwal. Great location - close to the Central Station, tram stop, restaurants, Dam square, red light district etc. Anne Frank house is within a 15 minute walk. Short walk (5 minutes) to Damrak street from where one can catch tours with Lindbergh Excursions. Very friendly helpful hotel staff. We had free wifi and access to the Club lounge with complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks, snacks etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was very good. I agree with you in saying that the location is great. It is only 5 minutes walking distance to the railway and close to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that the staff you have encoutered was very friendly and helpful. And that you enjoyed the access to the Club Lounge, which offer free drinks, snacks and newspapers.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed five nights at this hotel .Location was perfect, very close to the cental station
and at a walking distance of most attactions. We took the tram only once for a visit at
the Rijksmuseum.
The room was of a good size except for the bathroom.The rug was worned out.
The concierge was very helpful and employees at the front desk were great.
The breakfast area was crowded and the waiters were working hard to serve us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is good to read that you appreciated the size of the room and the service of our staff.

I agree with you in saying that the location is convenient and close by to the railway and all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

we flew in from the states and got to the hotel at about 8:30AM after a 16 hour overnight trip. The girl at the desk couldn't have been nicer. She allowed us to check in to our room right away. We were dead tired and this was a life saver.Very nice rooms and the price seems good to me for the location and appointments of the hotel.
Nice and quite, no complaints.

Room Tip: we got the free wifi because my wife is a member of the htel club. We stayed at their hotel in Manch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was excellent. It is lovely that you were able to check in early after a long flight.

I agree with you that the location is convenient, close to Amsterdam Centraal Station and all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back once!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My Mum and I stayed here on a sight seeing city break for 3 nights in a twin room. Our room was large, clean, cool, comfortable and very quiet. We both slept really well. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the train station and within easy reach of the main sights, cafes and shops by foot. If you don't want to walk, the trams stop just outside too. The free WiFi was really handy and the staff in the hotel were excellent. Happy to help us find our way around the city, book restaurants and anything else we needed. They even returned the mobile phone we left in our hotel room after we checked out - not something I would expect to get back here in London!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I am very glad that you experienced your stay as excellent. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is wonderful to read that our staff was delevering service above your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.