We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kilmore, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just 200m from the railway station it was an easy walk with suitcase after catching the train from the airport. The Crowne Plaza appeared in what looked to be a small building, but this opened up to be a lovely open space inside. Large foyer and lounge on the ground floor complemented by their restaurant flowing through.
THe rooms were all clean fresh & modern with only two minor issues the aircon not being able to keep the room cool enough on a warm summers day & the water/shower pressure/design could have been much better. Hotel staff were great to deal with and answered all my queries in no time, and I was on my way to explore Amsterdam which was just a short stroll to Dam Square, shops, red light district and canal boat rides.
Enjoyed my stay and look forward to coming back when next in Amsterdam

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you were surprised concerning the interior of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and did not expect it to be so spacious as it turned out to be.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern rooms however I am sorry to read you discomfort concerning the air-conditioning, I hope this did not influence your stay negatively, if you experience an issue like this again please inform us and we will be happy to let our maintenance department inspect the room or provide you with a different room. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that the staff was able to satisfy your needs and that you were able to view all the main highlights of Amsterdam!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to returning to our hotel! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    669
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
179
766
124
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in a great position. Rooms are one of the best in the city and the personnel is fantastic.
I travelled with my wife and my one year old boy and we found the place very confortable and welcoming.
I would surely suggest it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being fantastic! It is also a pleasure to read that you felt welcoming and comfortable. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent four nights at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Central and were really happy with our stay there.

The pros:

Extremely friendly, helpful, professional staff - everyone from front desk staff to the waiting staff in the lounge went out of their way to make our stay more pleasant. Husband, who works online at night, was treated to a complimentary cuppa on his fourth night in the lounge and couldn't chirp loudly enough about it - way to win round an Englishman!

Comfortable, spacious rooms with large, cosy beds - plus the little aromatherapy kit you get for bedtime. Communal areas also really well set out and nice to spend time in.

Reasonable price - you get a lot for your money.

Great location - close to central station, plenty of streets to explore, lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Would recommend location no problem.

Cons:

Only a couple of cons -

- Noisy room: Our room was at the front of the hotel, opposite the lift and above the breakfast room. With the tram outside and people coming in and out, it got quite noisy, particularly on the Friday and Saturday night. In future, would probably take advantage of the "Quiet Zone" that the hotel advertises.

- Internet access really patchy in the room: often, we just couldn't get online from our room and had to come down to the lounge to work. Not a huge issue, just a bit of a pain and would've hoped for better as internet is 20€ a day.

- Tiny teacups! The cups in the room were *teeeeeeeeeny* tiny! Bigger cups would be better. But, if that's all you have to complain about, things are looking pretty OK ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you chose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your 4-night city trip in!

It is wonderful to read that you compliment the staff as being friendly, helpful and professional. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room and the sleeping advantage kit. This package includes two mini solutions for a better night’s sleep. One is named ‘ breath in’ ; this eucalyptus spray clears the head and helps you breathe more easily with a blend of Frankincense. The other one is the deep calm pillow spray; this a fusion of calming oils to relax and calm including lavender, Vetivert and Camomile.

However with reference concerning your comment about the internet I would like to inform you that all our Rewards Club members receive complimentary internet, enrolment for this programme is free of charge and can be arranged directly in our hotel. I do apologize for the fact that that the signal was weak in your room, please inform us if this occurs again and we will be happy to assist you in stabilising the signal for you during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your comment and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hard to say anything other than GREAT!! Great Staff, rooms, location, service, value, etc. This is a top rate hotel in a great location. I highly recommend it for any purpose. I had been there on business, but this time was vacation with family. Perfect timing after the long flight to have an easy train to the city, and then short walk to the hotel, then off to the races and see the sights. Will always stay here when in AMS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you comment your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as bein great! It is wonderful that you enjoyed the rooms, the location and the service delivered by our staff. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is a great pleasure to read that you highly recommend our property for either business and leisure travellers. As you mention the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close to the Central Railway station which offers direct trains to the Airport Schiphol.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located between the Central station and Dam Place, from the hotel you can easily reach all the touristic attractions of the city; moreover, there are lot of nice restaurants in the nearby.
We had a family room wich was comfortable and quiet.
At the concierge you can book museum tickets so you can avoid queueing at the museums tickets counters. You can also buy tram tickets (the tram stops few steps far from the hotel entrance).
Recommended both for tourism and business travel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you recommended our hotel either to business or leisure travellers. It is also a pleasure to read that our concierges were able to assist you with the requested tickets and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient as we are close to public transport stops as well as within walking distance of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I mistakenly booked the other Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam and after arriving from 40 hours of travelling was more than dismayed to discover my mistake. As our stay was dependent on location we asked to swap bookings despite having paid in advance for the other hotel. Eva (I think!?), on reception, bent over backwards to cover my error and so save me being hung by my partner! Eva was not only able to have reversed our payment to the other hotel (Thanks also to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for graciously refunding our payment) and find us a room, but also was kind enough to upgrade us to a larger suite. The room was spacious with a small but modern and spotless bathroom. The bed was HUGE! During our 4 day stay we found all the staff to be very friendly, always a wave and a smile as we passed through reception and the concierge happy to point a couple of tourists in the right direction. One of the common areas was well set up to watch TV communally which is a great opportunity to meet new people, particularly in our case with Wimbledon on and a few fellow Aussies to help cheer on our players. Overall a wonderful stay helped greatly by the staff on reception.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that we were able to switch your reservation to our hotel and that you enjoyed the provided upgrade!
Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that all the staff you encountered was friendly and willing to assist you.

It is also a pleasure to read that you made use of our lobby-connect. This is a perfect place where you can settle down after a day in the city of after a busy working day to just relax with the atmosphere of a nice fire place.

Once again, thank you for sharing you experience and we hope to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stay here frequently. This hotel is perfectly situated for tourist and business travel. Great location with tram access right out front and easy walk to great food and attractions. Nice staff, very comfortable, clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

As you mention the location of the hotel is situated perfectly for either leisure or business guests. This for the reason as it is located close to public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. We hope to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the future!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.