We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Visit and Still My Favorite in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Another Visit and Still My Favorite in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is my second review on Crowne Plaza Amsterdam. The hotel is in the heart of the city. It is 5 star hotel by European standards. Extremely clean. I requested a club room and was given the exact room I requested. I had access to the club room which was great. There is complimentary continental breakfast for those who stay in club rooms, as well as snacks throughout the day. Love the happy hour in New Dorrius Restaurant as well.

My only, only disappointment was with smell of cigarette smoke on my floor. The smell was so strong that one could not miss it. I reported this to the reception at the end of my stay so they probably did something about it.

Room Tip: Book through Crowne Plaza Website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms and appreciated the benefits that come with this room category. As you mention breakfast is included and you can also enjoy complimentary snacks and drinks served in our Club Lounge throughout the day. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read hat you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and made use of the Happy Hour in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

However I am sorry to read that you experienced the smell of cigarette smoke on your floor, we are a non-smoking hotel however unfortunately not all our guest follow our rules. Our Security department keeps an close eye on this and will give a fine to guests who smoke within our property.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    597
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
153
660
117
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived everything was fantastic. We received a warm welcome by the receptionist. We shouldn't have checked in until 3 however we arrived early Friday morn and were given a room and escorted there straight away. Breakfast was excellent value with just about everything for every nationality being offered until 11am daily allowing us a lie in. Rooms are clean with mini bar and snacks which came in handy! Excellent location five min walk from the hustle and bustle. would recommend to anyone to visit Amsterdam and this lovely hotel. All staff were pleasant throughout our visit at all hours. Could not fault a thing!! Thank u all for making our visit so lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that as soon as you arrived at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre everything was fantastic. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is located in the center of the city which makes it an ideal location when exploring the city.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

For the price of the clubroom that we stayed in we could have had a suite in Ireland but we quickly realised Amsterdam is an expensive city as a whole.very friendly staff very clean and great service.will stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our friendly staff and that you mention that you will stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre again.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This property is within walking distance to all sorts of attractions in Amsterdam. We trotted to the Anne Frank house in under 15 minutes and continued from there to the Van Gogh museum with no problems. Plenty of bars and restaurants to explore in any direction from the hotel. Neighborhood felt safe at any time of the day.

Room was quiet, if a bit small. Bathroom was also small, but the shower worked great and the tub was deep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The Central Railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

The Crowne Plaza team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Me and my partner stayed her for two nights in February 2014. They treated us so well with all of the staff being so helpful offering to help where ever possible. We was allocated a really nice room. Perfect temperature, environment, bathroom and bed!

The location is perfect with just a short walk to the main square. It's right near the train station also. Check in isn't until 3pm however they let us check in about two hours early which was so helpful as we had suitcases. It's such a clean place as well.

I couldn't rate this place highly enough and I would 100000000% come back here. I would look forward to another visit if we were returning anytime soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdsam City Centre to the fullest and that you will definitly return to our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the higlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night for our anniversary. Very good reception staff. Lovely lounge with fire and tv. As Gold members got a drinks voucher which was nice. Delighted by complementary sparkling and games for our son. Benefitted from late check out. Super.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your anniversary in. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you are loyal members of IHG and appreciated the benefits that come with your Gold Elite membership.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was here about 10 years ago and the hotel was good then. It's stayed good. It's been renovated, the rooms are nice, the service is good, front desk people are friendly, Great location, online reservation is efficient, No complaints.

Room Tip: ask at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you returned to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre after 10 years and noticed the renovation that was done. Furthermore it is wonderful that you appreciated the services delivered and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.