We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay for our group!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay for our group!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were a group of 4 celebrating my friends 50th. We felt like every member of staff knew us personally as the service we received was so personal and friendly. Check in staff and the bar staff were chatty and knowledgable. In particular, Emi and the lovely chap on the bar while we there, made it a special stay for us.
Breakfast was a generous selection of the usual items found in big hotel chains. Eggs to order were available too. 25 euros is a little steep but luckily ours was included in the room tariff.
We had a tasty meal in the Dorius restaurant also. Happy hour from 4-5 and 11-12 makes the 4 euro rose even more of a bargain.
My only niggle is the stuffy rooms and my group felt bunged up every morning. I think we fell victim to air conditioning though, not the hotels fault.
Overall, a wonderful stay in a fascinating city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear velued guest,


Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted you have choosen us to celebrate this special occasion.

We shared your comments with Emi and our bar staff. They were delighted you mentioned them in review.

Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar indeed services breakfast, lunch and dinner and is always open to have a drink. Come 4 o clock we are happy you enjoyed Happy Hour.

We are sorry to hear that you fell victim to the air-conditioning. The hotel indeed has automatic airflow and air-conditioning in the rooms. We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us in the future.

We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Maybe we can organize a little post party for you.

Kind Regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    798
    136
    41
    22
See reviews for
230
932
145
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed for one night, clean, newly refitted hotel with helpful staff, in a great central location will return again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear valued Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your stay with us and the travel community.

The hotel is indeed centrally located just steps away from Centraal Station which makes the hotel easily accessible by train from Amsterdam Shiphol airport.

Thank you for commenting on the staff and mentioning that the hotel is newly fitted.

We look forward welcoming you back soon to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

On a visit to Amsterdam on the 19th March to celebrate my 50th Birthday on the 21st March,
my wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel. I chose this particular hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor..I was NOT disappointed!!

Upon arrival, during the check in process we were asked to present our passports to verify our identity. The helpful and friendly young lady behind the desk noticed, without any
prompting that it was my birthday in a couple of days and asked if this was the reason for the trip? Yes I replied, as I signed the necessary form to release the key card and then off we went to our Superior non smoking room.
Our first impressions are that The Hotel looks and smells like new, The staff are warm and friendly. The room was well appointed and very clean, and the bed was crisp and comfortable. As for the location it could not be better. Only a stones throw away from Central station and just a few minutes walk from Dam square. Perfect!

The next day after a morning stroll, we returned to our room to find a birthday card had been left for me, along with a bottle of wine!! What a nice suprise!!
On our last day, after a good nights sleep, we checked out of the hotel at 12:00 noon on the 21st March and another member of staff presented me with a box of biscuits and wished me a Happy Birthday!! Unbelievable!! I love the Dutch!!
The whole experience of staying at this hotel was a pleasure from start to finish and they made me feel like a VIP on my special day!!

I would like to extend a Thank you to all the warm and friendly staff at the Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel in Amsterdam and look forward to seeing them again in the not too distant future..... WMP.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to make it a little more special on your birthday.

We are happy to read you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found them to smell fresh and clean. The hotel was fully renovated in 2009 and we do our utmost best to keep the facilities to its best. You mention the beds to be crisp. Our linens are part the sleep advantage programme a programme specially designed for Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts. Our quiet zones and sleep advantage kit is also part of this.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre thanks you for sharing your visit with the travel community and we hope to welcome you back soon, it not at least for your 51st birthday!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

I would not normally book a chain hotel however the choice of hotel was not down to me so our group of ten were booked in. The service of the reception staff and the concierge was spot on and the rooms were exceptionally clean and had everything you needed. I especially liked the sleep sound pack, a nice touch. The bar staff were a little hit and miss but overall they were helpful.

The location of the hotel was absolutely spot on, convenient for sightseeing and nightlife. We all thoroughly enjoyed Amsterdam and our stay.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We are very happy your group of 10 decided to book with us at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Thank you for posting your review following your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you for commenting on the reception and concierge staff. We are also very pleased to hear you enjoyed our Sleep Advantage kit and cleanliness of rooms.

We are however disappointed to read our restaurant staff was hit or miss. We would love to receive some more information as to your experience in our restaurant. Would you please be so kind to email us at maurice.janssen@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope that we were able to prove chain hotels are not that bad after all and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We only stopped here for two nights but were very impressed with the high level of service and rooms, its ideally located as its states on the web site, we had a car which we were able to park in their underground car park. the breakfast was wonderful with a great selection to keep anybody going. usual high standard crown plaza,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for recognizing us by writing your experience on Tripadivsor.

We are very happy to find the location of the hotel was to your benefit. Thank you also for commenting on several of the services of the hotel. Indeed the hotel has it's own garage. Our porters are more then happy to assist you in parking the car.

Breakfast buffet is indeed served in our New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar. A wide variety of cold cuts, eggs and bacon, breadrolls and breads, fruits yoghurt, condiments and pastries as well as hot and cold drinks are available to our guests. Please next time also join us for Lunch or dinner or even drinks in the bar.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here back in January 2012, and have been meaning to write a review. This hotel is located a stone's throw from Centraal Station, has tram stops all around, and it was never difficult to find a taxi if you prefer. It is also an easy, short walk to either of the RLD's, shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and Dam Square. The rooms were clean and modern. The staff was very helpful, and assisted me without delay the few times I had a need or question. Room service was fantastic.....food was great and service was fast. Overall, everything was fantastic, and I will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear valued Guest,


Thank you for taking to time to write your review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hotel is indeed located in the vicinity of the Amsterdam Central Station and most of the sights Amsterdam has to offer.

It is a pleasure to read you found our rooms to be clean and the staff to be efficient and friendly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre soon.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.