We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spend 3 night at the crown plaza. It has a got a perfect location. It is close to almost every attraction place in Amsterdam. All front desk staff and concierge staff is very friendly and very knowledgeable about the city. Hotel has got a modern decoration, rooms are clean and quite.Also it was my second stay in this hotel and i was recognize by guest relation manager with a nice welcoming card and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City centre and that you comment our staff as being knowledgeable and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do!

Once again thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    744
    122
    39
    22
See reviews for
202
855
136
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza. Very friendly staff. The hotel is very conveniently located. The room is small, but it is okay. I would stay there again. Is has a nice restaurant/bar with good food and very good service as well. They could reduce the cost of the rooms a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food & beverages served in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance of various types of public transport and also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a long trip through Europe. For us it had a perfect location (one block to the right of central station and a then turn left and 2 blocks more) The hotel was very nice, modern and clean. The best thing was the staff. We were checked in by Sylvia or maybe it was Silve and she became our biggest asset during our stay. She was very helpful in giving us advice about the red light dist., coffee shops, money exchange, Ann Frank house. She was very easy to talk to ...really an amazing lady...Staff if you happen to read this she deserves a raise or at least recognition!
When we go back to Amsterdam we would not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you liked the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, as you mention this is the perfect place to start when exploring the city of Amsterdam.

It is also a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the services provided by one of our Front Desk agents. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Wonderful to read that you mention that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre when returning to the city. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I took my wife to this hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate her birthday. We had a lovely time. we booked a club room, and it was spacious with good facilities. The club lounge was a nice additional feature, and the location of the hotel, within easy walking distance of the central station, was ideal.
The staff however were what made it special, with all of them showing a very positive and guest-friendly attitude, which only went to make the weekend more special.
Thanks to the concierge for recommending and booking some great local restaurants, and thanks too to Melissa and the team for ensuring our visit was a very happy one. I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor following your recent celebratory visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am delighted you choose to stay with us for the special occasion.

It is great to hear that Melissa and the team at Crowne Plaza made your stay even more special.

The hotel is indeed very centrally located in the heart of Amsterdam. I am sure there is more of Amsterdam for you to visit so we look forward to your return trip.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As has has been written, location great, staff welcoming, concierge had great recommendations fora Thai dinner. Umbrellas available for guests, newspapers at your door. Asked for extra robe, slippers and towels-delivered in minutes. Large American style room but need to upgrade coffee inrooms.Instant doesn't cut it any more in hotel rooms. Little choice on tv.
Ate at Dorius, slow service, limited menu but food was good and not too expensive.
Tram stops 3 minutes away, Dam square 10, AF house 15, train station 5, taxi from river cruise dock15 euro.For some reason I didn not even have to pay for internet
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from street-no view but no noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel following your recent trip to Amsterdam.

It is delight to read you agree with all the other reviewers on certain aspects of the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

My sincere apologies if the service in the restaurant New Dorrius was slow I am glad however to read you enjoyed the dinner in itself.

In regards to the TV channels I would like to ask you to contact me. We have currently over 30 channels and would like to ask you which channels you would have been interested in while staying with us. This for us to further evaluate the offerings on the television and improve our services.

You can email me at: maurice.janssen@ihg.com

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location. The staff are an absolute credit they were all polite, helpful and extremely accommodating especially when they realised we were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. Food was extremely good and the club lounge most welcome to relax after a day sight seeing. Special thanks to Michael who checked us in and went out of his way to allocate a beautiful jnr suite with awsome views of the City and also to Samantha who sent 'goodies' to the room that made our Anniversary extra special. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are very honoured you choose to stay with us during such a special occasion. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the hotel and it's services so much.

We really appreciate your special mention on Michael and Samantha who made your stay most enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asolo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

All the amenities. Close to train from the airport (walk) , the Dam, and very central for walking around. Luxury bedding, upscale rooms, club room, good breakfast and great friendly staff. The staff recognizes and acknowledges you with a "welcome home" after 1 day. We had to leave to spend a couple of days near the airport and stayed at Raddison Blu after. Absolutely no comparison in 4 star hotels. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am truly delighted you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its amenities so much. We are especially proud of the comments in regards to our staff and recognition you received upon your return to the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre upon your next visit to the Netherlands.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.