We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All round excellence, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great location, less than 5 minutes walk from the Central Station where you arrive after the short train journey from Schipol airport. Worth upgrading to a deluxe room to have the access to the Members Only Club Room which offers not only snacks and drinks (included in the price and are always tasty and well presented) but internet access and two computers for guests' use too. With an upgraded room you also have a late check out of 2pm. Tour boats leave just around the corner from the hotel, trams close by and Dam Square a 5 minute stroll but the hotel is not on the main mad Damrak - it runs paralell and enjoys a much more peaceful location as a result whilst having superb access to all that is Amsterdam.
Staff are among the best we have come across. My son left his passport in the room which we didn't discover until check in at the airport. Quick call to the hotel and Gruno the security man had it sent to us in a taxi immediately - we made the plane in time. What a star, thank you. Jeroen looked after hot and cold breakfast in the main restaurant, nothing was too much trouble and brought to the table if you ordered toast etc. (A smaller cold buffet breakfast is also served in the Club Room if you prefer a bit of peace and quiet first thing) Beds good and comfy, rooms immaculate and airconditioned (you will need it in the summer when Amsterdam can hit 30C plus.) It's the people that make this hotel special, and they can remind a lot of more expensive places what customer service really means because they are so good at it. Look forward to our next trip to Amsterdam, will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Really worth upgrading to a Deluxe room for Club access - the benefits are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the raving review you left on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It is wonderful to read your highlights and you mentioning so many of my colleagues delivering the service they do.

I am happy to see that we were able to assist in the left behind passport situation in a manner where you were still able to make your flight.

You mention you look forward to your trip to Amsterdam, I must say so do we.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to assist you with any future bookings.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    684
    114
    39
    22
See reviews for
189
800
128
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location very close to everything. Most attractions are well within walking distance and it's handy for the train station. The rooms were very nice, clean and there was a nice bathtub.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor following your July trip to Amsterdam.

We are very happy you choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We appreciate you mentioning we are centrally located with very nice and clean rooms.

We look forward on your next trip to the Netherlands and hope you will choose us once again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Short walk to trolly stop that directly leads to Concertgebouw, Van Gogh art museum, Rembrandt museum and Rijksmuseum - and probably more but that's what we visited over 2 days and nights. 2-3 block walk to the central station with train and metro access (we took a taxi due to heavy luggage - you'll need to tip the driver because it's so close). Walking distance to canal tour operators.

The porter (not the right term I'm sure - he filled more of a Concierge role) took wonderful care of our luggate for half a day we were waiting for the room to be ready AND getting it into the cab - and he also arranged for concert tickets at the Concertgebouw. Terrifically good job.

Only reason for 4 vice 5 on the rating is that one morning we had no hot water for an hour. It would have been awkward if we'd needed to head out early but we didn't. The staff seemed mystefied - so I don't know if it's common or not.

Highly recommended for convenience and friendly staff. Room was 4 star but still a very nice stay at a great location.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but was still very quiet. NO problem with road/tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

The hotel is indeed centrally located near all main Amsterdam sites. Many thanks for commenting on our concierge team, It is very well appreciated you noticed their efforts to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay.

My sincere apologies for the fact there was no hot water the morning of your departure. Fortunately this was an isolated incident.

Looking forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was upgraded to a priority room on the top floor for being a member and on first look and arrival everything seems fine, the checking in staff was fine and friendly enough and the location of the hotel cannot be faulted.

The room itself was also nice with a roomy setup, pretty much standard for Crowne Plaza's the world over, but I had a problem with the bed setup with this one. I had asked for a King bed but what i found was 2 twins put together and it dipped severely in the middle where they were joined, this is not something that I would expect for a hotel of this standing and price.

I did not even complain as we were only there for 1 night but this had to be aired, but apart from the bed situation, it was nice enough and clean throughout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are always pleased to hear our guest's experiences and share them with travelcommunity.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the interaction with the staff and the location of the hotel. We are indeed centrally located and in the vicinity of Amsterdam's most attractive sights.

I am however sorry to hear you did not enjoy the comfort of our bed. The bed-type that you describe in your review is not very common in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your identity in a private message with me. During your next visit to our hotel please let us know right away if there is any discrepancy as it would have given us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is great if you need to be close to Amsterdam Central train station, Dam Square or the Red Light District. It was a 20 -30 minute walk to the exciting night life of Rembrandts Plein and Leidens Plein, Vondel Park, or the fantastic museums. The hotel’s interior is modern, spotless, well maintained, and the rooms we had, were spacious, very quiet with excellent air conditioning during 4 very hot days and nights!
Breakfast was ok, but at 25 Euro, perhaps a bit pricey for a bog standard breakfast. We were looking forward to some local breakfast food – herring or even kippers and poached eggs, but was disappointed in the standard sausage, beans, mushrooms, hash browns, scrambled and friend eggs and bacon. There are quite a few cafe's in the area that do the same breakfast for 6 to 7 Euro.
There is a small, well-equipped gym and sauna in the hotel.
As our rooms were available, we were allowed a 12:00 check-in, and the 14:00 check out was very convenient.
Staff were always friendly and approachable.
Like other European Holiday Inns, this hotels offer ‘upgrades’ to it long standing Platinum member in the form of an upgrade to a Priority Club room, which include 25% discount to the in-house bar and restaurant (with a scratch card to non-Priority members with the same discount(!); a free glass of house wine and free Wifi. I booked through the chain’s website, and paid, for the rooms in advance taking advantage of the ‘21-day saver discount’ – a booking that cannot be cancelled. When someone mentioned that these prices are not always cheaper, I checked and noticed that she was right! The same hotel, offered the same room, with breakfast, and with the ability to cancel. This was at a cheaper rate on their own website and Book.com. When I mentioned this to the hotel, and the guarantee that if one can find the same room at a cheaper price somewhere else, I was give 1001 reasons why I did not qualify for this guarantee – even that a large booking was cancelled and they had to fill the rooms . Eventually, after some emails and meeting with a manager, the lower price was honoured – but not the guarantee – stay the first night free… 10 year loyalty to this hotel chain is not worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid promotion or deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are very glad to see you enjoyed the beds at the hotel and had a comfortable nights sleep at our hotel.

Thank you also for allowing us the opportunity to explain the terms and conditions of the best price guarantee that IHG offers to its guest.

We look forward to your return trip to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I visited Amsterdam in February for a short break with my husband. We wanted to stay somewhere fairly central and chose the Crowne Plaza City Centre. The hotel is ideally located just a short walk from the train station. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very helpful man behind the front desk, who took the time to ask us what sort of things we wanted to see and then circled on the map places he suggested we would like. He showed us where we could go for good walks, and to experience more 'local' areas rather than just the main touristy parts, and we appreciated his advice.

The room was comfortable, all the amenities we wanted and nice decor. We were able to walk to most places we wanted to visit from the hotel, and get the canal boat from outside the train station to get to parts that were further away.

When we return to Amsterdam I would stay here again for its location, helpful staff and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,


Many thanks for sharing your comments about the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with the travelcommunity.

It is a pleasure to see you appreciated the check-in and the recommendations of the staff as to where to go in Amsterdam.

We look forward to welcome you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

it is a nice hotel and very close from central station and dam square.
sure will stay at this hotel again next visit.

the room has a standard 4star amenities and very nice decorated with wood and purple detailed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your review in Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are delighted you enjoyed the location and rooms of the property.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.