We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
essex england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the beautiful Crowne Plaza. From the moment we arrived till the day we went home the service we received was second to none. The staff are all so friendly and more than helpful. It was part of my 50th celebrations and on the first night when we can back to our upgraded (for free) room they had left us a bottle of champagne and some lovely cakes in our room. We booked football tickets for the Ajax game and the seats they got us were amazing. The hotel is just walking distance fromt the station and just round the corner from all the shops. We cant wait to go back. Thank you Crowne Plaza for a great time. Breakfast was lovely 2.

Room Tip: If you go to Anne Franks house go about 5 in the evening we only had to wait 20 mins. We had a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your 3-night city trip in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that from the moment you arrived until your check out the service delivered was second to none. It is always a great pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

Furthermore it is great to read that you appreciated the upgrade and amenties provided to you because of your 50th birthday. It is also wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    667
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
178
763
123
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I give this hotel 4 stars for the room and location and a fifth star for excellent service.

Easy walk from Centraal train or metro station to the hotel. The #2 and #5 trams pass right by the hotel and take you to the museum district. Five minute walk up the road to the Albert Heijn supermarket.

My room was spacious, modern and clean. I faced the front, it was mostly quiet except for a tram rumbling by once in a while.

The service provided by the front desk and concierge was excellent.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you give the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4 stars for the room and the location and even five stars for excellent service.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. As you mention is the Central Railway station located within 5 minutes walking distance also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

Furthermore it is great to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our Concierge and Front Desk staff, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel has great staff, very friendly, nice and chatty, attentive and very knowledgeable.They make it a pleasure to stay there. The rooms are a pretty good size (for a city centre Amsterdam hotel), nicely done out with everything you need. There is a very nice lounge area to relax in on the ground floor. Good location just a couple of minutes from the station and to head into Jordann in particular. No great view to speak of apart from a good people-watching breakfast/bar area (which has a nice breakfast).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read your comments concerning our staff. You write that our staff is friendly, nice, great, attentive and very knowledgeable. This is all a great pleasure to read and especially that due to this service it makes it a pleasure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed some time in our lobby connect. This is the perfect place to relax and settle down after a busy day in the city along with the atmosphere of a fire place. This is also the perfect place to finish some last business of the day.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I've stayed for the second time at this hotel and was - again - pleased with it.

It's in a good location, near all the main attractions. If you don't feel like walking you can take the tram just outside the hotel to more farflung parts of town.
Rooms are quite large and quiet.
Service is excellent: I forgot some personal items in my room and when I called the hotel they immediately proposed to send it back to my home.

Don't hesitate to book it for a trip to Amsterdam, be it as a tourist or for business.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Safety & Security Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you also enjoyed this stay.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within in reach of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer as for instance Dam Square, the Anne Frank house, the Red Light District and the Jordaan.

Furthermore it is great to read that our Security department was able to assist you by sending some items you forgot in your room. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Guno Lauppe
Safety & Security Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel located in a great area where you can reach any sightseeing easily it is clean the service is very good. don't hestiate to stay there.
I will stay again in the same hotel whever i will go to Amesterdam.

Room Tip: take the corner room, it is big and good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The Central Railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel as well as many other types of public transport which will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was looking for a hotel in Amsterdam to stay at whilst in Amsterdam for valentines weekend with my wife, I looked at Crowne Plaza v Swissotel v Plaza Victoria but couldnt make a decision.
After several questions back and forth to the hotel manager on facebook, I decided if he had been so patient, polite & Curtious on the phone and internet i would give the hotel a try, left my card details and made a reservation.

When i arrived in Amsterdam i didnt know how to find the hotel but it was almost directly across from central station and had everything for a weekend within walking distance.

The staff were great from the barmen - reception - concierge.

My wife complained that the room was a little small but she fell asleep everytime her head touched the pillows and she loved the comfortable bed.

Food & Drink prices in the hotel restaurant are as good, if not better then outside and happy hour is always worth a visit after dinner.

The duty manager is just out if University a few years but a asset to the Crowne Plaza brand & I will be using the hotels around the world in future on this first great experiance.

Well done to all your staff.

Room Tip: The rooms dont have a ocean view and space is at a premium in all Amsterdam hotels but you only use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your Valentine's weekend in.

As you describe it is correct that the hotel is located just across the street of the Central Railway station, this is solely a 5 minute walk. Also many other highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance.

Furthermore it is great to read that you comment the staff as being great and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and thoroughly recommend it. Staff are efficient and extremely helpful. Walking distance to most areas but also handy for tram to more outlying areas. Particularly enjoyed Jordaam and surrounding areas. Walking distance to Centraal station. We did not eat or drink in hotel. Haarlemstraat is worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre based on Tripadvisor and even more wonderful that you thoroughly recommend our hotel.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.