We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crowne Plaza Gets The "Crown"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The Crowne Plaza Gets The "Crown"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It had been four years since we had stayed at this hotel. WOW, what a difference!, Very eclectic modern lobby with a cool fire place in the lounge area, great comfortable chairs for relaxing.The staff are fantastic. Our room was 301 very quiet, on the end of the hall with a great view of the street. From this location, you can explore the whole city while walking. We were able to check in early, which is always a plus after traveling over the pond. We did have breakfast, it was included in our plan. Buffet style, but you could order eggs the way you prefer them. I always enjoyed this hotel, but I love it now! The only disappointment was that the rooftop was no longer open. Can't wait to go back and enjoy the great service,hospitality and comfy beds. Cheers!

Room Tip: 301 on the end of the hall with a great view of the street and it's quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is exiting to read that you noticed and compliment the refurbishment of the hotel. In 2009 the hotel was renovated and indeed lots of improvements were made. As you mention we have the lobby-connect now, this is a place to have small meetings or enjoy the setting with the fire place.

It is an honour to read that you enjoyed the service, the hospitality and the comfortable beds.
It is also wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive comment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    640
    101
    36
    21
See reviews for
173
720
121
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre for 2 nights earlier this week. The location was great. Earlier in the week we had stayed at a property next to Central Station, but this location was actually easier access from the station. It was also very convenient to get around.

The staff was very friendly. At check-in the agent gave us a map of the city and made sure we knew that they could get us tour tickets or train tickets if we needed them. He even checked on whether or not the Christmas Market was open (official Amsterdam website said it was, but it actually was not).

You have to use a room key to get the elevators to open from the lobby which I felt was a nice security feature.

Our room was clean, comfortable and modern. It faced the street where they were doing overnight work on the trolley tracks, but we had no noise issues.

We did not pay for Internet access--felt the price was steep and we didn't really need it. Contrary to an earlier review, it was possible to have tv without paying the Internet fee. There was an option to be able to pick shows to watch (sounded like pay per view, but for a flat fee for any shows/movies & Internet), but there were quite a few regular stations available without paying.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you certify the staff as being friendly and helpful. It is always a great pleasure to read that staff delivers the service they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is easy accessible. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the central railway station, 10 minutes away from Dam Square and the shopping street is located around the corner.

We do our out best in making sure that guest have a secure feeling. That is indeed why we use key cards to access the elevators, the business centre and the fitness and sauna areas.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive comment and for recommending our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Took the train from the Airport to station and a rive minute walk to the hotel. Got in early and were given our room immediately. The concierge was very helpful. Room is clean and well appointed. Would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you would consider a return visit.

Indeed the location is very convenient. From Schiphol Airport it will take you approximately 20 minutes to reach the hotel by using the train. The hotel is located within 5 minutes from the Central Railway station.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive comment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this property the night of November 3rd before getting on the Uniworld S.S. Antoinette. This hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station and very easy to find. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk anywhere within about 15 minutes. The lobby area is really nice and clean with the staff being extremely helpful and always courteous. The rooms were great and the beds were extremely comfortable. They even give you a nice lavender pillow mist to spray before bed. I didn't pay to have internet as I knew I wasn't going to need it, but I know it's about €28 per night. I think it's kind of high, but like I said, I didn't use it as I knew I would have internet on the ship the next day.

The breakfast buffet was included in my room price and was really good. It resembled an English breakfast.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone including my clients. It's a little pricier than others, but worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you compliment the staff as being extremely courteous and helpful. It is always good to hear that staff is delivering the service they do.

Indeed I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very central. The Central Railway station is within walking distance, the same counts for public transport and the main highlights of Amsterdam.

It is wonderful to read that you find our rooms comfortable and that you made use of the sleeping advantage kit. This kit is exclusively designed for Crowne Plaza hotels and includes a lavender spray and lavender oil for a relaxing and good night sleep.

Once again, thank you very much for your comment and for recommending our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall a very nice hotel to stay in. Very good location!! Nice staff! Early Check in! They keep your luggage all day for you after check out! They do charge quite a bit for the internet but it doesn't seem to be high speed. We weren't able to watch what we wanted. But we got our money back which was nice!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is also wonderful to read that our Concierge could assist you in storing your luggage after you’re checked out. This is indeed a service which we offer free of charge.

I agree with you in saying that the location is indeed very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance of all types of public transport, within reach of Amsterdam’s main highlights and the shopping centre.

We are hoping to welcome you back soon at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for 1 night. Our room was really nice although I find it a real cheek that you cannot watch the TV any channel at all unless you pay €28 which to me seems a complete rip-off when you have paid good money for your hotel room - it's not exactly a budget hotel!
That aside the room was clean and had all the facilities we needed for our stay.
Staff were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you liked the rooms and that the facilities were after your liking.

However I am sorry to read that you were not able to watch the television free of charge as we do offer this complimentary service. The amount you mention is for the package which includes internet and paid movies. The regular channels are of course free of charge. My apologies for this miscommunication as for this reason you might not enjoyed this complimentary service.

We are hoping to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Upgraded to an executive room ( platinum member with priority club). Nothing was to hard for them. In house WiFi ( Ibahn) doesn't like Mac.. so they brought a new router and put it in the room
Service was great. all the sights and shopping close by and easy access to the RAI center for the METS show ( 15 mins on tram)

Room Tip: we saw two rooms and all looked much the same. Up market and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the free upgrade to the executive room for being a Platinum member of our Priority Club. As Platinum there are more benefits which you experience during your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. These benefits exist of complimentary high speed internet, 50% discount on your breakfast, 25% discount on phone calls, 25% discount on valet parking, 15% discount in our New Dorrius bar and restaurant and the Herald Tribune delivered to your room on a daily basis.

Indeed the internet system we use in our hotel does not always cooperate with Apple products therefore we install an extra router in your room. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed this extra service and that you compliment our service as being great.

We are hoping to welcome you back soon at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.