We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel but......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very expensive hotel. Better to reserve room on line through Expedia, it will be Cheaper.
Ask for free wifi and breakfast , it's at the receptionist discretion.
Lots of hotel around much cheaper. Rooms are very comfortable, roomy and clean. The only down side is the price.

Room Tip: Cheaper if reserved on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the size, the cleanliness and the comfortableness of our rooms.

However I am sorry to hear that you mention the downside of our hotel is the price as you consider this to be expensive. For your next trip I would like to advise you to book directly via our IHG website to receive the lowest rates. Every hotel reservation booked through an IHG web site is guaranteed to have the lowest room price (room rate) or total room cost (including all taxes and fees) publicly available on the internet or IHG will provide the first night’s room price free and match the lower average nightly room price found for that stay for the rest of the nights of that stay
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    657
    106
    36
    22
See reviews for
176
747
123
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two of our four day stay after being bumped for two days from the Movenpick by the Dutch Royal Family.(29th & 30th April)
Staff could not have been accomodating. Nothing was too much of a problem. Beautiful rooms and so big with huge beds. Breakfast had everything you could want and more, except toast?
Very Central, well insulated from noise, and great additional facilities.
Sorry that we had to move after the two days ,would have prefered to stay on.
WELL DONE CROWNE PLAZA we will return.

Room Tip: Room 339 Two Queen sized beds and so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you celebrated Queensday staying in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
It is also a pleasure to read that you mention that the staff could not have been more accommodating and nothing was too much. It is always good to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet served in our restaurant New-Dorrius. By enjoying this breakfast you will definitely have a good start of the day. We do offer toast, this will be especially prepared in the kitchen by our breakfast chef!

It is a great pleasure that you mention that you will return. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rooms are spacious, luxurious and spotless! The staff are all friendly and professional.
The location is excellent and handy for Centraal Station.
The buffet style breakfast was rather expensive for what was available.
Overall I loved this hotel despite the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you found our rooms to be spacious, luxurious and spotless. It is also a pleasure to read that the staff you encountered was friendly and professional. It is always good to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars.

I am sorry to read that you found our American breakfast buffet expensive, We offer a large american breakfast buffet, it contains: warm dishes, cold dishes, cereals, juices, a la carte eggs, pancakes, oatmeal. We are currently busy improving our breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was maybe a bit smaller than expected. Atmosphere was really nice, and the staff was really nice. I would have given this hotel full score if the breakfast-area went a bit smoother. I had to wait for fish over 5 minutes and it missed a more smiling staff. Maybe they were tired of demanding customers? I heard one very tall american customer that really behaved childish one day so I really feel for them but that shouldn't affect their attention to others :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you really liked the staff and the atmosphere of the hotel. However I am sorry to read that your breakfast experience was not optimal. It is always possible that there are demanding guests however everyone needs to be served just as good so this may not be an excuse for us. I apologize for that inconvenience and hope we can show you our level of good quality service during your next stay.

Thank you very much for your comment, as these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Been in Amsterdam on Queens day, stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is in good location, close by to everything and easy to reach. One of the reasons to book this hotel was lockable by concierge parking as we traveled on bikes.
Rooms is clean and good enough. Sauna beat strange, but is should be strange in Amsterdam :)
Brakfast is so-so, good but without lot of choices.
Anyway, can recommend this hotel to everyone, especially traveling on bikes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-day trip including Queensday!

It is indeed correct that we dispose over a private parking in which we can store bicycles and cars without anyone else accessing these.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars.

I am sorry to read that you comment the breakfast as being so-so. It is not quiet clear to me which breakfast you enjoyed as we offer continental breakfast as well as full American buffet.

I also noticed that you grated us with three out of five balls on Tripadvisor, I would like to verify what we can do to match fully to your expectations. Please be so kind to contact me directly via Maurice.janssen@ihg.com.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked our Club Room prior to the new King investiture announcement. The city was busy, but the location is very handy, just 5 min walk across the road from the Main Train Station. All staff are very respectful and helpful. Samantha at the Reception is exceptional, full of information and nothing is a problem. We will recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will recommend our hotel.
It is also a pleasure that you mention that all the staff was respectful and helpful. It is always good to hear when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is a great value for both business and leisure travelers. The location couldn't be better; a 5 minute walk from the Centraal Station where you can catch a train to just about anywhere. Despite being in the middle of the city the rooms are very quiet. The windows have thick double paned glass so even the street facing rooms are quiet. The only thing I didn't like was the you can't open the windows. The rooms were roomy and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel but instead explored the many nearby restaurants. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
As you mention our hotel is of great value for both leisure and business travellers. For leisure guests the location is very convenient. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars. For business guests it is a central location and the hotel also offers 8 meeting rooms and is creating 4 additional meeting rooms.

It is correct that you mention that not all our windows can be opened; this is for security reasons as our hotel is located in the city centre.

It is wonderful to read that you liked our rooms and had a good sleep because of our comfortable beds.
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.