We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Modern,Clean, comfortable. Nicely decorated . We just loved it here. Were in town to pick up a Uniworld cruise and this was perfect for it. The staff could not have been more helpful. Terrific location. We were able to wlk to the Ann Franck house and back.
We paid the little extra and were in the Club Rooms. It was well worth it. We snacked and relaxed in Club and were able to have a quick continentala breakfast before going to Anne Franck house. The Club is on the ground floor and not on the floor with the rooms was only small - very small - drawback.
Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: Club Rooms worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose to stay in one of our rooms with Club Lounge access. In the Club Lounge breakfast will be served and you can indeed enjoy food and beverages during the day up until 11 pm. This is the perfect place to relax and settle down after a busy day at work or in the city.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention many of the highlights are located within walking distance for instance the Anne Frank house, Dam Square and the Red Light District.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    667
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
178
763
123
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during a business trip to Amsterdam. Staff are great and very welcoming, breakfast was good and quick service. Location is very good, just a short walk from the central station.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your business trip to Amsterdam.

It is a great pleasure to read that you describe the staff as being great and welcoming, thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Excellent location – 5 mins walk from Centraal station. On exiting the station, cross over the canal and head for the Victoria Hotel. Go up the tiny side street to the right of the Victoria and it winds round and ends with Dorrius – the hotel restaurant. Follow it round to the left and the hotel entrance is on the left. It has a Crowne Plaza white/purple flag outside. There were plenty of bars, restaurants, patisseries and shops nearby. Two restaurants that we would recommend within 5 mins walk of the hotel are Tappery “De Groote Swaen”, Prins Hendrikkade 52 and Het Karbeel Restaurant, both serving traditional fayre. Receptionists were very welcoming and attentive. Room was a good size with all of the amenities you would expect in a Four Star – nice coffee making machine, safe, hairdryer, TV (with BBC1, BBC2, CNN, etc). The whole place was spotlessly clean. Lifts were quick. Liked the complimentary bottle of mineral water placed in the room each day. Spacious bathroom with decent shower and “Ritual” toiletries, replenished daily. Tip – if you become an IHG member (it’s free and simple online), you get free internet access (they take off the 18 euros charge when you check out). The only negative we can think of for this great hotel is that the internet connection was slow and unstable, which we found mildly annoying, but on viewing previous reviews, the Management seem aware of this and are trying to sort it. And after all, you don’t go to Amsterdam to spend hours on the internet! We paid about £170 per night for this hotel, which isn’t cheap, but it was a very good four star with impeccable service and we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the facilities that were present in your club room. As you mention all these rooms are equipped with an Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention is the walking distance between the hotel and the Central Railway station approximately 5 minutes. Also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance!

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our complimentary wireless internet, however I am sorry to read that the connection was not stable. We do our utmost to provide a stable connection however if you experience any difficulties please do not hesitate to contact one of our staff members and they will be happy to assist you with the connection.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in March 2014. This is the third hotel that I have stayed in Amsterdam.

The stand-outs for me are:
a) comfortable SEPARATE twin beds with down comforters
b) full-sized bath-tub with regular American-style shower curtain

As others have said, the location is very convenient. It's 4 minutes from the Centraal train station - just across the street. Dam square is 5 minutes away walking along the shopping street next to Dam Ram.

One thing that other hotels might have is a better view. But we didn't mind, as this hotel was the most comfortable of the ones we stayed at.

The room décor is olive/brown in color and clean and modern.An interesting difference is that there is set of electrical wall plugs which run vertically on the wall next to the desk. Normally the electrical plugs are horizontal. The closet has a safe, robes and slippers. There's free wifi throughout the hotel. There's a lot of TV channels, but mostly are news channels. On the bed, they leave some aromatherapy bottles and there's one free bottle of water on the first day.

The bathroom is done in clean grey slate-looking tile and black marble.

There is a business office in the basement with three computers and printer for customer free use.

The hotel is on a street with a bunch of restaurants so there's no lack of places to eat just steps away.

Compared to other hotels in Amsterdam - it was very appreciated for the reasonable amount of space, the lack of any quirks, and just being a comfortable room - not just for European standards but also for American standards as well.

Room Tip: Eat at the Van Spekyl restaurant across the street. Tasty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this is your third visit to Amsterdam and that you mention compared to other hotels in Amsterdam you appreciated the space and comfortableness of the room.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed all the facilities being present in the room as the wall plugs for various countries, the aromatherapy package and the safe, robe and slippers.

We definitely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for any future stays to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February of 2013 for a few nights. This hotel was centrally located to lots of restaurants, bars, ect. It was a short 10 minute walk to the red light district. The rooms have been recently renovated. My only complaint is that the rooms smelled like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Executive Housekeeper at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. As you mention the location is indeed very convenient when exploring the city of Amsterdam.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the smell in the room. We are a non-smoking hotel so smoking is definitely not aloud and penalties will be given. I apologize for any inconvenience cost concerning the smell. If you could give me some additional information concerning your stay this would be really helpful. Please contact me directly via Marian.Jones@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for your feedback as this helps us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is located in the center and for me I walked everywhere. I stayed with my brother and a colleague of ours and looked for hotel with a room big enough for all 3 of us. The room was big, clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was well equipped. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was great. Everything was perfect. Defiantly I'll come back. Was a great stay, wish I could stay more….

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant, this sumptuous breakfast is definitely a good start of the day!

It is a pleasure to read that you will definitely come back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel is 3 minutes walk from Dam square. Also situated 2 minutes walk from the central station.
The staff was very efficient and polite.
The room was every good, spotless clean and well equipped.
The coffee machine helped to get a good morning going every morning.
This is the best pick for the business man coming only for a few days to Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-day business trip. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance of the hotel as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is great to read that you write that the staff was very efficient and polite as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.