We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Walk to the train station.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dallas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Walk to the train station.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a huge, well appointed room with a great bathroom (separate shower and huge tub). Nice toiletries, Nescafé coffee, bottled water and chocolates included. Great breakfast too. We were able to walk to the train station with our luggage too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. These rooms offer indeed special facilities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

The location is indeed within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving every 10 minutes to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    667
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
178
761
123
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located very close to the Central Station for trains to the airport and also to the city centre and its many restaurants (including an excellent Argentinian steak house across the street and more traditional restaurants on the nearby Spuistraat).
The concierge arranged our visit to the Keukenhof Gardens (the reason for our trip) and there were many staff always in evidence who always acknowledge you - which was most impressive.
We asked for and were given a very quiet and comfortable room - the layout allows rooms not to be all to be in a row and so can largely avoid noisy neighbours!
An excellently managed hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our Concierge and that you enjoyed a visit to the Keukenhof.

I agree with you in saying that the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. Just around the corner the shopping street starts where also many nice bars and restaurant are located.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaip
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for two days the staff very helpful always finding a way to make u comfortable find solution to your problem. Very centrally located every thing in walking distance. They have a nice restaurant also .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent stay.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the services of our staff and that they went out of their way to find a satisfactory solution. Thank you for sharing this as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

The location of our hotel is indeed perfect when exploring the city. The Central Railway station as well as many other types of public transport are within reach which can take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Also many highlights are located already within walking distance as the Anne Frank house, Dam Palace, the Jordaan area and the Red Light district.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed here a few times. This past time I must say the staff were especially accomodating and freindly. They went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable in the hotel and bent over backwards for every request. The rooms are clean and quiet. It is a short walk from central station and very convienent to move around the city or country. I can't wait to come back. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that during your stay the staff were accommodating and friendly and went out of their way to satisfy your needs. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Amsterdam is a very walkable city, at least tourist area. Therefore, key to be near the center and Crowne Plaza definitely is. Easy five minute walk to Central Station, which gets you to Schipol Airport and basically anywhere else in Europe. Room was large enough and very comfortable. Very quiet, even though Amsterdam was jumping on a Friday night when I arrived. Front desk personnel actually appeared to appreciate your visit and made you feel welcome. Highly recommend for the location, value, and overall room size. Park your gear and get out and walk. Also close to Amsterdam trams for more distant sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Location is everything here. You can get food nearby and walk to most of Amsterdams canals, shopping and attractions from there. Concierge and staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very business like and clean. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being helpful and friendly. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel was really central 5minutes from central station quick checkin even though we were early(12 oclock)rooms immaculate and modern, nespresso coffee machine designer toiletries paid an extra 50pound for the club room foraccess to the lounge to have as many drinks and snacks we wanted,really quiet at night would definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Executive Housekeeper at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. These rooms have extra facilities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals amenities. When you book a Club Room you will also receive access to the Club Lounge. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.