We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near to Centraal Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near to Centraal Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stopped at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for three nights in early January.

Checkin was excellent, the reception staff were very friendly and acknowledged my priority club status by upgrading us to a Superior room (we also got vouchers for free drinks in the bar and some discount vouchers for the restaurant). The room was large (with a very large bed!), very comfortable and included the usual features associated with a hotel of this standard (Nespresso machine, flatscreen TV, workdesk, etc.). The TV had more english language channels than some hotels that we've stopped at in the UK!

The hotel is five minutes walk from the Centraal station and is within walking distance of all major sites in the city.

Positives:
- In the heart of the city centre. Near the main station (Centraal station).
- Very comfortable and modern rooms
- Excellent checkin and friendly staff
- Very good priority club upgrade

Negatives:
- None spring to mind!

Overall:
- A wonderful high end hotel in Amsterdam City Centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    636
    100
    36
    21
See reviews for
171
714
121
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here with family in 2 rooms for a couple of nights to recover and see sights of Amsterdam

Central location close to train station, and right in centre of city. Safe hotel in a safe area

Staff friendly, Rooms good. A good stay overall.

The contras were
* that although we booked 2 room, they were not together.
* I dont like combination shower/baths - to me they are a bit of a safety issue as I get older.
* WiFi not included in price. Everyone has at least one computer when they travel now.
* Breakfast seemed a bit steep - try to get it included in your rate.

Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for describing your experience at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is lovely to read that you have had a good stay with us and found our team to be friendly.

However, it worries us to read the downsides you describe in your review. First of all, we would like to make our apologies for not being able to offer you two rooms next to each other and for the inconvenience concerning the shower/bath combination.
With certain rates like a clubroom with access to our Club Lounge, internet is already inclusive in the rate. These rooms also feature a coffeemaker and upgraded bathroom amenities as well as access to our executive Club Lounge which gives you the opportunity to breakfast, lunch and appetizers and complimentary drinks throughout the day.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that we can look forward to welcome you again to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam in the very near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Good location, a quick walk from the train station. Albert Hein is also not too far. The room had tea and coffee and a small fridge. The service was excellent. Shopping areas and museums are all within walking distance. I also found several restaurants close to the hotel rated well on Trip Advisor. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience concerning your recent stay with us. We are proud to learn that you qualify our service to be ‘excellent’ and that you have had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are glad to read that you found several restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. During your next visit, we would like to invite you to our contemporary Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius. This stylish yet relaxed space offers an inspiring menu that includes Dutch classics and international favourites with an international twist.

Again, thank you very much for your great comments and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We thought we would try a trip away for new years eve. I am so pleased we choose Amsterdam and in particular this hotel. It has fantastic friendly staff who are the most helpful I have met. A large group of us had a meal in the new resturant on new years eve which was superb. The hotel has been modernised to a very high standard and is in an ideal location - just a few minutes across the road from the railway station. Despite its great central location we had a good nights sleep during our stay. Looking around at the other hotels in the area I would say this was the best all round.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It is truly a delight to read your review regarding your stay on New Years Eve at our hotel. We are very honoured to note that you find Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to be the best hotel in the area!

We are glad to read that you took note of our renovation in 2009 and that you find Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to be modernised to a high standard.

A result of this renovation is Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius, of which we are very proud. Therefore we are pleased to read that you joined us and describe your experience as ‘superb’.

Again, thank you for sharing your lovely comments with us. We look forward having the opportunity of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre on New Years Eve 2012 and hopefully sooner. Meanwhile, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed as a couple on New Year at this hotel, this is an excellent hotel, it is in the center of Amsterdam, 5mins walk to the Dam Platz, Central Station or Red Light Disctrict.

It is a very pleasant and welcoming Hotel.
The staff was very friendly and they give you detailed directions if you need, as to where to go or what to see, what is going on in the city etc.. It was nice of him, seeing that we were a young couple, he immediatly told us where the nightlife is going on and everything that could interest us.
The room was spacey and fully equipped, it was in the quiet wing, we never heard anything outside of our room. Nespresso machine, tea, hairdryer, iron table, everything you would need. Also it has a very comfortable king size bed, it looked modern and pretty new. The bathroom was nice aswell, equipped with a decent hairdryer that works properly.

As for room service, the staff was very nice and prompt. The beef burger and the steak were really good props to the chef for that.

The only downside i have with this hotel is the Valet Parking, the price is correct at 40€ per day, but when i got my car back i found a bag in the passenger front seat from a store i never visited (Leather club) ? And some fuel seemed to be missing but nothing much. So that makes me wonder..

Other than that i recommend this Hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Quiet Zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, this time it was a vacation for a change.
I am a platinum priority member (which is the Holiday inn/Crown Plaza/ Intercontinental club).
Usually I get access to Crown Plaza's lounges around the world, but not here... never mind...
I did get free internet access (which coasts almost 20 euro for 24 hours) and 50% off breakfast which I didn't use.
The room is very nice, modern and the bed was very comfortable.
I got a room on the 2nd floor facing the front street, just above the passing trams and as I am very sensitive to noise I was a afraid that the noise would bother me, but... nope...They have good noise isolation with double glassing and I could barely hear any noise.
The location is also very good - 5 minute walk from the central station and 7 minute walk from the Dam.
The staff at the reception were very kind and polite.
All in all it was a great stay and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your experience at our hotel. It is with pride to learn that you have had a great stay and would recommend Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are honoured to read that you are a Platinum member of our Priority Club Rewards of Intercontinental Hotels Group. It is true that being a member of the Priority Club Rewards generates great options. Besides complimentary internet, 50 % discount on breakfast, Platinum members also get a complimentary drink in our Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius and 20 % discount on parking.
Indeed, our luxurious Club Lounge gives exclusively access to guests who book a a Club Room.

It is lovely to read that you found our guest rooms to be comfortable with good noise isolation. We have thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers and aroma therapy on getting the best night’s sleep.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. In the meantime, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Super close to train station, room was nice. Nothing other than great location sticks out in my mind.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.