We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Crowne Plaza for a work trip/birthday celebration. The hotel is great. Modern comfort right in the heart of the city. The staff was fantastic. The restaurant and club room is very comfortable. And a great value for the price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to celebrate your birthday in!

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you visited our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    886
    618
    99
    36
    20
See reviews for
161
690
121
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. You cannot beat the location and the high level of service. The service was great even before they knew I was Priority Club Gold. Once they knew that, the service was even better. The room was quiet and the bed was the best I have ever had at any hotel. The room and staff were the best. Thanks for a great stay! I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the high level of service delivered and that you comment your overall stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being excellent.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The Crowne Plaza hotel is located within walking distance of the central railway station and also many of the highlights of Amsterdam are located within walking distance.

Thank you for being a loyal IHG rewards club member and for sharing your experience.
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well upon our arrival from Berlin at 1100 yesterday Miral the lead shift supervisor advised us that she had good and bad news for us. Our room we rented was not available so she upgraded us to the bridal sweet. As soon as we made it up the elevator and opened the door a staircase leading up into the main living room and bathroom were more that I could have ever imagined. This is by far the biggest room I have ever stayed in while in europe. Every hotel has been a typical European room small and cramped but this room I could run from one side of the room to the other, they had a 2 person bath tub that could hold 3 people comfotably. Them lets not forget about there private lounge that comes with the room stay. We can go have an expresso or coffee rethink our plans of what we want to see and Amsterdam and then we are off again. The room has been magnificent and Miral has gone above and beyond to make us feel at home and welcomed. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being incredible. It is also a pleasure to read that you appreciated the upgrade to our bridal suite. This is indeed one of our larger rooms and creates the authentic Amsterdam feeling by means of the wooden beams. It is alsowonderful that one of our front desk employees made you feel welcome and at home. This is exactly the feeling we would like to create with our guests.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've stayed here a few times over the years, and would always recomend it. No need for a taxi from the centraal station, as its just under 5 minutes walk to the hotel. Staff welcome you like they really mean it (unlike so many hotels these days).
The receptionist (Elmer) made sure the room that had been allocated to us was to our requirements, He ran through all the feautures of the hotel and our booking, but it didn't feel scripted- he genuinly seemed keen to share the information we needed to know. Our room was fairly standard in terms of size, nice Nesspresso machine (no instant coffee here!). Our room looked out into a quite side street and never noticed any sort of noise from outside. Nice toiletries in the bathrooms and plenty of fluffy towels. We were warned there may be some maintenance work, and they apologised in adavance for this. Turns out a man with a paint brush on Monday morning was all we noticed. Not the sound of power-tools it could have been!

Each time we passed through reception or down the corridors, every member of staff made the effort, without being over pushy, to acknowledge us with a smile or a "hello". Breakfast was more than adeuquate (we have 50% discount so no complaints about the price from us).
And finally, please pass on a big thank you to Elmer, the receptionist who always had a smile and a nice word of welcome, whatever time we came in ;-)

My only criticism, they no longer have the exec lounge on the roof with the open terrace with views of the city skyline.

Room Tip: Have never had a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you will always recommend it. It is also a great pleasure that you appreciated the service delivered of our staff and especially the service delivered by one of our Front Desk agents. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do!

It is correct that our Club Lounge is located on our main level. The reason for this is to make it easy accessable. The room on the 6th floor has been changed in to a meeting room to make sure you can still enjoy the skyline of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork - Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Back again at the CP Amsterdam City Centre (25 - 27th Oct).
Great stay again. This time got a much bigger room (upgrade room 151) that although had no view, was a nice sized room and comfortable.
I really like this hotel. The location is so close to all the sites, Central Station, restaurants, bars etc.
Check-in was fast and very friendly. Heartfelt welcome back from the guy who checked us in.
All staff very friendly and helpful. I'm a priority club member also and it was nice again to have this recognised.
-Room very clean and comfortable.
-Wifi wasnt as good as last stays - perhaps it was the room location.
-Bed very comfortable. Nice Rituals products in bathroom.
-Had breakfast in New Dorrius on-site restaurant. Good selection and served until 11.30am at weekends....what a plus!!

Looking forward to another return trip in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and also that you are one of our loyal members of the IHG Rewards Club program!

Great to read that enjoyed the upgrade you received including the amenties that belong to our Club room category as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenties.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius bar and restaurant. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day long! It is correct that during the weekend our breakfast will be served until 11:30 so if you would like to sleep in you still have time to enjoy breakfast!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of England
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent welcome, one of the best set of Reception staff I've ever dealt with. Room was not ready, we requested a quiet one at the back, but they did give us drink vouchers so the wait was no problem.
Felt the total price was a little steep but it is a very clean hotel with a Fitness room & free use of Internet.
We would return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment the Front Desk staff at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as one of the best you have ever dealt with.

I am sorry to read that your room was not read when you arrived. I am happy to read that you received drinkvouchers during the time you had to wait. We also offer to possibility to store your luggage with us and to fresh up in out Fitness Centre. However we will always do our utbest to provide your with a room before our check in time of 3 pm.

It is also a pleasure to read that you will return to our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Recently travelled to Amsterdam on business and spent a whole 26 hours in the city before returning home. Normally spend hours choosing hotels but as it was a work trip and I was only there such a short time, I just went with the corporate preferred rate.

It's in a reasonably good location, but felt the general area lacked some authentic Amsterdam charm. The hotel was nice enough; rooms were okay; average size. They were certainly comfortable and clean. Bed pretty comfy, but after flying 24 hours, attending meetings and then a dinner, the need for sleep might have well skewed my perception of comfort! lol. First room was on the 1st floor and I changed to a room on 4th floor with a queen bed (and the change request was handled very quickly and happily btw). Neither room provided any view to speak of.

The staff were probably the stand out for me. All of them were very friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast was pretty basic. I ate out the morning I arrived and ate in the hotel the second morning purely based on time limitations. I always think its better to eat out, somewhere in the city you're visiting, rather than the hotel...unless it provides a unique experience.

If returned again to Amsterdam, I would take the time to find a hotel that didn't just tick the "corporate hotel" box, but one that captured some of the uniqueness of the city (near the canals etc)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and be careful with room allocation as the hallways are very long and it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time and for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I am happy to read that we were able to change you in to your preferred room type however I am sorry to read that you did not feel the Authentic Amsterdam charm in our hotel. Our hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the canals and also this is where the boat cruises depart. If you really want to experience the Authentic Amsterdam feeling I would recommend to book our suite which has wooden beams and this creates that exact feeling you describe. Please contact me direclty upon your next visit to Amsterdam and I will be happy to make sure you experience the feeling you want!

It is wonderful to read that you mention that the staff stand and for you and that you comment all the staff as being very friendly and accommodating.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience. This allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Maurice.Janssen@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.