We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly front desk staff, helpful, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“friendly front desk staff, helpful, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

we flew in from the states and got to the hotel at about 8:30AM after a 16 hour overnight trip. The girl at the desk couldn't have been nicer. She allowed us to check in to our room right away. We were dead tired and this was a life saver.Very nice rooms and the price seems good to me for the location and appointments of the hotel.
Nice and quite, no complaints.

Room Tip: we got the free wifi because my wife is a member of the htel club. We stayed at their hotel in Manch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was excellent. It is lovely that you were able to check in early after a long flight.

I agree with you that the location is convenient, close to Amsterdam Centraal Station and all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back once!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    669
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
179
766
124
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My Mum and I stayed here on a sight seeing city break for 3 nights in a twin room. Our room was large, clean, cool, comfortable and very quiet. We both slept really well. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the train station and within easy reach of the main sights, cafes and shops by foot. If you don't want to walk, the trams stop just outside too. The free WiFi was really handy and the staff in the hotel were excellent. Happy to help us find our way around the city, book restaurants and anything else we needed. They even returned the mobile phone we left in our hotel room after we checked out - not something I would expect to get back here in London!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I am very glad that you experienced your stay as excellent. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is wonderful to read that our staff was delevering service above your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great stay! I have stayed here before the renovations . I have to say I liked the oldy wordly Amsterdam feel and missed the pool, but all areas light, well decorated and spotlessly clean.
Bed comfy just right. Room very quiet and peaceful. Linens clean and crisp, pillows, nice. Room spotless. Everything worked. But why do they put in shower fixtures that test your IQ the first time you use it!!! I did not use Wi-Fi. I liked the fact almost always there was a proper doorman greeting you and then there to help if you need anything on your way out.
All staff friendly and professional. Because all the staff I encountered were so well trained and probably genuine nice people., I did not feel a care in the world. That's how it is supposed to be.
You know what I am talking about. The little sniggers or sideway glances the down turned eyes of staff when after many flying hours you approach the check in desk smelling like a 767 jumbo jet who had a few beers and stopped to smoke 10 cigs before checking in. There was none of that at all. Thank you to all at the Crown Plaza for another smooth albeit short stay. Concierge very helpful. Thank you.
It is close to Central station The quiet side. Tram very near. Walking distance of great shopping restaurants, beautiful Dutch architecture, canals and of course the Dutch people. If you need a great nights sleep and wanted to be treated kindly and with respect GO, soon to this hotel. No I don't work for any part of their corp nor my family and I don't know anyone in the crown plaza group. Just a good nights sleep. In a great location.
All this said, I am a remorseful smoker but CP in making a huge mistake making us go out the front exit and smoke at the front door. Looks bad for the hotel Real bad. For that reason I wont rebook for further stays. There is so much choice, so it is too bad the hotel doesn't see this.

Room Tip: Fourth floor away from street no view. faces other rooms but keep the curtains closed and it is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you had a great stay in our hotel. It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered was very helpful, friendly and professional.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvsor. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stopped overnight in Amsterdam where we have visited many times in the past. Stayed in one of the junior suites; arrived early AM by air and room was ready. Concierge extremely helpful; able to buy tram tickets in the hotel. Immediately set our Rijksmuseum visit. As has been said the hotel is located on tram lines 2/5 and is no more than a five-minute walk from Centraal Station. Sincer we were departing by train the next day this last was important to us.

Room plenty large enough with a separate seating area; excellent repair for furniture; good mattress; fast internet service; good air conditioning. Only drawback: room is located at front of the building and tram rumble may be a bother to some.

Good breakfast buffet selection.

Overall, staff very friendly and helpful and highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Trams run on the street directly in front of hotel until 1 AM or so and rumble can be heard. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you experienced your stay as excellent. It is a pleasure that our concierge was able to arrange tram tickets for your visit to the Rijksmuseum. I agree with you that the location is very convenient to see all the highlights of Amsterdam and to walk to the Central Station.

It is also great that you enjoyed the space and conditions of the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed 16/7/14 and find the service, attention to detail and their friendliness unsurpassed in any hotel I stay in in the whole of the Netherlands or the rest of Europe that I use.
The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and cleanliness of all areas of the hotel is of a very high standard.
The helpfulness and politeness of all the staff make you feel very welcome and special at this hotel.
Finally the speed of check in and check out was great as all 4 desks were manned at peak times keeping the wait time to an absolute minimum.
I have booked to stay on 5/8/14 and have no reservations in recommending this top hotel for anyone looking for high standards with a personal touch

Room Tip: never had a room I have not been happy with and I have stayed numerous times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the fast services delivered by our staff and the rooms in our property.

Thank you for recommending our property and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days in late June. Hotel staff were very impressive, from housekeeping to hotel management. Concierge service was especially above average, helping in all activities and plans. Everyone on the staff was pleasant and professional. Rooms are not large but comfortable, clean and well appointed.
Hotel is in the middle of Amsterdam with easy access to transportation of any kind. Good place to stay for tourist activities!
Would stay again and highly recommend to others.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is great to read that you overall stay was excellent and that you were impressed by our staff.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza staff really goes above and beyond to make your stay in Amsterdam one to remember. If you exercise at all during your stay, be sure to stop by the front desk for a complimentary post-workout snack.

The hotel is a short distance from the Jordaan district, which we appreciated as well.

Overall, highly recommend the Crowne Plaza.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and to see that the staff does everything to make your stay a pleasant as possible.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient and that is easy to reach all the highlights of the city of Amsterdam.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.