We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
320 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great staff and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and my teenage daughter spent one night at the Crown Plaza at a pre-Christmas trip to Amsterdam.
The hotel is a short walk from the Central Station, and easy to find.
We arrived at around 9 am, and did not expect to be able to check in, but just wanted to leave our luggage in storage. The check-in staff, however, was very welcoming and they also acknowledged my IHG membership, and offered us to check in to the room. Great!
First thing on the program was to visit Anne Franks House, and we got good directions explained from the check-in staff.

The room had a good size, although the bathroom was a bit small. Very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and there were nice soaps in the bathroom. We could hear some noise during the day from the trams, but it was very quiet at night, we slept well.

It was a bit confusing to find the room, as on of the lifts was broken, so we had to walk a little trough the corridors, and it was easy to take a wrong turn, however we got the hang of it in the end.

The hotel was very nicely decorated for Christmas, and had a nice lobby/ bar area with fire place.

Internet was complimentary, I guess it is for all IHG members.

Breakfast was very good with different hot and cold dishes. They had pancakes, and you can order eggs cooked the way you like. Coffee was served at the table. I believe I also saw a bottle of CAVA on the breakfast bar :-)

The check out lady was just as nice and helpful as the gentleman who checked us in. She told me (without me asking) the time for the Airport train and also which platform we should go to.

All in all, a very pleasant experience, and I guess there chance is very big that I will stay at this hotel if i ever visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you were able to check in at 9am in the morning. We always do our utbest to provide you with a room as soon as possible upon arrival and otherwise provide alternatives to make sure you can fresh up, store your luggage with us, and can already start exploring the city of Amsterdam!

It is also a pleasure to read that you enrolled for our IHG Rewards Club Membership and already experienced several benefits of this program as complimentary WiFi. Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius Restaurant. As you mention this buffet offers you a variety of hot and cold dishes and you can even start your day with a glass of Cava indeed!

Once again thank you for sharing your experience. It is wonderful to read that you will choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre when visiting the city of Amsterdam again. We are already looking forward welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    819
    139
    41
    22
See reviews for
240
973
147
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre in Amsterdam. The hotel is ideally located near to the Central Station and is well connected by tram, bus and metro to all major tourist sites. The hotel is ultra-modern and comfortable with plush furnishings and linens. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was great and included all types of dishes made to order including pancakes and poached eggs done perfectly!
We strongly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is close to the central railway station as well as the tram stop and many of Amsterdam’s highlights!

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our modern and comfortable rooms. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had a a stay over the weekend (Fri-Mon) in December 2013 and it was very comfortable to be in the center close to all attraction and having a tram stop in the street and being just 1 street behind Dan and 5 minutes from Dam Square. With this hotel you are close to all main shopping streets and the main attractions. You are also very close to the central station which could save a lot of money coming/going to the airport.
The room I got (305, which should be an upgraded one) was nice and comfortable, with a real Espresso machine !.The bathroom is a bit small but still nice. In general I liked the fact that the hotel is relatively new. The breakfast is good (not a lot of variety, just basic things) and can keep you for few hours. The gym is how ever very small and not so friendly. No pool. Getting to your room could be a bit confusing as the corridor have a lots of turning.
The dining room have a windows to the shopping street behind which is nice and the lobby has a fireplace which is nice to sit if the rain comes.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street can have nice view of the unique building but could have some noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. There rooms have indeed extra facilities as an Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenites available in the room.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Housekeeping Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

What a terrific team at this hotel! With a convenient location steps away from the Centraal Station, I am always warmly welcomed back by the staff who go out of their way to help me and make recommendations. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the set up perfect for a business trip. If you can upgrade to the lounge, enjoy the peaceful atmosphere to get work done, have breakfast, delightful hot and cold savouries. The concierge provides amazing information and can map out a run for you or find some different restaurants to try. Internet speed is good, and the restaurant (Dorrius)stands on it own legs with the service and food to match. After a 5 day business trip, the staff thanked me individually and genuinely wished me a safe trip home for the holidays.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our clean and comfortable rooms. It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Furthremore it is great to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New-Dorrius restaurant. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to welcome you back during one of your future business trips to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location, 7 minute walk from the central station, and nice walk to many of Amsterdam's main city attractions. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and many shops on the streets behind the hotel. If you cross the main street in front of the hotel, you can go towards a very nice neighborhood area with cafes and bakeries frequented by the locals, a weekend market and many beautiful, charming old houses.
Room was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The receptionists and concierge were courteous, efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern and comfortable rooms.
I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered were courteous, efficient and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights. Its really a walking distance from the central station. The staff were friendly and great to guide us around, The room was spacious and very comfortable, with normal sized bathroom...Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 2-day city trip. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer as for instance the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan area and the Red Light District.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to our property. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked a junior suite for a two night stay in Amsterdam, the junior suite turned out to be a proper suite with a separate sitting room and a small outdoor terrace very nice indeed. The bathroom however was miniscule, perfectly functional but tiny, two people could literally not fit in. My only other slight issue was the noise from the trams outside even on the sixth floor it was really noisy I was only there for two nights so I decided to put up with it. The staff ( on the whole ) were excellent and very friendly.
When I checked out I mentioned the noise from the trams and the young desk agent dismissed it with out a care stating that they stop running at night/early morning which they do but a sorry would have been much more appropriate.
The reason that I didn't give the hotel 5/5 was simply the size of the bathroom and the attitude of the check out agent.
Would I stay here again absolutely, great location, good price, good staff ( on the whole )

Room Tip: have a room off the main street where the trams are
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment that your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was even better than you expected. It is wonderful to read that you stayed in one of our Junior Suites with balcony and enjoyed this room type. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being excellent and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the public transport. Because of our Central Location we are indeed surrounded by various types of public transport. We do offer a special Quiet Zone in our hotel which are rooms on specific floors where you will not notice any noise. Please inform us when you will be visiting our property again and we will do our utbest to allocate you in one of our rooms in the Quiet Zone.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.