We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Amsterdam!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Welcome to Amsterdam!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel. It's within walking distance from Centraal Station (with suitcases) which was awesome, as Amsterdam taxi drivers can be kind of shady. The staff was amazing, super helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and pretty big by European standards. Perfect location for walking the city, restaurants and shopping everywhere. Will definitely stay again. The perfect welcome to Amsterdam!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you loved our hotel and that our staff was accommodating and helpful for you.

I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station. Also Amsterdam’s main highlights as Dam square, the Anne Frank house and the Red Light district are located within walking distance.

It is a great pleasure to read that you write that you will definitely stay with us again.
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    650
    103
    36
    21
See reviews for
176
730
123
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for a long week-end with friends and we loved it. Roomsize was good, bathrooms were goo, beds were just perfect... and then the breakfast! We loved it and willdefinitely come back another time. We walked everywhere and this hotel is very well situated for walking around in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you loved your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is also a pleasure to read that you liked our rooms especially the room size, the bathroom and the comfortable beds.

Furthermore it is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

It is a great pleasure to read that you write that you will definitely come back another time.
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world!
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay for a birthday weekend, made even more special by the wonderful staff. The location is excellent offering easy access from the station and close to all the city action: shopping areas, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. You can walk to most places in the city.
On arrival, a very helpful receptionist gave us a quick overview of the city attractions - also told us about a couple of museum closures, saving us time and recommended a couple of nice cafes. We stayed in a club room and on arrival we had bubbly and sweets in the room to mark our special occasion. Just wonderful! The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Just what we needed after long days of exploring. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is exiting to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as the place to celebrate your birthday in. It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the amenities we placed in your room for the reason that you were celebrating your birthday with us. We will always do our out best to make your stay as special as possible.

It is also wonderful to read that our team was able to give you good recommendations concerning the sightseeing spots, bars and restaurant and that for this reason, you classify the staff as being wonderful and helpful. It is always a pleasure to hear when staff is delivering the service they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen,
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My mother (mostly confined to a wheelchair) and I stayed here for 3 nights during Easter weekend. The staff could not have been nicer, especially Sylvie (who checked us in and even took us up to our room, all while refusing a tip) and Karl (who checked us out). Everyone was extremely efficient and helpful in every way. The room itself was great; we enjoyed the view of the pedestrian-only street below, the beds and amenities were comfortable, and the room very quiet. For those elderly visitors needing a bit of "help" in the bathroom, the room had bars for the toilet and shower, which clicked up and out of the way for me, but could easily be clicked down into place for my mother to use. This hotel was minutes from the train station, and there are a plethora of restaurants nearby (including the very good hotel restaurant, serving in-season Dutch food). I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your easter weekend in this year!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the benefit of our disabled rooms. We dispose over several disabled rooms in our hotel, which are larger rooms and are equipped with extra emergency systems to notify our security department immediately if issues occur.

As you mention the hotel is located within a few minutes walking distance of the central railway station. And also many nice restaurants and bars are located within the area of the hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that you will definitely return to our hotel.
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Marian Jones,
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's my second hotel in Amsterdam and I select this one to try an other location, honestly I prefer the location of my first one farther from the tourist streets but closer to museums. The location of this one isn't bad at all, far from it. All depends what you want to do. This is 2 min from the train station so easy for me after my train trip. There is couple little streets right next to it with typical souvenirs, fast food, clothing, bars and "other type" of stores. Also you are right next to one of the main tourist street right in from of the train station. The fact that you are next to the train station, give you the opportunity to be next to all tram lines and boat tours start. You are a 10 min from the biggest store of Amsterdam and the Red light district. These areas are the crowded and noisy ones but could be a start to the city visit. You are at approx 30-40 min walking to other key locations like main museums or historic location like, Anne Frank for example. This hotel could be expensive, especially that they charge for almost everything but if you take the club room you can take advantage of the lounge with very small snacks and drinks. Also the free internet and cheap breakfast. I had absolutely no view for my room but it was on the quiet side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a a quiet room, so you won't have tram or street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing and sharing your extensive comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. Indeed as you mention the benefits of these Club Rooms are; access to out Club Lounge in which drinks and snacks are served all day long. Starting the day by enjoying our American breakfast buffet served in our New-Dorrius bar and restaurant and complimentary wireless internet.

I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located close to the central railway station where all busses, trams and boat tours depart from.
Also many of Amsterdam’s highlights are located within walking distance of the hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was there for a meeting: they do a great job, meeting room was perfect, and they have a very effective and efficient organisation. All the staff is polite, helpful, smiling and effective, so great job!
I didn't like much my room: all the rooms have sealed window, bad choice, and the driest ever air system indoor made my throat soar... not confortable pillow as well, very small bathroom, but I was alone so was ok. Heard other colleagues got better rooms.Also breakfast buffet , well, it was ok for me I didn't have much time and don't need much, but poor choice for that level of hotel. Service was flawless instead.
Common areas nice and well mantained though floorplan is quite odd.
Location is ideal short walking distance from station where you get quickly from Schiphol with several frequent trains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your business trip. It is also a pleasure to read that you classify the meeting and staff as being effective, efficient and perfect.

However I am sorry to read that you did not like the room you stayed in. Not all rooms have sealed window, though many rooms do indeed. This is mainly for security reasons as our hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam.
The air system uses fresh air directly from outside, you can decide if you like to switch this system on or off to your own liking of course.

We recently updated our floor plans and would like to learn from you why you comment this as being odd.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we took the club rooms because of the facilities... free continental breakfast and throughout the day snacks and drinks available at the lounge, free wifi in the rooms and excellent city center location. walking distance to the shopping areas and the museums. rooms were spacious enough and bathrooms of reasonable size. nespresso machine was an added luxurious touch. the staff was friendly and helpful. we stayed there twice; at the beginning of our trip and on transit for one night on the way out of europe. the second time around we booked regular rooms as it was only for the night. the regular rooms were smaller and no benefits; and for those rates i would say that the value is not quite as good.

Room Tip: take the club rooms if you plan to stay more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the room size and the facilities of our Club Rooms. Indeed all our Club Rooms are equipped with a Nespresso machine, Rituals bath amenities, a mini-bar, flat screen interactive television, a comfortable bed and indeed sockets for almost all plugs standard equipped in the room.

As you mention when booking a Club Room benefits of these are access to the Club Lounge where drinks and snacks are served all day long. Another benefit is that you can enjoy the full American breakfast buffet in our New-Dorrius Restaurant and bar and make use of free wireless internet.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.