We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the other reviews, I thought it was quite good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Despite the other reviews, I thought it was quite good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I have just returned from a three-night stay at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Amsterdam CIty Centre and I was rather surprised to read so many negative reviews of the hotel -you have to speak as you find, and I was pleased, overall, despite there being some shortcomings. Briefly:

Postiive
Staff -always, without fail, friendly, informed and helpful
Food and Beverage -consistantly first class -this is the thing the hotel does best.
Location -four minutes from Central station, two minutes from the nearest tram stop.

Neutral
Pool -it's quite small, but, this is a city centre hotel, so there has to be compromise somewhere. There is also a sauna and a mini gym which are both great, although a jacuzzi or steam room would have been nice!
Room -My room was not small based on EU average and I can only assume that either there is another wing of the hotel with tiny rooms, or the previous reviewers have only ever stayed in US hotels -even then, an average NY hotel room is smaller than this room was. The bed was comfortable, and the minibar well stocked. The bathroom was ok and plenty big enough -the shower pressure, whilst not fantastic, was fine. Yet, the room felt a little tired, although it was spotless. There was BBC1 and BBC2 on the TV along with CNN, National Geographic with Dutch subtitles and BBC World Service for English language.

Negative
I can't really find anything BAD to say about the hotel to be honest. If I was being picky, I would say that the rooms could do with updating and that housekeeping should refill the minibar every day, but, the hotel is a good place to stay in my view.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing -no problems or grumbles!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    745
    122
    39
    22
See reviews for
202
856
136
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband and I are actually still at the hotel, we were able to use our credit card points for our stay. Although the location is great, close to shopping and train station, this is definitely not a 4 star hotel. We've been in europe for about 4 weeks now and this is by far the hotel that has charged the most for "extras." 22 euros for breakfast? Most breakfasts have been included. 19 euros for WIFI for 24 hrs (it's a small fortune to use the one at the business center)? WIFI has been free at all of our other hotels, except for Vienna where it was only 4 euros for 24 hrs. The room badly needs updating - definitely not worth of the 400 euros that is listed on the back of our door. We would be hard pressed to pay more than 150 euros for this room, and that might be pushing it.

  • Liked — location, gym
  • Disliked — needs updating asap!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina USA, Qingdao China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

I do not know where people you have putted this hotel down stayed at but it surely was not here. It is in a great location downtown 5 minutes from Central Station and the Various Canal Boats and cruises. 10 Minutes walk from the Main square. The room was ample in size and clean and the staff was more then helpful and friendly. My only negative comment would be about the costly fee for the internet which I found to be quite high compared to all past experiences.

  • Liked — location, location
  • Disliked — internet cost
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Crowne Plaza a birthday surprise for my partner. Finding the hotel is very simple. On leaving Central Station take the bridge to the right and cross the road being very weary of the trams (they stop for no one!!) Walk up the road and keep to the left the hotel is just around a bend. Check in was speedy and staff were plesant but when we got to our room not only was it very small a small double bed, it faced a brick wall and it also wasn't ready for guests. As this was a special occasion I requested to upgrade to a club room unfortunately for us we couldn't get upgraded until the next day. It was well worth the wait and the additional cost, the room was much bigger the bed more comfortable and the club lounge very welcoming. The staff were extremely helpful especially the consierge and the guest relations guy. There's a wide choice for breakfast including champagne, bucks fizz. Dorias restaurant was very pleasant portions were very novelle cuisine especially the portions we paid 15E for 2 bottles of water!!!!. The hotel is very central and everything is within easy walking. Must Do's all the usual tourist attractions and the canal cruise. Don't do D'Vijff Vlieghen restaurant the staff are pleasant enough, the food is awful. Our starter was given to anouther couple we had to wait an hour for another one and our main course had obviously been kept under some kind of heater as it was dry as a bone and when we complained we we're told that we order the veal well done it was burnt and dry!!! They didnt apologise so we asked for our bill and left. We had a fab time in Amsterdam but our experience at this restaurant was upsetting as it was meant to be a special meal to celebrate my partners birthday. However, we still love Amsterdam and

  • Liked — Club Room
  • Disliked — The pool was very small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We booked a two bedded non-smoking room and ended up after a two hour wait and lots of conversations with a smoking room. It was unbelievable the room was so bad they sent an air purifier which could not shift the smell. The Hotel claim they never got the e-mail and as it is used by tours and airlines for flight crew they claimed to be full. After two days everything ended up either in the wash or at the cleaners.

If you are a smoker head for here, it is a good location but eat out. The restaurant and brasserie are typically hotel standard; use this site to find the best. Expect to pay top prices for a basic experience, there are better hotels in Amsterdam for the same money.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Smokey atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

I stayed here on business. The hotel is a five minute (or less) walk from the Centraal (train) Station and a very close walk to most of the main areas. Although you can take the trams or rent a bike, I walked from the hotel to the Dam, the Anne Frank House, the Waterlooplein market, the Red Light District and more, just to name a few of the more well known sights. The hotel room had a nice bathroom, a convenient workspace and a good view, and the hotel itself had large working elevators, a nice bar and a very friendly staff. I would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Excellent location in the center of town
  • Disliked — Bed was very soft and low to the ground
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a 4 day 3 night break over Easter.

The location is very good. We flew into Schipol and took the train to the Central Station, the hotel is about 250m from the station, just cross the bridge and walk straight and you will see the sign. The hotel is also well located for public transport (the tram lines 2 and 5 pass right outside), canal cruises (the Holland International office is between the hotel and Central Station) and walking to most of the key tourist areas of Amsterdam.

Check-in was quick and easy. We were moved over to the Guest Relations desk as I'm a Platinum Priority Club member. With Platinum we were upgraded to a Crowne Plaza Club room on the 5th floor (non smoking floor), and also given access to the Club Lounge on the 6th floor. I thought I may need parking on the Sunday night and parking is pricy (EUR 40 per night), but discounted for Priority Club members.

The hotel is in two sections accessed by different lifts. Reception is on the ground floor along with Concierge, some meeting rooms, the hotel restaurant, the hotel bar/coffee shop and a small curio shop. There is a small gym and smallish swimming pool in the basement.

We stayed in Room 513. Standard Holiday Inn style room. The decor is a bit dated but everything is in working order (except the in-drawer hair dryer - which was replaced after a phone call). The bed was quite low to the ground. The view was out over rooftops, looking down over the alley at the back of the hotel and a block of apartments behind the hotel. The bathroom was compact but not tiny. The shower pressure was dissapointing. The TV has a wide range of international channels and, strangely for Holland, BBC1 London and BBC2 London! Wireless and wired internet is available in all rooms. The room has a stocked bar fridge, and a tray with a kettle and tea and coffee sachets. Club Rooms are stocked daily with free Spa Red sparkling mineral water.

As has become typical in four and five star hotels, unless you leave the "do not disturb" sign up whenever you are in the room, you are disturbed by a stream of staff performing functions like "checking the minibar".

The Club Room is accessed from a lobby on the sixth floor, then up a steep spiral staircase. The Club Lounge has impressive views over the rooftops of Amsterdam. They serve a complimentary continental breakfast in the Club Room each morning from 7 to 11. Breads, pastries, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, salmon, spreads, juices and boiled eggs. Choice of teas/coffees from coffee machine. The Club Room has two - very old and slow - PCs for internet access. They purport to offer printing but the printer had networking issues when we wanted to print so the duty manager helped us by printing it at reception instead. On checking the guest relations person suggested that drinks are served in the evenings, in the Club Room - however on the Saturday evening none were forthcoming between 6 and 7pm.

We didn't need to use the concierge serice, but others did and they seemed attentive and helpful.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, or try the room service. We discovered some great take away places near the back of the hotel - particularly a noodle shop called "Wok to Work" - highly recommended and great value for money.

All in all, a great stay, no major problems, would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.