We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for 3 days during July 2014. The hotel is situated in central amsterdam next to Dam Square, and also a walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. So it has good transport connectivity to Schipol Airport. The hotel is an upmarket hotel, very good service from the reception team and checkin was quite quick since we have prepaid with our booking. Rooms are excellent clean, and I loved the small menthol spray and balm they place on your pillow to help you sleep better, and I believe it works. Since this was a business trip our accomodation was paid for by our company, but from checking their prices it is quite a pricey Hotel if you are visiting for pleasure/holiday. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking to spend a few days in Amsterdam. They also have a wonderful restaurant on the ground floor 'The New Dorrius' excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent 3-day city trip at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station as well as within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    704
    115
    39
    22
See reviews for
192
818
134
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located near the train station (no noise, it's not that near) in a quiet accessible (by cars, taxies) street next to it,

The room is medium in size, queen size bed with no special features (although nothing bad to say too:-)), but it is comfortable and homey enough.

I am giving the hotel 4/5, because of wifi, other than that, it's one of the best hotels to stay in Amsterdam.

Cons:
* I could not work with iBahn Wifi (I was in 5th floor, maybe it makes a difference?)
* Not a well stacked mini bar, it could be more interesting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the room and especially the location of the hotel. I agree with you in saying that this is very convenient as it is located close to the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the WiFi. Please do not hesitate to contact our Manager on Duty during any of your future stays and it will be their pleasure to assist you with a stable connection.

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning the minibar. I am happy to confirm that we are currently busy adding items to our mini bar assortment we hope that these new items satisfy your needs.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Center for three nights before our river cruise. The location is perfect with a very easy, short walk from the train station. We booked a Club King room and was very pleased with the room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and very quite at night being on the side of the hotel. We had a view of the side street below.

Breakfast, which was included with the Club room was a very good full buffet including eggs to order served in the hotel restaurant. The Club lounge was very nice with beer, wine and snacks always available. In the early evening, very good appetizers are served. One night we skipped dinner because we enjoyed the appetizers so much.

Service was excellent and the hotel staff very friendly. Dam Square is very close by and the tram stop is right outside the hotel. Many of the canal tour boats are within a two block walk. Behind the hotel is a wonderful pedestrian shopping street with many eating options, tourist shops and a very expansive wine and liquor store.

Our river cruise boat was located just a short five minute cab ride from the hotel. This is truly an excellent Amsterdam hotel.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night stay in Amsterdam prior to your river cruise.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast that comes as one of the benefits when booking a Club Room. It is also a pleasure to read that you comment the service as being excellent and complementing the staff as being very friendly. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a great choice. It is located very near to Centraal Station and Dam square. Always clean, comfortable beds and modern decor. Amsterdam is horrendously expensive these days and this hotel is no exception - but this place is better than the other big name hotels on or around dam square which are all pretty tired, are equally pricey and definitely resting on their laurels these days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam CIty Centre. I agree with you in saying that the hotel is a great choice when it comes to the location as it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family stayed here for a week during my dad's conference for work. The room was clean and comfortable though a little tight (two had a king sized bed and two slept on a sofabed).

We had access to the club lounge, which unfortunately had limited snacks. The snacks that were available were quite tasty though. While we were there, the coffee machine also broke a few times.

They have a good hot breakfast and friendly staff. The location is also within a few minutes walk of the train station and very central to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during a conference. Furthermore it is great to read that you booked one of our Club Rooms that come with Club Lounge access. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great hotel staff were super friendly. Gave us free wifi on arrival for our stay. Excellent location in the middle of Amsterdam city. Room was very nice, good sound proofing and insulation. Two of us were staying but they only provided one pair of slippers and both robe? I would stay again here and recommend this hotel to stay in.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre mainly because of the location and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when employees are delivering the services they do.

Thank you for recommending our property and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam for 3 nights. We were quite pleased with it. We originally were going to stay for 4, but opted to leave early to avoid a train strike on our next leg to Belgium. Not only did the hotel staff understand and accommodate our need to change, they also were very responsive in helping us resolve the change in reservation with Expedia.

The staff were all quite friendly and welcoming in other aspects, too. We arrived quite early from a long flight. Though it was too early to check in, they gave us access to the fitness rooms where we could shower and clean up, and use the internet (free) in the business center. The only drawback is that the wifi is not free; I think most hotels are moving to providing this free of charge even without the loyalty programs.

As I think other reviewers have noted, the hotel is very conveniently located to the Amsterdam Central train station. It’s easy to walk from the station to the hotel with the bags, saving a lot of time and effort. And it’s still an easy walk to other sights like Dam Square, the Anne Frank House, etc. In fact we walked everywhere to and from the hotel. It is so central there is no need for trams or anything unless you have mobility challenges. We would certainly consider it whenever we come to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Do specify you want a room with a view, because they have rooms in various spaces that may have no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night city trip.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within reach of many types of public transport and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the charge for the wireless internet. When you become a member of our loyalty programme, IHG Rewards Club, internet is free of charge. Enrolment for this programme is free of charge and you will receive more benefits when you become a member. This might be suggested for any future stays.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.