We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional, keen to help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, professional, keen to help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I mistakenly booked the other Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam and after arriving from 40 hours of travelling was more than dismayed to discover my mistake. As our stay was dependent on location we asked to swap bookings despite having paid in advance for the other hotel. Eva (I think!?), on reception, bent over backwards to cover my error and so save me being hung by my partner! Eva was not only able to have reversed our payment to the other hotel (Thanks also to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for graciously refunding our payment) and find us a room, but also was kind enough to upgrade us to a larger suite. The room was spacious with a small but modern and spotless bathroom. The bed was HUGE! During our 4 day stay we found all the staff to be very friendly, always a wave and a smile as we passed through reception and the concierge happy to point a couple of tourists in the right direction. One of the common areas was well set up to watch TV communally which is a great opportunity to meet new people, particularly in our case with Wimbledon on and a few fellow Aussies to help cheer on our players. Overall a wonderful stay helped greatly by the staff on reception.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that we were able to switch your reservation to our hotel and that you enjoyed the provided upgrade!
Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that all the staff you encountered was friendly and willing to assist you.

It is also a pleasure to read that you made use of our lobby-connect. This is a perfect place where you can settle down after a day in the city of after a busy working day to just relax with the atmosphere of a nice fire place.

Once again, thank you for sharing you experience and we hope to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    670
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
179
766
123
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stay here frequently. This hotel is perfectly situated for tourist and business travel. Great location with tram access right out front and easy walk to great food and attractions. Nice staff, very comfortable, clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

As you mention the location of the hotel is situated perfectly for either leisure or business guests. This for the reason as it is located close to public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. We hope to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the future!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've stayed here on two different occasions: recently on a buddy trip and a few years ago with my wife. Both times I was impressed by this property, and the excellent service you get here. Rooms are very well outfitted and comfortable - good workspace and internet (free if you join the IHG Priority club), excellent and complete toiletries, nice beds and climate control. Furthermore you cannot ask for a more convenient location. The room isn't cheap, but it is a good comparative value for a nice property right by the main train station and main tram lines, plus an easy walk to the Dam. Front desk, valet and concierge services here are beyond helpful, they will really take care of you. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that this was your second visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you impressed during both visits!

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated all the facilities and the comfortableness of the room. As you mention the location is also very convenient as it is located close the Central Railway station of Amsterdam which provides direct trains the airport Amsterdam Schiphol. The hotel is also located close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I spent one weekend in July together with a friend. The hotel has a very good location, close to the train station and also to the city center. When I booked the room I had some specific requests and they were fully taken care by the hotel. We got a twin bed room in a quiet part of the hotel; the room was spacious and very clean, the beds were very comfortable and the ‘sleeping kit’ provided was much appreciated. There were coffee and tea facilities in the room as well as a complimentary bottle of water. As I’m an Elite member of the Priority Club I enjoyed a quick check-in and a complimentary voucher for drinks, as well as a 15% discount on food and drinks. We had dinner in the hotel after our (late) arrival, the food was not bad (just salads) and the price was very reasonable. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the breakfast, which was of very poor quality yet pricey (25 Euro). If I would suggest an area for improvement, that’s the quality of the food, especially the breakfast. The service in the hotel was efficient and the staff was friendly and helpful. Crowne Plaza is not a fancy hotel but is very reliable and provides good quality services. I will definitely choose it again for my next trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the side street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Director at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that you are a loyal member of our IHG Rewards Club.
As you mention as a member of our loyalty programme you receive several benefits staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed these!

However I am sorry to read that you were disappointed concerning the breakfast experience. Thank you for this feedback, this is of great value to us as this gives us the opportunity to improve and monitor our services.

On the other hand it is great to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza as being a reliable hotel with good quality service. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a long birthday weekend at the Crown Plaza. It's a great hotel in a very good location within walking distance of the main train station in Amsterdam.Its also on the tram route (2 or5) to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. We had a club room which was well maintained and comfortable. The staff on reception are exceptionally nice and very helpful. One of the best Crown Plazas we've stayed in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that you chose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to celebrate your birthday weekend in!

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club rooms and for complimenting our Front Desk agents with their nice and helpful service delivery.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment that this is one of the best Crowne Plaza’s you stayed in! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back during a future visit to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engalnd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its location just an easy five minute walk from the station and by the team stops for the museum area which is a little further to walk. It offers all the comfort and facilities expected of this chain and after a long day sightseeing the calm restaurant provides an enjoyable meal although there are many eating places nearby. Despite its central location our room was quiet and we awoke refreshed. Breakfast appears quite expensive but is excellent in quality and choice. Of particular mention was the staff who were really welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that you chose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of its location. I agree with you in saying that the location is very central and close to public transport stops that will take you to all the places you can visit in Amsterdam!

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the quietness of the room and enjoyed breakfast in our New Dorrius bar and restaurant. It is also great to read that all the staff you encountered was really welcoming and friendly, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during a future visit to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in early July. Overall, the stay was excellent.
As everyone has written, the location is excellent. You can walk from Central Station, even if you have a lot of luggage. It's literally a 5-7 minute walk.
The hotel is in a great location, near a tram stop and walkable to lots of restaurants and shops.
When I first arrived I had just lost my passport (!) and they were very friendly and even gave me an upgrade.
Overall the staff were very friendly and courteous.
The rooms were well appointed and a good comfortable size. Although this is a chain the building has character -- does not feel like you are in another chain hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that read that you classify your overall stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being excellent!

I am sorry to read you lost your passport upon arrival I hope you were able to trace it back! It is a pleasure to read that we were able to assist you with an upgrade and that you classify the staff as being friendly and courteous, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.