We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I took my wife to this hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate her birthday. We had a lovely time. we booked a club room, and it was spacious with good facilities. The club lounge was a nice additional feature, and the location of the hotel, within easy walking distance of the central station, was ideal.
The staff however were what made it special, with all of them showing a very positive and guest-friendly attitude, which only went to make the weekend more special.
Thanks to the concierge for recommending and booking some great local restaurants, and thanks too to Melissa and the team for ensuring our visit was a very happy one. I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor following your recent celebratory visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am delighted you choose to stay with us for the special occasion.

It is great to hear that Melissa and the team at Crowne Plaza made your stay even more special.

The hotel is indeed very centrally located in the heart of Amsterdam. I am sure there is more of Amsterdam for you to visit so we look forward to your return trip.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    607
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
154
670
118
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As has has been written, location great, staff welcoming, concierge had great recommendations fora Thai dinner. Umbrellas available for guests, newspapers at your door. Asked for extra robe, slippers and towels-delivered in minutes. Large American style room but need to upgrade coffee inrooms.Instant doesn't cut it any more in hotel rooms. Little choice on tv.
Ate at Dorius, slow service, limited menu but food was good and not too expensive.
Tram stops 3 minutes away, Dam square 10, AF house 15, train station 5, taxi from river cruise dock15 euro.For some reason I didn not even have to pay for internet
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from street-no view but no noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel following your recent trip to Amsterdam.

It is delight to read you agree with all the other reviewers on certain aspects of the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

My sincere apologies if the service in the restaurant New Dorrius was slow I am glad however to read you enjoyed the dinner in itself.

In regards to the TV channels I would like to ask you to contact me. We have currently over 30 channels and would like to ask you which channels you would have been interested in while staying with us. This for us to further evaluate the offerings on the television and improve our services.

You can email me at: maurice.janssen@ihg.com

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location. The staff are an absolute credit they were all polite, helpful and extremely accommodating especially when they realised we were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. Food was extremely good and the club lounge most welcome to relax after a day sight seeing. Special thanks to Michael who checked us in and went out of his way to allocate a beautiful jnr suite with awsome views of the City and also to Samantha who sent 'goodies' to the room that made our Anniversary extra special. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are very honoured you choose to stay with us during such a special occasion. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the hotel and it's services so much.

We really appreciate your special mention on Michael and Samantha who made your stay most enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asolo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

All the amenities. Close to train from the airport (walk) , the Dam, and very central for walking around. Luxury bedding, upscale rooms, club room, good breakfast and great friendly staff. The staff recognizes and acknowledges you with a "welcome home" after 1 day. We had to leave to spend a couple of days near the airport and stayed at Raddison Blu after. Absolutely no comparison in 4 star hotels. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am truly delighted you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its amenities so much. We are especially proud of the comments in regards to our staff and recognition you received upon your return to the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre upon your next visit to the Netherlands.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clt fd
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

very nice
nice and new hotel well located if you're attending a congress at the rai congress center.
friendly staff and service. special prize to Mickael at the bar who is friendly and dedicated to your wellness.
nice well equiped rooms.
a fitness room is available to every guest.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel during one of the congresses in Amsterdam.

I am delighted to read you found the location to be very convenient. Indeed the commute to the Amsterdam Rai is quick and easy with one of the many options you have to reach your congress destination.

Thank you for commenting on Michael who assisted you in the bar and commenting on our staff in general.

We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre either for business or leisure.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer,
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for 6 nights. The hotel is well located to be accessed from the Train Station. The hotel staff are kind, helpful, and very friendly, always greeting us in the morning when we departed and welcoming us back at the end of the day. As Holiday Inn Hotel members, were offered free WIFI and 15% off of any restaurant charges during our stay. Inigo Viu checked us in and made us feel very welcome and appreciated. We were upgraded to a king bed room which was very modern and provided us with wonderful amenities. We particularly appreciated the coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cookies, and mini chocolates when we arrived back at the hotel in the late afternoon to recharge our batteries. The bed was great and the room was quiet so we could get a good night's sleep. The WIFI was fast and problem free. We only ate at the restaurant one evening but the food was delicious and presented very graciously by attentive staff. The concierge service was a wonderful resource of information and also directed us to several excellent well priced restaurants nearby. My husband had a small accident while we were there and the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure he was OK and referred us to a local doctor who was attentive and caring. This is a wonderful property to stay at in Amsterdam!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you recently spend six nights at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. As you mention the hotel has an ideal location as it is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is a great pleasure to read that all the staff you encounted was pleasant and willing to assist you. It is also wonderful that you are one of our loyal IHG Rewards Club member and that you enjoyed the beneftis of this program staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

good location, helpful staff ,good beds, great happy hr. at the bar not the drinks the food. prices a bit high but that's the big city. train station a couple of blocks away. easy walk to most things you want to see.

Room Tip: get a day pass for the buses and enjoy. afternoon walk toward the canals for outdoor cafés beer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre one day.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.