We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city break to Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great city break to Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Amsterdam and we booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here. We stayed in a junior suite which was immaculately clean and modern and this allowed us access into the exclusive club lounge which was great as this included complimentary drinks/snacks and internet at any time of the day. Our rate included a buffet breakfast which was really nice and had a good selection of hot food and pastries. Our only slight problem came when we went into the bar on our 1st night during "happy hour". At no time was it explained to us that the Bogof offer needed to include the same drink and as we ordered 1 wine and 1 gin and then a half hour later another 1 wine and 1 gin we were charged for the 4 drinks. However after attempting to complain to bar staff we were told that we should pay full price tonight and if we came back the next night the rules would be explained to us so we could get the offer the next night. Obviously we were not happy with this response so on speaking to another member of staff the bill was amended to show the discount no bother.

All in all this is a great hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone. Great location and staff and we hope to return in the near future

Room Tip: Although our rooms view looked onto the roof and air con unit which was not the best it was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your first trip to Amsterdam in!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed staying in one of our junior suites including access to our Club Lounge. As you mention this lounge offers you complimentary breakfast in the morning and drinks and snacks during the day. I am sorry to read about the miscommunication of the happy hours drinks however I am happy to read that a satisfactory solution was offered to you.

Thank you for sharing your experience as this allows us to improve and monitor our services continually. It is a great pleasure to read that you highly recommend our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    775
    135
    41
    22
See reviews for
217
901
141
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was several times in this Hotel and it was always a great stay. If you want to stay in the center of Amsterdam you should consider this Hotel. I like especially the options of the breakfast buffet. I'll sure come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice location near the central station and dam square. rooms were clean, staff was friendly. i didn't like the fact that you have to pay for wifi!
wifi should be free every where.
the mini bar had an automated fridge where some lever moves when you take something. i thought that was a nice idea to speed up my checkout process since i didn't use the mini bar and they didn't need to send someone to check

Room Tip: nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. I agree in saying that this is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station as well as within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

I am sorry to read your comment concering the WiFI. I would like to inform you that internet for all our members of the IHG Rewards Club is free of charge. Enrolment for this loyalty program is free of charge and can be arranged directly in our hotel. If you enrol for this program you are able to use the WiFi connection free of charge and also many other benefits that come with this program!

We hope to welcome you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just spent three nights here - what a fabulous hotel! Within incredibly easy reach of Amsterdam Centraal Station and a five minute walk to Dam Square. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful! It has excellent restaurant serving a good selection of Dutch cuisine - I would definitely recommend this month's Menu of the Month - and a lovely comfortable bar area. We have stayed in a few Crowne Plaza hotels over the years - all of which have been excellent - but this has been the best by far!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you recommend our Menu of the Month, I agree with you in saying that this is a good choice as this has great value for money!

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station and Dam square are both within walking distance of the hotel.

It is great to read that you comment Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as the best Crowne Plaza you visited so far! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the perfect spot for our first trip to Amsterdam. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The club room lounge was a great addition. We were able to walk everywhere with ease. We were supprised how wonderful the restaurant was for being part of a hotel. We will definetly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your first trip to Amsterdam. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Club Lounge. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the central railway station as well as many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer or within walking distance of the hotel!

It is a pleasure to read that you will return tot the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a lovely trip to Amsterdam and a friend recommended this hotel. The hotel is located 3 min. walk from the central station of Amsterdam which was great for us, and 5 min. walk from dam square, The staff was very nice and the room was great, great pick for staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment your recent trip as being lovely! It is correct that the hotel is located within walking distance of the central railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes. Also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What's going for this hotel is the great location. About a 10 min walk from the station and 10 mins from all the other hotspots. (Dam square and Rembrandt square).

Would stay here again. Rooms where clean, breakfast was adequate, and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your visit to Amsterdam! However if possible I would like to get in touch with you to receive some more details for the reason of your rating of 3 stars. Please contact me via Maurice.Janssen@ihg.com

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you will be returning to our hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.