We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of old Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of old Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very decent hotel for the price and location compared to everything else I looked at. If you can request a room with a balcony (all on the 6th floor) so much quieter at night. The tram's go right by the front for convienience and you do hear them, but not too bad.
Walking distance to Central Station, so convienient coming from the airport by train.
I'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone I knew.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor if you can, and with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay because of the convenient location of our hotel. It is also a pleasure to read that you recommend our hotel and mention you will return. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    635
    99
    36
    21
See reviews for
170
713
121
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Even though i gave the hotel five stars, i would prefer to give it 4.5. The service by the staff from start to finish i can only say was outstanding, without fault. Special mention to Guillardo ( i hope i spelt it correctly) at check in and head concierge Johann, who were both quite simple outstanding in their service. A few small things that make the difference between very good and great however were that the towels and floor mat in the ensuite have seen better days. The minibar was only have stocked. The view was not great from the executive room on the fourth floor. That said however the in room dining came hot to the room which is not very common these days. I was greeted accordingly as a Platinum elite member of the IHG rewards club at check in and bid adieu the same at check out. I would highly recommend this hotel for the service alone and if the small things don't bother you that much you will throughly be glad you stayed here. Rates can be bit expensive at times but the location less than five minutes walk from the central train station you expect that i suppose.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for room looking out the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that the service by our staff from start to finish was outstanding. It is also a great pleasure to read that you are one of our loyal IHG Rewards Club members and experienced the benefits of a Platinum Elite member.

I apologize for the minibar not being fully stocked. We looked in to the current situation of the checking of our minibars and have adapted our procedure immediately to make sure all our minibars will be fully stocked at all times.

Furthermore I would like to inform you that we are currently busy looking into options for new linen replacement to make sure all our towels and linen are comfortable and provide a good quality.

It is wonderful to read that you highly recommend our hotel looking at the provided service. We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I had 4 days in Amsterdam for the first trip without our son, who was in Barcelona. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful with museum tickets, restaurant recommendations, directions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your 4-day city trip in! Furtermore it is wonderful to read that you comment that all the staff you encountered was friendly and helpful by means of assisting you with restaurant recommendations and tickets. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do!

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Right opposite the Central Station (Train). 20 mins by train to the airport which costs about 3.50 Euros one way.

Lovely, clean and very welcoming hotel.

We had a nice modern room and with a really comfortable bed.

Recommend a stay here if you like your creature comforts and ideal as a central hotel in smoky Amsterdam! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

The location of the hotel is indeed right opposite the Central Railway station of Amsterdam where direct trains take you the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you back during a future visit to Amsterdam!

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is a good hotel in a very convenient location near a variety of attractions. Everything is your doorstep. It is very easily accessible from the central train station – only a 5 minute walk and extremely easy to find.
The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very courteous and willing to help, especially their concierge service that helped us make arrangements for the various tours and museums.
The only drawback is the charge for the wifi in the rooms at 20 euros per day.

Apart from that, we were very satisfied with the hotel, which to me represents good value for money and good solid choice for business and tourist travelling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you comment our hotel as being a good solid choice for business and leisure travelling and also that you found the hotel to be of good value for your money.

I am sorry to read about the drawback concerning WiFi however I would like to inform you that all our IHG Rewards Club members receive complimentary internet. Enrolment for this program is free of charge and can be arranged directly at our hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you liked the location of the hotel because of it's situation in the area of various attractions and because it is within walking distance of the central railway station.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location, wonderful people, and the rooms are comfortable and with all the necesseties. Just step out the back door and you are on the main strip where it is buzzing with bars, restaurants, ships leading down to the main square. The folks here will go out of their way to get you on your way!! It is the ideal hotel for quality, comfort and LOCATION. You will save a lot of time, money and energy being in the heart of where it all is. The train station, canal is just round the corner for you to make plans and get about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our comfortable rooms.

I agree with you in saying that the hotel is a great location. As you mention Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within the area of many nice restaurants, bars and the shopping street. Also the train station is within walking distance as well as the start for canal tours!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

From the moment we checked in we were impressed with the Crown Plaza and knew we picked the right hotel. At the front desk, Michael J. checked us in and he was incredibly helpful! Beyond a warm greeting after a long day of travel, he also went into great length highlighting places on a map (and a route) to visit during our stay.
We really enjoyed our visit and highly recommend this hotel! The rooms are beautiful, modern and clean and the hotel is in a perfect location. Under a 10 minute walk to Centraal Station and in walking distance to virtually anything else you would want to visit in the city. We would definitely return to this hotel next time we are in Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful that as from the check in we were able to impress you! It is also wonderful to read that you experienced to check in as a warm and welcoming beginning of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you highly recommend our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you liked our modern rooms and appreciated the cleanliness of these. I also agree with you in saying that this hotel has a perfect location. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the central railway station and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

It is wonderful to read that you will definitely return to our hotel, The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.