We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Next to the train station. Walking distance to all tourist sites in the city.
Friendly staff and luxury hotel.
Worth the money. Room was big and comfortable
I only stayed one day in Amsterdam but it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Amsterdam.

I am sorry to read you were here only 1 day to enjoy this beautiful city. The hotel is indeed centrally located which makes it a perfect venue to venture out into town during leisure or during the couple of hours one has after all day meetings.

We look forward welcoming you back, hopefully you will have some more time spend with us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    658
    106
    36
    22
See reviews for
176
747
123
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We found this hotel to be a good fit for our needs traveling as a couple. The room was lovely. The breakfasts were far more than adequate. Internet access worked well. Staff support and couresty was over the top execllent -- from check in, the phone requests to help from the concierge to book things we asked for, things we were considering, and things we asked for a recommendation on. The location seems like an excellent one to access many thing you might want as a tourist (tram, train station, canal tours, strolls through old town, and restaurant. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review following you recent travel to Amsterdam. I am delighted to read you found the hotel to be a good fit for your needs.

The hotel is indeed centrally located in Amsterdam and we are very proud of the product we are able to deliver to our guests.

Thank you as well for commenting on the staff support and courtesy. I will ensure to share your comments throughout the hotel.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights in July before a Baltic cruise. Despite a lot of rain, I would stay here again in a moment. Club room was great and worth the extra $$. Great location, very quiet, super staff. Concierge service was outstanding. A little pricey by US standards but not for Amsterdam. Close to everything. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as your pre-cruise hotel.

I am delighted to read your review on Tripadvisor and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments in regards to our staff and concierge team have been forwarded to them and they were very pleased to hear your feedback.

European Hotesl indeed are somewhat more expensive than US hotels but I am very happy you had a "great stay" and would recommend us.

Hopefully next time in Europe you will visit Amsterdam a bit longer.....

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just back from a long weekend in Amsterdam staying in the city centre Crowne Plaza. The hotel has a fantastic location in Amsterdam 300 metres from Central Station an right next to the main city centre.

I stayed in a club room, huge bed and a lovely room, views arent all that great from the rooms otherwise fine.

Had breakfast in the hotel, very extensive selection though expensive at 24 Euro each, but you can always sneak a few things for your lunch :-)

Didnt eat in the restaurant (see other restaurant reviews)

Staff were fantastic especially Samantha on reception on arrival, first class.

Also has a nice little gym to work off thise Stroopwaffles!

Running

I always like to review the running possibilities from my hotel reviews, difficult running from here due to the location, danger of being killed by Bike, moped, tram,. rickshaw, bus etc etc.

Area along the water behind the central station is OK, but still best away from the busy rush hour.

alternative is to make your way to Vondelpark where there are 3 set runs (1.5, 2.5 and 3.5 miles) without the bulk of the traffic (bikes still an issue!) The runs are mapped out on the wall next to the ASICS shop at the main entrance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your review on the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I am delighted to see your nice comments on the hotel and its staff. Samatha was very pleased to read your note about her.

The hotel is indeed centrally located and provides easy access to all the major Amsterdam sights.
As we are a City Centre location and the hotel is evenly high with the Neighbours the views are limited. The rooms facing the street have most views but one might experience somewhat more street noise.

Great to see you went running while in Amsterdam. I am sure our future guests appreciate your comments and running trail.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice hotel in a good location. Extra charges for wi-fi 20 Euro a night more a business hotel than a tourist hotel. Over priced and didn't feel like value for money just another hotel room. Will try some where else next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel.

Allthough the hotel does have meeting facilities and can host meeting and the business traveler we do receive many leisure guests as well.

Could you provide me with some more details as to how you perceive a City Centre tourist hotel? Please email me at maurice.janssen@ihg.com. I would be delighted to receive your email in order for us to see if we can improve our services offered to our guest.

Thanking you in advance.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is very well located for the city centre and the rooms and service are of a very high standard. The only downside was the club lounge which was vey disappointing when compared with other Crowne Plaza and Intercontinental lounges. I would definitely stay here again but would not pay extra for the club lounge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is indeed centrally located in the heart of Amsterdam with all major sights nearby.

From your review I understand that you found Our Clublounge disappointing. Could I ask you to give us some more detailed information of your experience by emailing: maurice.janssen@hotmail.com.

I look forward hearing from you as this enables us to improve our services.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I chose the amsterdam crowne plaza for our 2nd visit to amsterdam. The location cannot be beaten, a very pleasant and seamless journey from the airport, centraal station to checking in. Staff were absolutely impeccable, special thanks to rik who was very friendly and attentive; but all staff we encountered were exceptional and should be recognised. A benchmark for other hotels!!!!!!! We will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for qualifying us "perfect hotel, Best in Amsterdam"

I am delighted to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and gave big kuddo's to our staff. I have thanked Rik on your behalf and he was very pleased to hear your comments.

The team at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre really enjoys making our guests feel at home and it is very nice to see that this is noticed and valued by our guests.

I look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.