We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating Staff, Spotless Room, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tualatin, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Accomodating Staff, Spotless Room, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel makes up for its lack of character in a variety of ways including an accommodating staff, spotless and well maintained rooms, and a good location. I arrived well before the check in time and although the staff couldn't check me in early, they held my luggage and gave me access to the fitness room so that I could freshen up in the bathroom. They also made sure that my room was next door to the others in my traveling party, even providing us rooms with a connecting door between. The room was incredibly clean and well maintained and the twin bed that I slept in was very comfortable. The public areas of the hotel were very attractive and there was a comfortable sitting area with a fireplace and complimentary snacks off of the main lobby. The proximity to the central station was very convenient, but it was also within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions. The hotel is fairly close to the red light district but I didn't notice anything risque around the hotel. The only thing that could improve my opinion of this Crowne Plaza would be if the wifi and breakfast (I used neither of them) were complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the services provided by our staff upon check in and that you enjoyed sleeping in one of our comfortable beds.It is also wonderful to read that you made use of our Lobby-connect, this is a place where you can settle down after a busy day in the city underneath the cosy atmosphere of our fireplace.

However with reference concerning your comment about the internet I would like to inform you that all our Rewards Club members receive complimentary internet, enrolment for this programme is free of charge and can be arranged directly in our hotel. I am sorry to read that the signal was weak in your room, please inform us if this occurs again and we will be happy to assist you in stabilising the signal for you!

Once again, thank you for your comment and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    635
    99
    36
    21
See reviews for
170
714
121
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Close to the Train Station. High end hotel. Staff were excellent. Concierge and front desk were very helpful. Room was lovely. Only drawback you couldn't see out of the windows as they had film over them. Must have been a bad view they were trying to cover up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the services deliverd by our Concierge and Front Desk staff. It is also a pleasure to read that you liked the location of the hotel and that you comment the room as being lovely. I am sorry to read your comment concerning the film on the window. If possible I would like to get in contact with you directly to verify in which room you stayed as we do not use film on windows to cover up views in our hotel.

Please be so kind to contact me directly via Maurice.Janssen@ihg.com. I ask you for this as your feedback is of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spend 3 night at the crown plaza. It has a got a perfect location. It is close to almost every attraction place in Amsterdam. All front desk staff and concierge staff is very friendly and very knowledgeable about the city. Hotel has got a modern decoration, rooms are clean and quite.Also it was my second stay in this hotel and i was recognize by guest relation manager with a nice welcoming card and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City centre and that you comment our staff as being knowledgeable and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do!

Once again thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza. Very friendly staff. The hotel is very conveniently located. The room is small, but it is okay. I would stay there again. Is has a nice restaurant/bar with good food and very good service as well. They could reduce the cost of the rooms a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food & beverages served in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance of various types of public transport and also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a long trip through Europe. For us it had a perfect location (one block to the right of central station and a then turn left and 2 blocks more) The hotel was very nice, modern and clean. The best thing was the staff. We were checked in by Sylvia or maybe it was Silve and she became our biggest asset during our stay. She was very helpful in giving us advice about the red light dist., coffee shops, money exchange, Ann Frank house. She was very easy to talk to ...really an amazing lady...Staff if you happen to read this she deserves a raise or at least recognition!
When we go back to Amsterdam we would not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you liked the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, as you mention this is the perfect place to start when exploring the city of Amsterdam.

It is also a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the services provided by one of our Front Desk agents. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Wonderful to read that you mention that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre when returning to the city. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I took my wife to this hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate her birthday. We had a lovely time. we booked a club room, and it was spacious with good facilities. The club lounge was a nice additional feature, and the location of the hotel, within easy walking distance of the central station, was ideal.
The staff however were what made it special, with all of them showing a very positive and guest-friendly attitude, which only went to make the weekend more special.
Thanks to the concierge for recommending and booking some great local restaurants, and thanks too to Melissa and the team for ensuring our visit was a very happy one. I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor following your recent celebratory visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am delighted you choose to stay with us for the special occasion.

It is great to hear that Melissa and the team at Crowne Plaza made your stay even more special.

The hotel is indeed very centrally located in the heart of Amsterdam. I am sure there is more of Amsterdam for you to visit so we look forward to your return trip.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As has has been written, location great, staff welcoming, concierge had great recommendations fora Thai dinner. Umbrellas available for guests, newspapers at your door. Asked for extra robe, slippers and towels-delivered in minutes. Large American style room but need to upgrade coffee inrooms.Instant doesn't cut it any more in hotel rooms. Little choice on tv.
Ate at Dorius, slow service, limited menu but food was good and not too expensive.
Tram stops 3 minutes away, Dam square 10, AF house 15, train station 5, taxi from river cruise dock15 euro.For some reason I didn not even have to pay for internet
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from street-no view but no noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel following your recent trip to Amsterdam.

It is delight to read you agree with all the other reviewers on certain aspects of the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

My sincere apologies if the service in the restaurant New Dorrius was slow I am glad however to read you enjoyed the dinner in itself.

In regards to the TV channels I would like to ask you to contact me. We have currently over 30 channels and would like to ask you which channels you would have been interested in while staying with us. This for us to further evaluate the offerings on the television and improve our services.

You can email me at: maurice.janssen@ihg.com

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.