We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Riding, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

First time to Amsterdam and a great city to visit. Hotel is very convenient to Centraal Station. The rooms are clean and staff friendly. We could not hear much outside noise or noises from other rooms. Great overall visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure that you choose to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your first city trip to the city of Amsterdam. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer and also within reach of many types of public transport which can take you to all the sightseeing places in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during any of your future visits to the city.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    670
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
179
766
123
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have been here a number of times during our stay in Amsterdam, mainly because of it location close to the Central Station and the city centre. The staff is fantastic and helpful , we arrived early in the morning from a long haul flight with 5 hrs time difference. Our original room was not ready and we were immediately upgraded to an other room so we could have a rest and get ready to hit the city.

Room Tip: Difficult to say the Hotel is in the city centre, the rooms have excellent insolation so there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the services delivered and especially the possibility to check in early in the morning. We will always do our utmost to provide you with a room as soon as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during any of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent hotel brilliant location. The staff could do enough for you, helped us out with all our trips. Breakfast was amazing. Our room was lovely.We are returning in two week and cant wait.
easy walk from the station.

Room Tip: High up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our staff and that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. Starting your day with a good breakfast is one of the best decisions you can make.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre within two weeks from now. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed four days in Amsterdam at the Crowne Plaza and had a terrific stay. The hotel is in a great location five minutes from the central station. Travel to and from the airport was quick and easy. The rooms were large and well appointed. We arrived early and the staff was very helpful in checking our bags and letting us check in early after an all night flight from Atlanta. We enjoyed dining in the hotel dining room one night which specializes in Dutch cooking. All in all the hotel was a great location for exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent 4-day city trip to Amsterdam. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes.

It is great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We usually stay at this hotel at Christmas and think it's great. This time I stayed by myself for eldest son's stag.
So a review from a different perspective:
First great to get a really friendly welcome when you are on your own all the staff were really friendly - makes you feel at home. At breakfast was encouraged to eat more.
The location is just the best , but better still when on 3 main tram routes, you know every cabbie can find it and late at night you can walk to it. It' s so easy to find.
Service is top too, checked in early, bought tram pass, left bag after check out on last day.
Great to come back to after a hard nights stagging , on my own lads staying else where.
In my humble opinion great hotel - no question we will be back.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is great to read that you felt welcome and that all the staff were really friendly and helpful. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is great to read that you will return to our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent 2 nights here. It is located at Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, a 10 minute walk from the Centraal train station, which is a short ride by train from Schipol airport Very convenient, and much cheaper than a taxi.
All the front desk, and concierge staff were very pleasant, and helpful. The room was very comfortable, decent size beds, and good size bathroom.
Buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent stay. Furthermore it is great to read that the concierg an front desk were very pleasant and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. This sumptuous breakfast is definitely a good start of the day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for my 21st birthday weekend with my boyfriend, and couldn't have chosen a better hotel!

The location is perfect, very central- only a 5 minute or so walk from Centraal Station. From this hotel you can walk to almost anywhere of interest, but if walking is not your thing there are a few tram stops on the same street that will take you where you need to be!

Can't comment on breakfast as there was such an array of bakerys and shops in this area that we always ate out and tried something new every day. We slept brilliantly, and as this is not in the Red Light District area, I can't say we noticed any noise at all from tourists! (often the odd noise from the tram line but no big deal at all).
Always plenty of staff around in the foyer which was a welcoming sight. Never needed to ask for help but I'm sure they would have been happy to. We were however given a great map when we arrived, and everything we wanted to see whilst in Amsterdam was circled by the lady that checked us in.

All in all a great stay and it would be my first choice if returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend you 21st birthday in!

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which the city has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you appreciated the services delivered and that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is your first choice when returning to the city.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.