We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location and Comfortable Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family stayed here for a week during my dad's conference for work. The room was clean and comfortable though a little tight (two had a king sized bed and two slept on a sofabed).

We had access to the club lounge, which unfortunately had limited snacks. The snacks that were available were quite tasty though. While we were there, the coffee machine also broke a few times.

They have a good hot breakfast and friendly staff. The location is also within a few minutes walk of the train station and very central to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during a conference. Furthermore it is great to read that you booked one of our Club Rooms that come with Club Lounge access. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    658
    106
    36
    22
See reviews for
176
747
123
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great hotel staff were super friendly. Gave us free wifi on arrival for our stay. Excellent location in the middle of Amsterdam city. Room was very nice, good sound proofing and insulation. Two of us were staying but they only provided one pair of slippers and both robe? I would stay again here and recommend this hotel to stay in.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre mainly because of the location and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when employees are delivering the services they do.

Thank you for recommending our property and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam for 3 nights. We were quite pleased with it. We originally were going to stay for 4, but opted to leave early to avoid a train strike on our next leg to Belgium. Not only did the hotel staff understand and accommodate our need to change, they also were very responsive in helping us resolve the change in reservation with Expedia.

The staff were all quite friendly and welcoming in other aspects, too. We arrived quite early from a long flight. Though it was too early to check in, they gave us access to the fitness rooms where we could shower and clean up, and use the internet (free) in the business center. The only drawback is that the wifi is not free; I think most hotels are moving to providing this free of charge even without the loyalty programs.

As I think other reviewers have noted, the hotel is very conveniently located to the Amsterdam Central train station. It’s easy to walk from the station to the hotel with the bags, saving a lot of time and effort. And it’s still an easy walk to other sights like Dam Square, the Anne Frank House, etc. In fact we walked everywhere to and from the hotel. It is so central there is no need for trams or anything unless you have mobility challenges. We would certainly consider it whenever we come to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Do specify you want a room with a view, because they have rooms in various spaces that may have no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night city trip.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within reach of many types of public transport and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the charge for the wireless internet. When you become a member of our loyalty programme, IHG Rewards Club, internet is free of charge. Enrolment for this programme is free of charge and you will receive more benefits when you become a member. This might be suggested for any future stays.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location for Amsterdam tourism. It is less than five minutes walk to the train station, while still being in a safe and clean area. All of the main sights are walkable. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. We were given an upgrade for being rewards members. Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable, the a.c. worked well and the bathroom was modern.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are one of our loyal IHG Rewards Club Members and appreciated the upgrade received as one of the benefits of this programme.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in Amsterdam for one night. The staff were lovely, the room was clean and the location was perfect. It was 5mins walk from the main station, and about 10mins walk from the main square. I would recommend to anyone as a good, clean and easy option for Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your 2-day city trip. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!


Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very convenient lociation, good sized room, good air con, clean and tidy. Excellent rooms for business meetings and high qulaity catering at these events. Break fast more than adequate.
Despite being on a busy street there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you visited our property for meeting purposes and liked our meeting rooms and catering offerings.

I agree with you that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is close to the central railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day for either business or leisure purposes.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is the best hotel in Amsterdam by far. Excellent facilities, excellent food, the staff are lovely some even know us by name now and they always look after us very well. The hotel is ideal for sightseeing and nightlife as it is so central and only 5 minutes from Central station. We are going back there for my birthday again on the 13th July which coincides with the World Cup final so we are hoping Holland make it through as the city will be very exciting. We arrive on the 11th for the build up for the weekend. See you soon can't wait Mr & Mrs Roper x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the best hotel in Amsterdam. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is wonderful to read that you already have booked your upcoming stay and will even be celebrating your birthday with us! We will we do our utmost to make this stay as memorable as possible.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in July!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.