We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights. Its really a walking distance from the central station. The staff were friendly and great to guide us around, The room was spacious and very comfortable, with normal sized bathroom...Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 2-day city trip. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer as for instance the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan area and the Red Light District.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to our property. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    758
    124
    40
    23
See reviews for
208
871
136
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked a junior suite for a two night stay in Amsterdam, the junior suite turned out to be a proper suite with a separate sitting room and a small outdoor terrace very nice indeed. The bathroom however was miniscule, perfectly functional but tiny, two people could literally not fit in. My only other slight issue was the noise from the trams outside even on the sixth floor it was really noisy I was only there for two nights so I decided to put up with it. The staff ( on the whole ) were excellent and very friendly.
When I checked out I mentioned the noise from the trams and the young desk agent dismissed it with out a care stating that they stop running at night/early morning which they do but a sorry would have been much more appropriate.
The reason that I didn't give the hotel 5/5 was simply the size of the bathroom and the attitude of the check out agent.
Would I stay here again absolutely, great location, good price, good staff ( on the whole )

Room Tip: have a room off the main street where the trams are
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment that your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was even better than you expected. It is wonderful to read that you stayed in one of our Junior Suites with balcony and enjoyed this room type. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being excellent and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the public transport. Because of our Central Location we are indeed surrounded by various types of public transport. We do offer a special Quiet Zone in our hotel which are rooms on specific floors where you will not notice any noise. Please inform us when you will be visiting our property again and we will do our utbest to allocate you in one of our rooms in the Quiet Zone.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES SUSSEX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Amsterdam and we were so impressed with the excellent facilities, location and warm welcome from Hotel staff.
The hotel is literally a 3 minute walk from the Central train station and within walking distance of all the main attractions.The trams also stop outside the hotel.
We were given a very genuine welcome to the hotel by Lynda on reception.I was also impressed that she telephoned the room shortly after arrival to check everything was ok with the room.
The room was excellently appointed, spotlessly clean, beautiful bed linen bathrobes and slippers and the all important tea tray ! The air-conditioning was easy to control and affective.well appointed bathroom and super hot water.
The maintenance of the hotel was first class. Concierge staff were helpful and gave very good restaurant recommendations. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and the meal was excellent.
A special mention to Ajendro who gave amazing service and ensured the restaurant ran like clockwork. The food was imaginative, tasty hot well presented and a very fair price.
I will certainly be recommending this hotel to friends I could not fault it and we found the staff professional, courteous,welcoming and we would like to send our sincere thanks for a super stay in your beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your short break and that you were impressed by the facilities, the staff and the location of the hotel.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the Courtesy Call to your room by one of our Front Desk Agents. We do this to double check if everything is to your liking or if you need any additional information. It is also great to read that you liked the amenities in your room as for instance the bathrobes, slippers and tea.

Nice to read that you also enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant and also like the services provided and the quality of the food. I will definitely make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff mentioned.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is the second time I stay at the Crowne Plaza and I had a good time, can't complain about anything. The service was great, rooms were spotless, breakfast was good etc. I wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and also this visit was to your liking. It is a great pleasure to read that also for future stays you will stay with us again.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Not kidding--get the Suite. Huge tub, separate bedroom and office, and many amenities.
Nicely located, with many shops and restaurants nearby. Parking is a tad pricey, but given the location this is expected.
My only complaint was the staff, though professional, lacked personality and interest...very "clinical" if you will. Otherwise, this property would easily earn 5 stars.

Highly recommend and will stay again!

Room Tip: Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our bridal suite and that you recommend this to other guests. As you mention this suite has a comfortable tub, a seperate bedroom, a seperate lounge and many amenities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities.

However I am sorry to read the comment concerning our staff. As this is not a regular comment guests provide to us I would like to get in contact with you personally to receive some more details for the reason of your comment. If possible please contact me directly via Maurice.Janssen@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for sharing your comment as this helps us to monitor and improve our services continually. It is wonderful to read that even though your comment you do recommend our hotel and will return to our property!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Rowant, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is located in the city center, walking distance to many places including Amsterdam Central train station.
The staff is nice and friendly, and you feel welcome fraom the moment you enter. The room we had was relatively new, spacious, and with good working space.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh, with many varieties to chose from; from made to order omelets to juices and fruits.
.
I will return to this hotel the next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that our staff was able to make you feel at home from the moment you entered the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. The hotel is indeed located in the City Center of Amsterdam which is within walking distance of the Central Railway station as well as within reach of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast served in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day long.

It it wonderful to read that you will return to our property when visiting Amsterdam. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break away, as soon as we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded to a club room, which we could not fault, clean and cosy! The staff in the hotel were very pleasant and this is what made the stay more enjoyable. Held our luggage for us as check out was noon and we werent due to fly till night - this was free of charge. Close to everything really only one street away from the damrak/dam square. Would deffinitley stay again. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your weekend break away. It is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the upgrade provided and that the staff was able to make your stay even more enjoyable.

It s a pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.