We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while on vacation in Amsterdam. Excellent location you can walk almost anywhere or catch a street car at the stop just a short walk from the hotels front door to anywhere in the city, a short 10 minute street car ride to the museums. The furnishings at the hotel are modern and rooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant was very good we ate lunch there and also had a nice offering at breakfast. If you are looking for a central location in which to work or visit Amsterdam this is a great spot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to stay during your leisure trip!

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is close to various types of public transport and also within walking distance of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

As you mention Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the perfect place to stay when exploring the city of Amsterdam! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    596
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
153
660
117
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is based right near the central station (about 5 mins walk away) really good location, as you come out of the central station across the road and canal you will see the Victoria Hotel you need to take road to the right of that keep walking up and you will see a purple flag with crowne plaza on it.

The Reception staff were all very friendly and helpful, if you are an IHG member (which we signed up for when making the original booking) you get a free newspaper everyday, free Internet in your room, we were informed that you had to sign into this and select a payment option but this is refunded, which it was, you also get 15% discount from the bar and Dorrius restaurant which is great.

The room was a decent size, nice big comfortable bed, all bath accessories are replenished every day and you get a complementary bottle of sparkling water every day also (would have preferred still but hey ho).

The food in the Dorrius Restaurant was lovely and our waiter was absolutely brilliant (Wim Schiller) my husband tried a dessert called "Hang Op" which was a funny experience!!! not my type of thing as it had rusk, cream, cinnamon, brown sugar and natural yoghurt, but my husband enjoyed it.

Really enjoyed our stay here, we were also informed by the lovely lady at reception that they can book trips there, she gave us a map of Amsterdam which was really helpful. We booked a 48 hour canal cruise so you can hop on and off and visited the Van Gogh museum and also the Rijk Museum both good but the Rijk was better.

While you are there you should try their waffles also yummy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as beig friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the benefits of being an IHG Rewards Club Member. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and easy to find.

Furthermore it is also great to read that you enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.


Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Only stayed here as my usual hotel, The Renaissance, was full and this is 50m away in the same great central Amsterdam location just 400m from the station.
Why a surprise? I've stayed at Crowne Plaza's before, but this one is excellent. I found no flaws in this upper-middle business hotel. This is as good as it gets in this category.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being excellent! It is correct that the distance from the hotel to the Central Railway station is approximately 500 meter, which is very convenient as this has direct trains departing to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I always choose to stay here if I can when visiting Amsterdam on business, as the location is excellent - easy walking distance to anywhere in central Amsterdam, and only a few minutes from Centraal Station. Rooms are a good size for a city centre hotel, beds are comfortable, good breakfast, and efficient service from staff - in short, everything you need for a business trip. Would happily stay here if I was visiting for leisure as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you always choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre when visiting Amsterdam for business purposes. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is within walking distane of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol.

It is also a pleasure to read that you like our room sizes, the comfortable beds and that you made use of our breakfast served in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day.

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you would also like to stay with us on leisure trips even though you are mainly travelling for business purposes! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back for both!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

As mentioned in prior reviews, this hotel is in a prime location o virtually anywhere in the city. And with the tram line directly out the door, even some of the more distant spots are easily accessible.
While I'm not a light rail user, I tried the return to the airport via the train. Having the hotel just one block from the station made it incredibly easy.
One small ding. They missed my wake up call, and while they apologized and gave me a courtesy level discount, I almost missed my am flight out. Double check they have it down!!
I will return nonetheless. Great stay.

Room Tip: I didn't see many rooms with a view. Might be worth asking if they exist! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is correct that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which is direct trains leaving to Schiphol Airport every 10 minutes.

I am sorry to read about your experience concerning your wake-up call, however I am happy to know that we already resolved this issue by means of direct contact with you.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights on our first trip to Europe. The location was fantastic for us - a short walk to Central Station, trams and canal buses. The hotel is lovely, secured and stored our luggage until our room was available, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. At the end of the day we truly felt like we were coming home. Very modern decor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your Europe trip! As you mention the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city. Public transport stops, the shopping street and many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are all located within walking distance.

It is also wonderful to read that you really felt like coming home entering the hotel after a busy day out in the city and that you mention that you will repeat your stay with us. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in the hotel again this weekend can't wait it's our wedding anniversary and can't think of a better hotel to stay in. We stayed in July for my birthday and the hotel upgraded us to the bridal suite it was amazing we also got back on the Saturday to wonderful cake & champagne for my birthday. You should stay in this hotel it is in a great location the staff are brilliant and always look after us. The rooms are lovely and food is excellent best hotel in Amsterdam we think, can't wait to get back there on Saturday Karen & Stuart roper the staff even now remember our names see you Saturday :-)))

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you visited the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your birthday in! It is even a greater pleasure that you will be returning to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Jansen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam 1012 RC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.