We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most pleasant hotel stay in Amsterdam I have ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The most pleasant hotel stay in Amsterdam I have ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I come to the Netherlands for business a few times a year, for the last five years now. I’ve had mediocre to terrible hotel experiences. This one, I was able to bring my spouse, and to tack on some leisure travel and enjoy the Netherlands before going back to work on Monday. This review is longer than most, as the reviews of the other properties would have been, “don’t stay here”.

We had a direct flight in from the states and landed at Schiphol just after 9am. We bought our train tickets at the airport (cash only if you do not have a credit card with a chip and a PIN, even at the service counter now) and caught the train into the city center. Chipless card? Bring Euros or get them from an ATM at the airport. This is usually a better value than exchanging USD$ at an exchange window.

It’s a quick, easy, and a painless train ride to city center. The walk to the hotel, if you pre-plan and know the street to go down is a five to seven minute walk, at maximum, from the station. There is also the tram, but if it is dry out, the walk makes more sense since the tram stops well past the hotel, and then you have to walk back up towards the hotel. The fact we were close to the station was key for us, because we took it back to Schiphol Monday.

We checked in and dropped our bags since the room wasn't yet ready (it was still well before noon). The girl at the front desk was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. We found this to be the case with everyone on the “front end”. So, we walked west and took a one and a half hour canal tour. We walked back to the hotel after a light lunch and the room was ready.

We were on the top floor (6) in a corner room, facing the main road in front of the hotel (Nieuwe Zijds Voorburgwal). We were a little concerned because this was Friday with a weekend coming up, and this was Amsterdam. I’ve been at hotels here where all I heard was partying and noise. The streets can get loud and rowdy. I can’t speak for all the rooms in the hotel, but the only things we heard were planes on arrival to Schiphol on occasion, and maybe a ding-ding from the tram bell. The windows are sealed shut (in our room, lower-floor rooms they might open), so don’t expect to open them up high. For us, we had a gorgeous view and silence.

The next day we decided we wanted to see some more of the city, so we asked the concierge how to ride the trams. He gave us detailed instructions; scan your card onto the train, and on the way out again, as well as advice on reading the map (get a map from the front desk when you check in, or from the concierge). He offered many ticket options, so we went with the 2-day pass. We felt like locals.

We were able to join the Crowne's restaurant for happy hour a few nights, from 5-6pm, where it is 2-for-1 for some drinks. We ate dinner here two nights and despite spotty service we overall enjoyed the experience. It never seemed like they had enough servers to cover all the areas, but the food did not let us down… but. The breakfast was an expensive disappointment (as was the steak for dinner)– at breakfast I asked for some fresh scrambled eggs as the ones in the steamer tray looked old, and I got a gritty pile of yellow mush. While eggs are slightly different here, these were just poorly done. I’d skip the pricy breakfast buffet and dine elsewhere.

Wi-fi in the rooms and lobby were OK. Not great, always able to connect, but not fast enough to stream video. Skype worked OK.

So, this visit was quiet room, convenient to the central station, great front end service. The last missing star was due to the spotty restaurant service and the breakfast. However, I would not think twice to stay here again, or to recommend it to a friend or family member. This was by far the best hotel experience I've had in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: While we stayed on the top floor facing the main street and heard no noise, and had a great view, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your room and especially the view on the 6th floor.
Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our Front Desk and Concierge team. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes.

Furthermore it is good to read that you enjoyed spending time during one of our Happy Hours and that you also enjoyed dinner here. However I am sorry to read that we missed the last star due to the breakfast and service in the restaurant. We will definitely look into this to improve our services.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually. It is a great pleasure that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam and that you recommend our hotel to your firends and family. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    667
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
178
763
123
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend break, a very good crowne plaza simple as ! A big plus is its location, just set across the road from the train station but if you don't turn right out of the hotel you would not know it was there. It's also a stroll to the red light area and it's pubs etc, so it's in the right place but in a quiet spot too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your weekend break in. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city of Amsterdam. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance as well as many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Easy access to public transport. 10 min walk from Central Station. Service is on high quality. I've really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Recommend!

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the Central Railway station as well as many other types of public transport are located within walking distance of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

From the moment we dragged our jet lagged bodies in the door, we were treated to excellent service. The club room was fabulous, the restaurant a nice surprise (they served us a great meal, after we decided to dine too late / after all kitchens were closed), and location convenient. Our room was also very comfortable, quiet, and well-laid out. Great stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay from the moment you entered the hotel until the moment of checking out because of the excellent services delivered.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Two nights in delightful Amsterdam - this is a great hotel, great location just a block from the Damrak. Drove a rental to the front door and valet parking. Check-in staff very nice, club lounge fine, room very good. Everything I wanted really, and happy to return if I get the chance. No faults.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of its location and because of the services delivered.

It is a great pleasure that you will return when you have the chance. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Always enjoy my stay here! Great happy hour ! Clean rooms with very helpful staff . Coffee in room, which in Europe is a bonus. Perfect location to walk around and enjoy the city, then walk to train station and get back to airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.
It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The proximity to Central Station, Dam Square and the shopping street makes this hotels an obvious choice from a convenience perspective. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and we were impressed with the attention to detail within the room. Given that it is part of a chain of hotels and we generally try and avoid these, we were pleasantly surprised with both the service and amenities. Helpful, friendly staff made the experience pleasant and the service was definitely above the general European standard. If you require a solid, well priced hotel with space and service within walking distance of the station and major attractions, then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel as well as many other types of public transport and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you comment that the experience was pleasant and above European standard because of the services delivered by our staff.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.