We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great staff in nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel has great staff, very friendly, nice and chatty, attentive and very knowledgeable.They make it a pleasure to stay there. The rooms are a pretty good size (for a city centre Amsterdam hotel), nicely done out with everything you need. There is a very nice lounge area to relax in on the ground floor. Good location just a couple of minutes from the station and to head into Jordann in particular. No great view to speak of apart from a good people-watching breakfast/bar area (which has a nice breakfast).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read your comments concerning our staff. You write that our staff is friendly, nice, great, attentive and very knowledgeable. This is all a great pleasure to read and especially that due to this service it makes it a pleasure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed some time in our lobby connect. This is the perfect place to relax and settle down after a busy day in the city along with the atmosphere of a fire place. This is also the perfect place to finish some last business of the day.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I've stayed for the second time at this hotel and was - again - pleased with it.

It's in a good location, near all the main attractions. If you don't feel like walking you can take the tram just outside the hotel to more farflung parts of town.
Rooms are quite large and quiet.
Service is excellent: I forgot some personal items in my room and when I called the hotel they immediately proposed to send it back to my home.

Don't hesitate to book it for a trip to Amsterdam, be it as a tourist or for business.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Safety & Security Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you also enjoyed this stay.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within in reach of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer as for instance Dam Square, the Anne Frank house, the Red Light District and the Jordaan.

Furthermore it is great to read that our Security department was able to assist you by sending some items you forgot in your room. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Guno Lauppe
Safety & Security Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel located in a great area where you can reach any sightseeing easily it is clean the service is very good. don't hestiate to stay there.
I will stay again in the same hotel whever i will go to Amesterdam.

Room Tip: take the corner room, it is big and good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The Central Railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel as well as many other types of public transport which will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was looking for a hotel in Amsterdam to stay at whilst in Amsterdam for valentines weekend with my wife, I looked at Crowne Plaza v Swissotel v Plaza Victoria but couldnt make a decision.
After several questions back and forth to the hotel manager on facebook, I decided if he had been so patient, polite & Curtious on the phone and internet i would give the hotel a try, left my card details and made a reservation.

When i arrived in Amsterdam i didnt know how to find the hotel but it was almost directly across from central station and had everything for a weekend within walking distance.

The staff were great from the barmen - reception - concierge.

My wife complained that the room was a little small but she fell asleep everytime her head touched the pillows and she loved the comfortable bed.

Food & Drink prices in the hotel restaurant are as good, if not better then outside and happy hour is always worth a visit after dinner.

The duty manager is just out if University a few years but a asset to the Crowne Plaza brand & I will be using the hotels around the world in future on this first great experiance.

Well done to all your staff.

Room Tip: The rooms dont have a ocean view and space is at a premium in all Amsterdam hotels but you only use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgystoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your Valentine's weekend in.

As you describe it is correct that the hotel is located just across the street of the Central Railway station, this is solely a 5 minute walk. Also many other highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance.

Furthermore it is great to read that you comment the staff as being great and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and thoroughly recommend it. Staff are efficient and extremely helpful. Walking distance to most areas but also handy for tram to more outlying areas. Particularly enjoyed Jordaam and surrounding areas. Walking distance to Centraal station. We did not eat or drink in hotel. Haarlemstraat is worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Graham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre based on Tripadvisor and even more wonderful that you thoroughly recommend our hotel.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was at that hotel for a conference 2 weeks ago and I stayed there for a week. The hotel is nice, w with smiling and helping staff and is located on a walking distance from the Central station and most of the sightseeing places in Amsterdam. Conference facilities are good, the restaurant also.
Maybe the price is a little bit higher that expected (especially during high season as the ISE show) but I think this is OK for the location. Rooms are big enough with everything you expect from such a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your conference which also took place on our property.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance of the hotel as well as many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day for business or leisure purposes!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, superb breakfast, wild choice of fruit, cereals, bread, juices and full English you can even have champagne for breakfast! The staff friendly and helpful and brilliant location. Clean and sooooo comfy bed and fluffy pillows! Would recommend gauchos steak bar just across the road for a good steak. Would come back and stay again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank million_don_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

Furthermore it is great to read that you comment the staff as being friendly and helpful, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing