We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel is excellent, spotlessly clean, service is impeccable. Huge and comfortable beds, suitable for both business and vacation trips. 5 min walk from Dam Square and Centraal Station. Perfect location for shopping. Hotel is a little pricey and member of InterContinental Hotels Group but it comes with major benefits.

Choose it if you want to enjoy deep sleep & relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being excellent and with impeccable service. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is suitable for both; business and leisure guests and located ideal
looking at the distance from the public transport, the shopping street, many nice restaurants and bars and many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    658
    106
    36
    22
See reviews for
176
747
123
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of the Mardi Gras. Had a club king room facing the courtyard which was very quiet with no street noise. Room was large with a couch/sofa bed and nice large writing table.

Location was perfect, a stone's throw from central station and a nice pedestrian shopping street right next to the hotel. Prices were reasonable and I was allowed an early check in at 9 am with no extra charge. I liked their local bathroom amenities which was different from the usual Crowne Plaza ones.

All in all, a good stay and location be it for tourists or business. The club king rooms can accommodate a sofa bed at no extra charge, but you do need to write in to the hotel to request for them as there are not many of them. Well worth the extra expenditure.

However, club lounge is pretty basic. Some finger foods and snacks and drinks. Unmanned most of the time as well. Computers in it are slow and the internet speeds there not that great.

Room Tip: courtyard facing rooms a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that we were able to provide you with an early check in, we will allways do our utbest to provide you with a room as soon as one is available.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the hotel is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and also within reach of the shopping street and many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our second stay in this hotel, were we stayed this time for four night.

Simply perfect staff always smiling and helpful, great location walking distance to all the activities and attractive areas.

I would like to thank all hotel’s staff.

Recommendation, I recommend everyone to stay in this hotel and personally I will stay next time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that this was your second stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and it is also wonderful to read that we were able to create that 'feel at home' feeling as this is what we are aiming for!

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and it is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre one day! We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Came to amsterdam without a plan or hotel booking. Found the crowne plaza just down the street from amsterdam centraal station and Michael Sowett at the front desk gave us the most amazing service. He went above and beyond to upgrade our suite and gave us a couple of free rounds at the hotel restaurant. He even recommended and made reservations for us at a wonderful italian restaurant. He really made our stay in amsterdam special. The hotel was amazingly clean and modern. I recommend this hotel to everyone! Best customer service ive ever had!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that one of our Front Desk agents was able to provide you with the most amazing service and that because of him your stay even become more special.

It is wonderful to read that you comment that you experienced the best customer service and that you recommend our hotel to everyone!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before embarking on a river cruise. Although there were quite a few of us, the hotel had us preregistered and we were in our delightful rooms in no time. We were able to walk on a nearby street to a small restaurant where we had a delightful meal. In the early evening, we enjoyed conversation and beverages in the lounge with friends. The staff of the hotel went out of their way at all times to be accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast buffet before we left the next morning. I would want to stay here again if we were fortunate enough to be in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that we were able to assist you with a fast and effective check in together with the other passengers of the river cruise.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as you mention the hotel is surrounded by many nice restaurants and bars and also the hotel itself offers a nice bar, restaurant and lounge. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day!

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you will return to our hotel when returning to Amsterdam. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel a few times, and in all of them we were given upgraded suites, which included Nespresso machines, free wifi and other perks. Modern and sophisticated decor, helpful staff and extremely comfortable rooms are not the top reasons we keep coming back, but its amazing location, just 5 minutes walk from the central train station (which rounds up to a total 20 minutes from Schiphol airport by train), as well as shopping and dining areas, and main attractions. I'd say the hotel is perfect, if it wasn't for the high prices - but then, this is Amsterdam, and you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is also wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites which are indeed equipped with a Nespresso machine, Rituals bath amenities and many more benefits.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Schiphol Airport. In the surroundings of the hotel are many nice bars and restaurants located, also the shopping street starts right around the corner!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just 200m from the railway station it was an easy walk with suitcase after catching the train from the airport. The Crowne Plaza appeared in what looked to be a small building, but this opened up to be a lovely open space inside. Large foyer and lounge on the ground floor complemented by their restaurant flowing through.
THe rooms were all clean fresh & modern with only two minor issues the aircon not being able to keep the room cool enough on a warm summers day & the water/shower pressure/design could have been much better. Hotel staff were great to deal with and answered all my queries in no time, and I was on my way to explore Amsterdam which was just a short stroll to Dam Square, shops, red light district and canal boat rides.
Enjoyed my stay and look forward to coming back when next in Amsterdam

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you were surprised concerning the interior of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and did not expect it to be so spacious as it turned out to be.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern rooms however I am sorry to read you discomfort concerning the air-conditioning, I hope this did not influence your stay negatively, if you experience an issue like this again please inform us and we will be happy to let our maintenance department inspect the room or provide you with a different room. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that the staff was able to satisfy your needs and that you were able to view all the main highlights of Amsterdam!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to returning to our hotel! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.