We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed but not excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Italy
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Very good indeed but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is a 4 stars hotel located in a strategic position in the heart of Amsterdam, just few hundreds meter far from Amsterdam Central railway station.
It provides the guests a very good services level.
The building has been recently refurbished, the lobby is made for business men, and it is possible to have meeting rooms available for all kind of meetings, Wi – fi is covering the whole building with a very good signal. The furniture’ style is minimal, everything is functional, stylish but it does not look like a “Rococo church” full of golden decorations and so on. Nevertheless in the rooms you will find all what you can desire from an hotel. First of all the room is perfectly clean and provided with all the comforts: 40 inches LCD TV, extremely comfort bed and pillows, a wide modern and functional bathroom, wardrobe with light inside, safety box, minibar, business desk , different type of sockets to plug electronic devices (AUS/NZL sockets included).
Rooms are wide, quiet and well equipped things that make the staying really comfortable, especially after an hard working day.
A cattle with a selection of Ceylon and Japanese organic tea, biscuits, instant coffee and chocolate, dark chocolate tablets, 500 ml of water are provided everyday free as room facilities. Executive floor and lounge available.
The staff is very professional and friendly, the room service is quick responding.
The breakfast is good, in any case they have to improve the selection of jams (only strawberry and orange taste available) such as the selection of cheese (we are in Holland!!!!) and ham. It is possible to have fried eggs, omelettes and crepes expressly made by a chef present in the breakfast room…which is the same location of the New Dorrius restaurant.
I checked out the New Dorrius again (business dinner) and I found out the same excellent level of cousine.
Internet, always available but…it is not acceptable to pay 6,95 Euro (1 hour) , and moreover it is impossible to stop and start again the connection session, or 19,94 Euro (one day) for the connection.
The “Health Club” is small but equipped with a good range of cardio fitness machines and also multi power machine for body building.
The sauna room is not in good maintenance conditions.
1) Thermometer out of order, signs always 40°.
2) It is impossible to poor water into the “aroma system” as the big wooden spoon is completely broken
3) The shower side jets are out of order.
The sauna room is perfectly clean, no problem under this profile.
This hotel has been created more as business Hotel than a “family hotel”, even if it is nice also to spend some vacations with the family in the Crowne Plaza. For that reason I find the internet policy quite stupid, as you find around the hotel some pubs which provide FREE INTERNET CONNECTION to all their customers. Considering the room rate it seems to be at least anachronistic.
In any case, considering the whole matter, the Crowne Plaza is a very good, modern, elegant, and efficient hotel, I suggest to book here more for business than for leisure time, but, of course this is my feeling.
To be an excellent hotel they have to improve breakfast, to think of a decent internet connection policy , and to repair the sauna room. I know these are details, but when are not staying in an Hostel details are the most important things…especially for a 4 stars hotel and up…

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and comment on various topics such as cleanliness of the room, friendliness of the staff and the hotels' location.

Thank you also for your comments captioning the fitness and sauna area, and the selection of cheeses and jams on our breakfast buffet. We have taken action on the various points you have mentioned in your review in order to continue to deliver the service guests come here to experience.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    649
    103
    36
    21
See reviews for
176
730
122
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I spent a two nights at Crowne Plaza and I have to say it was very good hotel. Everything I needed was close to the hotel and service was excellent.
Good food, good beer: do you need much more after work? It's in downtown so there is everything else you'd need.

Room Tip: My colleague said something about noise, but his room was on roadside of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

We are pleased to read you qualify the service as excellent and the food and beer as good. Did you know that as a guest you use our double Dutch offer order 2 drink for the price of 1 between the hours of 5PM to 6PM and 11 to 12PM.

We look forward welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar.

Kind Regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great hotel- excellent central location. My only negative comment was that breakfast was expensive- many places very near to eat at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the hotel quiet side...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
"Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive review concerning your recent visit to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are pleased to read you qualify us as a great hotel with an excellent location. Located in walking distance of Amsterdam Central station the hotel is located near most of Amsterdam City attractions like Dam Square and the Royal Palace, the Jordaan, Anne Frank Museum and Shopping district.

We are sorry to read that you find our breakfast ""expensive"". We do our best to deliver a diversity of products within our Full American breakfast buffet and egg station. The restaurant furthermore offers Dutch cuisine with an international twist for both lunch and dinner and is perfectly suited for a glass of wine after a full day programme.

Again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the near future.

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Me and my husbend stied in the hotel between 1/13 to 1/15
The hotel is located in a great location , 5 minutes from the centarl station
( take a train from the airport -4.30 ero)
the rooms are clean
brakefast is very good
and dinner is excellent
you better stay there
tammy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
"Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive review concerning your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is wonderful to read you have had such a great stay with us and that you describe our guest rooms to be clean.

We are glad to read that the central location of our hotel was helpful during travelling. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located near the Central Station with frequent connections to Schiphol Airport, our hotel could have great benefits for travellers.

It is delightful to learn that you have had such a great experience at our Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius and that you describe our breakfast to be very good and our dinner to be excellent. Come and join us also for a light lunch in the afternoon, a relaxing diner in the evening or simply a good glass of wine at the bar in New Dorrius.

Again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius. In the meantime, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is located not too far from the train station, and clean. After staying at a horrible hotel in paris, this hotel seemed like the Caesars palace.

At the entrance of the hotel we had to go through group of people cigg. and weed outside, and the smell was coming into the building.

The staffs were friendly and professional, only problem we had was we requested 2 queen room, but getting 1 queen & 1 twins. It wasn't that big of a deal though, after long traveling with my hubby, it was nice to sleep on my own bed and blanket!

I thought the breakfast were kind of pricey, because it was 25 euro per person. They had good selections of food but i still think it wasn't worth 25 euro.

Would I stay here again if I come back to Amsterdam? definitely, but I'd probably find some place else for breakfast & food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
"Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with us. It is with great pleasure to learn that you describe our team to be friendly and professional.

We are sorry to learn that we were not able to offer you the room that you originally booked. Therefore we would like to make our sincere apologies.

It also worries us to read your comments regarding the breakfast. With certain rates like a clubroom with access to our Club Lounge, breakfast and internet is already inclusive in the rate. These rooms also feature a coffeemaker and upgraded bathroom amenities as well access to our Club Lounge which gives you the opportunity to lunch and appetizers and complimentary drinks throughout the day.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Meanwhile, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Central location, room are big, nice and clean, staff is helpfull. Restaurant it is also very nice

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

Will be staying at the crowne plaza over valentines. Found it difficult to find THE hotel for us .As my main concern was to make this a great break away for us both since the birth of our first child. But going by all the great reviews of this hotel lately I can say we are both really looking forward to our sta

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear future guest,

It is with great pleasure to find you will be staying with us over Valentine's day. As we are aware how exciting yet difficult it can be to leave your newborn behind we want to make this stay as special and enjoyable as possible for you.

We look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Meanwhile, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.