We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, professional staff and great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top location, professional staff and great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel for 3 nights. We booked a queen bed room in advance with breakfast. When we arrived outside of the hotel with many luggages, a concierge rushed out into the rain and helped us to carry them. We also received a warm welcome from the front desk staff, Hilletie. Her genuine smile from heart eased the tiredness occasioned by the flight. She thanked us for being loyal as priority members and upgraded us to a king bed room. The room was not huge, but big enough for a comfortable stay. It faces the street, but with good sound proofing, I hardly heard any noise from the street. The hotel has recently been renovated, so the room was modern, well functioning and tastefully designed with photos of Amsterdam hanging on the walls. I was pleased to find a Nespresso coffee machine with capsules on the bench with complimentary Crowne Plaza chocolate. This made me feel very much at home.

The bathroom was also spotless. It is cleverly designed to make the room more spacious.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. It had freshly pressed orange juice and other fruit juices,. plenty of tasty hot box food, plus a lot of cold dishes: cheese, fruit salad as well as bananas, apples and grapes, etc. The new Dorrium restaurant has delicious Dutch meals with reasonable prices.

As for the location, many reviewers have already mentioned that it is very conveniently located, with many restaurants and souvenir shops across the street including a supermarket. In a few minutes' walk, you can reach the Central Station, which is the terminal for many trams and buses. Several trams and buses stop at the front of the hotel also. Within a few minutes' walk, you can be at the "Red Light District" and the Old Town.

The staff there from the front desk, housekeepers to concierges (bell boys) were all friendly, cordial and professional. The front desk staff Silvie advised us how to make the best of our time during our visit to Amsterdam. She would ask us how was the day went when we came back to the hotel. Thank you Silvie. The concierge staff were willing to help and also provided us a lot of information. We bought from them 24 hour tram tickets costing only Euro 7.50 each. We took our first ride at 3pm that day and used it again the following day until 3 p.m. We bought cruise tickets from the concierge, cheaper than at the ticket office. We enjoyed the canal cruise.

We had a very pleasant stay at the Crowne Plaza. We would highly recommend to anyone to stay there when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing and sharing your extensive comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your 2-day city trip in.

It is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our concierges and felt really welcomed by our front desk agents.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you stayed in one of our Club Rooms. Indeed all our Club Rooms are equipped with a Nespresso machine, Rituals bath amenities, a mini-bar, flat screen interactive television, a comfortable bed and indeed sockets for almost all plugs standard based in the room. It is also wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

It is wonderful to read that you highly recommend our hotel. We hope to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    798
    136
    41
    22
See reviews for
230
932
145
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Our experience from check in to check out could not have been better. The staff took care of our every need. When I asked for a doctor reference, they not only put me in touch with the doctor but also sent a fruit bow to our room with a note to feel better. The room is newly decorated and very comfortable. I rank this hotel as high as any 5 star+ hotel I have stayed in

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your 5-day city trip in.

Furthermore it is definitely a pleasure to read that our staff was able to fulfil all of your needs and that the overall experience, from the check in until the check out was a pleasant one for you.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. We are hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam might not be the poshest hotel in town and it might not have the grandest rooms but if you consider all relevant factors, it is without doubt the best hotel in town.

Location: This hotel has the best location of any hotel in Amsterdam. It is a 3 minute walk from central station and on 'the right side', i.e. where there are less tourists, nicer shops and restaurants and where it is generally more quiet. Additionally there is a tram stop and a parking garage just outside the front door.

Rooms: The rooms are a decent size and many have extra space near the window owing to the angled nature of the building which creates a sort of triangular shape. On the top floor there is a lovely terrace with great views.

Service: The service is impecable, friendly and attentive but at the same time low-key. No one bugs you unless you ask. All staff we dealt with were very helpful. We should particularly mention Michael from reception who was fantastic.

Food: The hotel has a nice restaurant with great breakfast and also a very nice lounge area where you can have a drink, wait for friends etc.

Value: This is not the cheapest Crown Plaza around but it is consistently 20-30% cheaper than comparable 4* hotels in Amsterdam. Overall it is very good value for what is otherwise a pretty expensive town, hotel wise.

Others: The hotel is very accommodating when it comes to leaving your luggage for a few hours, either because you arrive early or are leaving late. Everything is well organised. The only drawback people might see is that the internet costs a pretty hefty 20 EUR per day.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing and sharing your extensive experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you classify our hotel as being one of the best in town. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient.
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars.

It is wonderful that you experienced the service in our hotel as being impeccable. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast served in our New-Dorrius bar and restaurant and also made use of our lobby connect which is equipped with a fireplace.

I would like to inform you that we are currently looking in the possibility to offer the internet on a different price in the future, currently the use of internet is free of charge for our Gold and Platinum members, base members receive a 25% discount. I can already confirm that as from July 1st the internet will be free of charge for all our base, gold and platinum members.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and the location is fantastic.

Rooms are small but comfortable.

Very strange that you need to call the reception for your complimentary bathroom toiletries, I would expect this to be already in the room and for a 4+ star hotel I would even say that it's expected. Had to call the reception multiple times also before they came to deliver so not impressed with the service.

Internet is super expensive at 20euros for 24 hours. I have stayed at hotels all over Europe and Asia and for Crown, would expect this to be complimentary, especially in this day and age!

Overall a disappointing experience, only the great location of the hotel makes up for it slightly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel. however I am sorry to read that your stay was not to you full satisfaction.

I would like te explain to you that complimentary toiletries (shampoo, lotion, showergel) are available in your room however it is correct that we offer you additional toiletries as toothpaste, toothbrushes etc. via our Instant Service button. I do apologize that this was not delivered to your room immediately and we are currently researching what the reason for this was as we do strive for high quality serivce delivery.

The wireless internet is complimentary for our Gold and Platinum Elite members, also when booking a Club room the wireless internet is included. We offer a 25% discount on the internet for our Base members. I would also like to inform you that as from January 2014 the internet for all our base, gold and platinum members will be free of charge. Enrollment for our priority club is free of charge and can be arranged in the hotel directly.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We are always willing to learn and appreciate your feedback. We do hope that we may welcome you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

City Centre Crowne Plaza is located in a prime place for touring Amsterdam. Only a couple of minutes walk from the central station, so arrival from the airport for example is a breeze. It's a convenient base for your city-based holiday since everything is basically within a walking distance. It's clearly mainly a hotel for business people but due to the location it's very good for holidaymakers too.

Reservation was easy&fast (via email) and we ended up getting a good rate for the Club Room for our very last-minute travel. We arrived at about midday and our room was already available at that time which was excellent! Check-in was a breeze, and so was the check-out later on when we left - absolutely no hassle (or queues) at all.

The room itself wasn't anything special. It's was regular-sized two person room with a queen bed. But on the other hand, nothing more was required. It also had a Nespresso pod coffee maker which was great. Room was tidy and everything worked, and safety box was big enough for a laptop too. However minibar did not have any space at all for personal items, which I consider a big minus since a small personal space (0,5ltr bottle or so) is usually standard (it's also one of those annoying automatic minibars). Also I dislike that all hallways and rooms had a full floor fitted carpet. Allright, it's the American style and comes with (also) this chain of hotels but the fact is that no matter how well you clean it, the carpets will gather dust and you can smell and feel it. I'm not allergic or sensitive in that sense but my nose noticed the carpeting quite quickly (but nothing major, or not a huge problem, just that hotels could start to move away from these "1970s style" carpet floors already) ...

Basic things for a hotel room; good bed & dark and quiet room with controllable temperature; were all present here. It was a good night's sleep on all nights. The rooms really do not have any views to speak of, you either see the street or the backyard (which is what we had). I would guess the streetside rooms would have some street noise (trams etc) but our room was basically completely quiet when considering any possible outside noise.

If you have a Club room you are also entitled for the Club lounge access. They provide free drinks and some snacks around the day, but the lounge's offerings aren't anything special compared to a few other similar lounges (of competing hotel chains). The snacks where rather small in selection and quantity, and the drinks section's biggest problem was that refills were too rare (very often found that there was only a small bit left in the wine bottle when arriving to lounge and nobody to change it for a long time). But still it was a nice place to sit for a while and have a few drinks before moving on. If you are considering of paying extra for the club room just for the lounge access, you may wish to consider a bit. The lounge is open till 23.00 and I noticed that the staff is very keen to get people out of the lounge even up to half an hour before it actually closes (they didn't actually say that, but I got the hint...), as they wish to set up tables for breakfast next morning - why not simply do that when everyone has left ..... Other than this remark the staff was friendly all around.

Breakfast was the standard American style buffet, nothing more and nothing less. This suites generally everyone I would feel and I have no special comments or complaints of that either - standard stuff. Club room guests can have the breakfast at the lounge too if they wish but we opted to go to the actual restaurant every morning as I understood the selection is bigger there (why?). Breakfast was not crowded on any day even though the restaurant is not that big. A big plus is that the breakfast ends at 11am (or 11.30am on weekends) which is an hour longer than most hotels provide. Breakfast is not included to the standard room's price from what I understood and its regular price is 25 eur per person per night, which is definitely not worth it. There are loads of cafes around the hotel who sell breakfasts from around 6 euros upwards. (for us the bf was included though, but just something to consider when booking)

Another thing to note is that their internet connectivity is provided by a third party (iBahn) and it is ridiculously expensive ripoff if it is not included in your room rate or if you are not their Priority Club member (in which case the internet is free for all their members from 2014 and for premium members from July 2013). 20 eur per day (per device?) for the net connection is simply too much by any standard, even if your employer would pay for this. For our stay the connectivity did not cost anything (but still had to select the paid option, which then was cleared and not billed at checkout), and the connection itself was stable and also very-very fast (even for online movie streaming). But again something to consider when making a booking - free wifi must be a standard these days already, for a business oriented hotel especially...

Overall I am happy with the stay. Everything was at the "quality business hotel" standard to which I am used to when staying abroad for work, and now for this trip for holiday it was "a-ok" too, and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. Benefits of these rooms are that they have a Nespresso machine in the room, complimentary Rituals bath products and more benefits! Also Club Lounge access is included which is the place where you can enjoy breakfast in the morning and during the day you can enjoy complimentary drinks and snacks up to 11pm.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located close to the Central Railway station where trains to Schiphol leave every ten minutes. Also a tram stop is right in accros the street of the hotel, which makes this place a great base to explore the city of Amsterdam.

It is correct that our internet provider is Ibahn, for your stay as Club Room guest the internet was included. I would like to inform you that for all our Gold and Platinum members the internet is already complimentary. For our base members we offer a 25% discount. As from the January 2014 internet for all our base, gold and platinum members will be free of charge.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to our hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ok so this hotel is the real reason i decided to write a review on Tripadvisor. This hotel is in the perfect location as its right in the mox of things. everything you need/want is right by your doorstep. upon our arrival to the hotel i was recognised as a Priority club member and i was given a coplimentary upgrade which was unexpected but very nice, but the free things does not stop there. I was given a voucher to redeem four free drinks for myself and my friends in the bar. This place was great the price was great, the location was great the room was great everything, would definatly be returning if i do go back to amsterdam, which looks likely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to the fullest.

It is a pleasure that you liked your room and especially that you feld recognized by all the benefits you received being a priority club member. It is great that you appreciated the upgrade and the free drink voucher syou and your friends which you used in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar.

It is great to read that you will back to our hotel returning to Amsterdam, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have been staying regularly at the Crowne Plaza, Amsterdam Central. Its location is fabulous, right in the heart of the city and the staff are very friendly, polite & cordial. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The only drawback is that for a hotel of that repute, they must offer free WIFI Services to the guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is in the heart of the city of Amsterdam and close to many of Amsterdam's highlights and the public transport.

I would like to inform you that we are currently looking into options for offering the WiFi internet at a different price in the near future. As a Gold or Platinum Elite member of our priority club the internet is already free of charge, currently new members and base members receive a 25% discount on the wireless internet. As from the 1st of January the internet will be free of charge for all our Priority Club members.

I hope that these future plans will stimulate you in returning to our hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.