We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in all ways!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in all ways!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I chose this hotel on the location for touring as we were arriving several days in advance of our cruise. First - the location is FANTASTIC! It is walking distance from the Centraal Station - the train station. I did NOT want to walk to the hotel from the train station with my suitcase...but honestly, it was super close and very easy. We took the train from inside the airport to the Centraal Station....and walked to the hotel. This saved a huge cab fare and was very easy! Upon leaving the hotel....we took a cab to the cruise port and it cost very little so I was glad to save any hassles since it was raining.

It is very important to be close to the Centraal Station for taking trams all over Amsterdam....so the location ended up being perfect for us!

I emailed the room manager, Maurice Janssen, and he made sure we had a great room to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The rooms are huge and very nice - American style. The bathroom was also quite nice! We arrived early in the morning after an all-night flight and our room was not ready as the present occupants were still in the room. Mr. Janssen gave us a temporary room to relax in until our actual room was ready. What an amazing thing to do for us! I have never had this done for me in the past and I travel a lot!

Johan - the Concierge - was super helpful to us for various tickets and reservations. For all the stressing I did about buying tickets online to avoid lines....I found out that I could buy my tickets right from the Concierge and get a discount on top of it! He gave us great maps and directions, as well.

Our room did not include the breakfast buffet, but we opted to purchase it. It was well worth it. A very nice buffet in a beautiful restaurant. I had read that since many restaurants offer a breakfast buffet - that many local restaurants don't serve breakfast. I needed a good breakfast before a full day of touring.

Overall - staying at the Crowne Plaza was a 10 out of 10! Nice hotel, super friendly staff including Silvie at the front desk, and great location. Beds were comfortable, shower was good....what more could I ask for??

I would HIGHLY recommend the Crowne Plaza if you are traveling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I believe that ANY room would be fine. Noise was NOT an issue at all even though the hotel is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

Furthermore it is great to read that you have chosen our property to celebrate your 40th anniversary in and that you appreciated all the services delivered by our employees. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when employees are delivering the services they do.

Thank you for recommending our property and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    798
    136
    41
    22
See reviews for
230
932
145
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Central location, near the central station and a short walk from Dam square and all the major sites, near tram station.
Clean, quite and spacious room.
The staff was very friendly.
Would go back again :-)
....................................,..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, especially because of the convenient location. I agree with you in saying that the location is great when it comes to exploring the city of Amsterdam. As you mentioned the central railway station is located within walking distance, as well as many of the highlight which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore, it is great to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms.

It is wonderful to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Our team is already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel located right in the heart of Amsterdam - only short walk to Centraal train station (so can easily get to airport or other locations in the Netherlands) and easy walks to various restaurants and sights. Staff at front desk, restaurant, and meeting rooms very pleasant and helpful. Room I had was very clean with nice furnishings - only wish I was able to open windows a bit to allow some fresh air into room, but no issues with air quality in room. Good value for the price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre especially because of its location. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient, as you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 15 minutes.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the services delivered by our employees in various outlets as Front Desk and F&B. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fantastic location, helpful staff, and great rooms. Loved the hotel and couldn't ask for better service. While staying try the cafe across the street, Jennifer's croissantierre. Great little cafe and food is amazing
Can't ask for a better location to the sights and attractions in Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you especially enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of its convenient location. I agree with you in saying that the hotel has a great starting point when exploring the city of Amsterdam. As you mention there are many nice bars and restaurants located in the area of the hotel as well as many of the highlights of Amsterdam and of course the shopping street.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our staff and the rooms in our property. We would like to thank you once again for you review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for one night in early June and again for three nights a couple of weeks later on our return to Amsterdam.The first night was very comfortable as we had been upgraded to a very roomy Deluxe room. On the second visit the room we were in a Superior room (as booked) which was smaller and not quite as comfortable but had we not had a better room earlier we would have said it was very good. Don't get me wrong, there was nothing wrong with the Superior room, it was just smaller and we had been spoiled.
We had a continental breakfast every morning and were very happy with the choice and quality. We ate out at night and there were many good restaurants within walking distance.
We found the service at the Front Desk to be very efficient and pleasant. On our return visit we arrived very early so our room was not ready but they took our luggage and advised us to come back at midday which we did and the room was was available as promised.
The only negative comment I have was about the Concierges who didn't seem all that keen to listen and help. One example was when we asked for a recommendation for a small restaurant that had a good vegetarian selection. We were recommended a restaurant across the road with was the complete opposite to our request.
The hotel is very well located, being close to Centraal Station and many tourist attractions including the Nine Streets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and enjoyed your stay with us during several visits. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. A start with this breakfast will definitely keep you going for the day!

However I am sorry to read you comment concerning our concierge services. I can inform you that we will verify what happened and will follow up on this accordingly. In the meantime I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused due to this if you prefer to share some additional feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly via maurice.janssen@ihg.com.

Our head concierge is member of "de Gouden Sleutels" also called "Clefs d’Or" and you can recognize him by the keys they display on the lapels of their uniform. These crossed gold keys are more than just the symbol of the organisation they are the symbol of guaranteed service. Clefs d’Or concierges have worked hard to obtain their keys. Whether requesting something simple or complex, you can be sure they are trusted resources to business travelers and vacationers alike, always keeping guests’ safety, enjoyment, and satisfaction in mind that is why we would like to especially thank you for your feedback as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014


Excellent service and location...Staff is excellent... This hotel became very nice surprise, I definitely come back to this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends and family ! Thank you Sandra Esp you made our stay even better in NYC !

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Furthermore it is great to read that you experience the location of the hotel as being very convenient. I agree with you in saying that it is a great starting point when exploring the city of Amsterdam as many of the highlights are located within walking distance.

Thank you for recommending our property and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Center after completing a river cruise. Although the boat docked at 9:00am and check in was later in the afternoon, we left our luggage in a locked room and proceeded to explore the city and came back much later to claim our room. The location is excellent just a short drive from the docks and within walking distance of the Central Train Station but just far enough away as to not be encumbered by the traffic and congestion of it. You can even take the train right to the airport in lieu of a taxi to save the 50 euro fare. The hotel itself is impeccably appointed with a well thought out lobby and lounge area. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. Dam square is just a short walk away as was the Anne Frank Haus and restaurants. Amsterdam has an excellent trolley system that stops right across the street from the hotel.Competitively priced, an all around good choice for a stay in Amsterdam

Room Tip: Go online and book through Crowne Plaza and usually included is breakfast and wifi. We requested ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre after completing a river cruise. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as you mention to Central Railway station is located within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is a good choice when staying in Amsterdam. Our team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.