We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel in a central location, close to the train station, shopping area and Dam Square. We stayed 5 nights in a Club room which was very quiet and comfortable. Melissa, the young lady who took care of us during check in and check out, was nice and friendly. The tram stop is a few steps away and there is a very good restaurant (Van Speyk) across the street.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you especially enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of its convenient location. As you mention the hotel is indeed located within walking distance of the Central Railway Station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    874
    608
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
154
672
118
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid-July. As everyone says, the location is great -- a short walk from Central Station and within walking distance of most everything. The staff was fine and generally helpful. I booked a club room for a decent rate of about $250 night. For that I assume I got a better room (though I have to say it seemed pretty average to me), free wifi and access to the club lounge. The lounge was fine -- it had breakfast and free drinks and snacks all day including beer and wine. My room was a decent size, spotlessly clean and housekeeping was efficient. All in all, it was satisfied with my experience. I suppose the main drawback is that the hotel lacks any local charm like many of the places along the canals. You feel like you could be at a Crowne Plaza in any big city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your 4-night city trip to Amsterdam.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed relaxing and unwinding after a busy day in town in our Club Lounge. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

I am sorry to read your comment concerning the feeling of being in a large hotel. I would like to inform you that we have rooms that give you a real Amsterdam feeling as for instance our Authentic Amsterdam Suite with the typical wooden beams would be really recommended for any future stays.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed 4 days at 5 th floor. Arrived early, tired, check inn was at 3pm, I'm grateful for early check in my room was ready in 20 minutes. In the past have stayed in many Amsterdam hotels, will definitely retun back to Crown Plaza, as front desk smiling faces, and willingness to assist in any case makes your stay feel comfortable. Concierge service, we have purchased tickets for the VAN GOGH museum, through concierge, but unfortunately they were wrong for that day and we stayed in the line at the museum for exchange on correct ones.
Later asked Concierge with train ticket assistance, but service was denied, and it took two hours in line at central station to get ticket to Antwerp, as non of individual PC for the ticket purchase worked at the main central station. When I asked cashier, he smiled, and shake his head..Yep..problem we know..for two hours in line was offered free coffee in the train...well ,Thank you. Believe any good concierge can take care of same purchase in 10 minutes as main web hub was on Dutch/German and no English..that was problem for me, but we have survived. Room was medium / Euro standard - clean. Mattress was somehow distressed as was sagging in the middle, Morning buffet was Ok, but not worth of money, as rule of the thumb if not lazy you can get better treat outside of the hotel for less money.
Anyhow, without minor accidents was a GOOD STAY, Thank you, Crown plaza Amsterdam !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 4 day city trip to Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff was willing to assist however I am sorry to read your comment concerning the concierge. Unfortunately it is not possible to sell any international tickets via our Concierge, it is of course no problem to provide you with any necessary information or to provide tickets for any Dutch public transport.

However it is a pleasure to read that this challenge did not influence your stay and that you will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful stay right from check in to check out. Perfect location, lovely large room and friendliest staff at a hotel in Europe that I have experienced. 5 mins walk from the train station, surrounded by cafés and close to the main shopping malls. Tour buses and river cruise starting point just 3 mins walk away. Even though we were staying on points, we were offered every privilege as a platinum ambassador. Chocolates, cookies and fruits were complementary in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay from the moment of check in through check out. This because of the location of the hotel, the rooms and our friendly staff.

Furthermore it is great pleasure to read that you are a Platinum Member of our IHG Rewards Club and to read that you appreciated the benefits that come with this Membership.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfectly located to walk into and around the city, and very close to the main train station - I was really impressed with this hotel. The service, from reception, concierge, room service and restaurant, was excellent. I ate in the restaurant only one evening of the four I stayed, and was delighted by the quality of the food, and the choice available. I had the July monthly dinner menu - 3 courses for 29€ - very good value! My room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was small but very clean and modern. Will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you especially enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of the services delivered by our employees. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed our Menu of the Month in New Dorrius restaurant. This is a monthly changing 3-course menu and indeed the price is EUR 29.50.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to our property. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for 3 days during July 2014. The hotel is situated in central amsterdam next to Dam Square, and also a walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. So it has good transport connectivity to Schipol Airport. The hotel is an upmarket hotel, very good service from the reception team and checkin was quite quick since we have prepaid with our booking. Rooms are excellent clean, and I loved the small menthol spray and balm they place on your pillow to help you sleep better, and I believe it works. Since this was a business trip our accomodation was paid for by our company, but from checking their prices it is quite a pricey Hotel if you are visiting for pleasure/holiday. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking to spend a few days in Amsterdam. They also have a wonderful restaurant on the ground floor 'The New Dorrius' excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent 3-day city trip at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station as well as within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is perfectly located near the train station (no noise, it's not that near) in a quiet accessible (by cars, taxies) street next to it,

The room is medium in size, queen size bed with no special features (although nothing bad to say too:-)), but it is comfortable and homey enough.

I am giving the hotel 4/5, because of wifi, other than that, it's one of the best hotels to stay in Amsterdam.

Cons:
* I could not work with iBahn Wifi (I was in 5th floor, maybe it makes a difference?)
* Not a well stacked mini bar, it could be more interesting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the room and especially the location of the hotel. I agree with you in saying that this is very convenient as it is located close to the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the WiFi. Please do not hesitate to contact our Manager on Duty during any of your future stays and it will be their pleasure to assist you with a stable connection.

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning the minibar. I am happy to confirm that we are currently busy adding items to our mini bar assortment we hope that these new items satisfy your needs.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.