We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Issaquah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

good location, helpful staff ,good beds, great happy hr. at the bar not the drinks the food. prices a bit high but that's the big city. train station a couple of blocks away. easy walk to most things you want to see.

Room Tip: get a day pass for the buses and enjoy. afternoon walk toward the canals for outdoor cafés beer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre one day.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    555
    102
    38
    23
See reviews for
139
618
113
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here twice one night pre cruise and one night post cruise, both rooms were really nice. On the return journey the room was very noisy. The hotel is in a fantastic location and all the staff were excellent, friendly and extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and I would highly recommend that you eat there, it was also reasonably priced. Overall two fantastic stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to you chose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as the place to stay before and after your cruise.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius bar and restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.
Enjoy a light lunch or a relaxed evening dinner with a good glass of wine

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was in this hotel for a meeting in last days of September 2013. I was in the 6th floor with a charming terrace offering nice views to the central Amsterdam roofs. Service was excellent, cleaning impecable and breakfast in normal standards. Its ubication located in the center of Amsterdam with a lot of public transport mades it a very good point. Staff was kind and always helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor (6th) with city views and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you visited the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for a meeting in our meeting room the 'Millenium Star' last September. As you mention this meeting room has a nice terrace with a view on the Amsterdam roofs in the city center of Amsterdam.

It is also a pleasure to read that you mention that the service was excellent and that the staff was kind and always helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London. UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza-city centre- last week,having travelled to Amsterdam by Eurostar and Thalys which was completely stress- free. The hotel is very well located as it is only 5 mins walk to the Central Station and all the tours.buses ,trams etc start from the Station.
The hotel was excellent,the staff very helpful and the room clean. We asked for a quiet room and 427 was completely noise free. There is an all day restaurant which is very good and we ate there in the evening on the day we arrived. I booked a room to include breakfast which worked well. We bought a 3 day travel card and I booked for the Rijksmuseum in advance, and we were able to get on all the tours without any problems. JW

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor have balconies but may be noisy. Room 427 was absolutely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

All around excellent hotel. I travel alot, and this is one of the best hotels on my list.

It is in a perfect location. A short walk from the train station, I almost took a taxi, because I didn't know where to go, I would have been super embarrassed (while looking for a taxi, I spotted the hotel, just across the street).

Also really close to the red light district. But not right in it, so families won't have to worry. Maybe a 5 min walk, if that.

Restaurants are also really close. We went to a really good Argentinian Steak House within a minute's walk from the hotel.

We walked to all of our attractions, seemed like they were all within walking distance, if you plan it right. The flower market and the shopping nearby was a long walk back, but my wife and I are young so it was doable.

The best thing was, they upgraded me to a suite. So we had a corner room, excellent shower (which is crucial for me) and an overall awesome time.

I will be staying at Crowne Plazas whenever I travel to new cities. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being one of the best hotels you stayed in! It is also a pleasure to read that we were able to upgrade you to one of our suites!

Furthermore I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station. Also many nice restaurants and bars are located within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which you can visit while staying in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A few days' stay. Good location. Typical Crowne Plaza-- all essentials, & clean. One male front desk officer who has no business being in such an interactive job. The other staff members I'd encountered were fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your overall experience at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was positive. However I am sorry to read about the experience you had with one of our Front Desk Agents. If possible I would like to ask you for some more details for the reason of your comment, therefore I would like to get in touch with you personally. Please be so kind to contact me directly via Maurice.janssen@ihg.com.

I ask you for this as your feedback is of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great location to everything central in Amsterdam. Nice staff and hotel very clean, room very modern. We got a very nice upgrade as Gold club members. Close to Amsterdam Central station if your arriving from the airport. Cabs pricey in Amsterdam so find your way around by train, tram or bike if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the upgrade you received being a Rewards Club member of our loyalty program. As you mention the hotel is located on a very convenient location when exploring the city. The Central Railway station is located within walking distance as well as other types of public transport.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits.


Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, Venere, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.