We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is about a 5minute walk from central station right in the heart of Amsterdam. To get there from the airport, just jump on the train to central station and walk...no need for a taxi. The staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms, are modern, clean and spacious. Food was only fair in my view. I ordered spaghetti Bolognese, which was bland. Check in and check our were both slick and easy. Plenty of bars and restaurants to visit close by. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent trip at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you describe the staff as being friendly, helpful and very welcoming. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    640
    101
    36
    21
See reviews for
173
720
121
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Hotel location is perfect with a very easy access to everything in downtown Amsterdam, Central Train station is few minutes away. Rooms were good and clean, but the bridal suite was the best. Club lounge was great. amazingly well-staffed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Bridal Suite, this room has an authentic Amsterdam design with the wooden beams and also offers you a lot of luxury.

The location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is indeed very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance of the hotel as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Customer Care at a Hotel. Yesterday I arrived at a hotel to check in. The room was shown ready in the system, and therefore they sent me to the room. Unfortunately the room was not ready. The cleaning was still in the room. Immediately, they apologised, changed my room to an upgraded one, they included breakfast in my rate. On top of that with my return from dinner I found a hand written apology from the duty manager, and a dessert! Well done Crowne Plaza Amsterdam! A lot of hotels need to copy you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I am sorry to read about your experience during check-in. However it is wonderful to read that one of our Guest Relations Agents, who showed you the room, took immediate action and offered you a satisfactory solution. Furthermore it is great to read that you received the note of our Duty Manager and comment that other hotels should copy us.

Once again, thank your for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent city centre hotel, ideally located for everything in downtown Amsterdam, impressively well-staffed and first-class customer service. Faultless service from everyone at the Crowne Plaza who have a genuine customer service ethos and deliver on everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you compliment our staff by writing that they provide genuine and first-class customers service. Thank you for sharing this as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

I agree with you in saying that the hotel has the ideal location when exploring the city of Amsterdam. Public transport stops right in front of the hotel and also many highlights as the Anne Frank house, Dam Square, The Jordaan and the Red Light District are located within walking distance of the hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great location - 5 min walk with a suitcase from central station. Spotless interior and rooms. The customer service was superb, the staff can't do enough for you and are very knowledgable. Red light district, dam square etc. easily walkable in 10 minutes.

Pay 7.50 euros and take the tram anywhere for 24 hrs- you can also use this ticket on the metro. You have to scan the ticket on the tram everytime you get on and off but it's easy enough.

Theres a nice cafe by the anne frank house where they serve a decent lunch and you can get a large beer for 4.70 euros, by comparison i was charged 19 euros for two drinks in the red light district.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit, how the purchase the public transport card and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here!.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent. Acknowledgement for elite status members for which the front desk staff provided me with a complimentary upgrade. The room is very spacious and clean and the bathroom contains products from Rituals. The WiFi was quite slow though, but the location of the hotel didn't make me want to stay in my room anyway. 5/5 would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful that you were acknowledge as an IHG elite member and appreciated the benefits that come with this loyalty program. Furthermore it is great that you appreciated the extra amenities in our club room as Rituals bath products and also a Nespresso machine is available for private use.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have just returned from a business trip in Amsterdam, I stayed here for 6 nights and overall was impressed.
The hotel is clean and tidy and the room as a whole is nice. The bathrooms are a bit small, but can't complain. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Room service is prompt and good quality, I didn't go to the restaurant or bar.

My only complaint would be the Wi-Fi, as I was traveling alone and on business I needed to get onto the internet. On Sunday when I arrived the wireless wasn't working, I tried to ring the helpdesk but couldn't get through... I gave up. The same again on Monday, I asked reception who kindly provided me access to another Wi-Fi network. This one was very unreliable through until Wednesday evening when it eventually improved. It wasn't super quick, but it got the job done for basic stuff (most of the time).

For a high end hotel I was expecting better service in this area, I was glad that I didn't have to pay for the Wi-Fi in the end. Some guests will find this unimportant, however for me it was the total opposite. This is my only complaint though and the hotel otherwise is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your business trip. It is a great pleasure to read that overall you were impressed by our facilities and services.

However I am sorry to read your comment regarding the wifi. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience cost and hope that this will not stop you from returning to our property. I can inform you that we indeed experienced some challenges with the internet however we are currently in the process of resolving this issue permanent.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.