We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb service at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

Spent a lovely Saturday in Amsterdam which was 'crowned' by our stay at this hotel. We arrived early not expecting our superior room to be ready. We left our car with the valet (40 euro for 24 hours, which given the extortionate prices at the nearby bijenkorf car park is good value). Anyway to our pleasant surprise the kind gentleman behind the desk upgraded us to a club room. The room was in what would be the old part of the hotel and had character, exposed beams etc. Bed super comfy and thoughtful touches like pillow spray and rituals cosmetics were lovely. What really makes this hotel, aside from it's very central yet reasonably quiet location is the staff. From the charming Chinese lady who studies hotel management and brought us drinks, to the smiling concierge and the lovely Spanish woman who gave us a gift of tea on our check out, you can easily understand how this hotel won best crowne plaza in the world recently. Tastefully decorated too. Go.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We are honoured to learn your great review! Indeed, Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre won the award of ‘Best Crowne Plaza’ of the region Europe. Therefore we are delighted that we lived up to this prestigious award.

As customer care is one of our top priorities, we are pleased to learn that you fully experienced the excellent service of our team. Please be assured that we have shared your kind comments with the entire team.

We are glad to read that you have also enjoyed some of our other products such as aromatherapy as part of the ‘Sleep advantage program’ which will help our guests to unwind after a busy day.

Again, thank you very much for your nice words and we do hope having the pleasure of welcoming you again to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    667
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
178
763
123
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Easy to get to Hotel. Opposite the central station (across the road) 15 Mins from the airport
by train which are every 10 mins. We had a free upgrade with our Carlson card! The staff were very polite

and knowledgeable . The breakfast is too expensive 27 euro each. Go to a cafe, which is better value.


Amsterdam is easy to walk around (you need to watch out for the cyclists) we took a canal trip, which is just

in front of the hotel, you can buy an hop on hop off ticket for the day.


A good hotel, in a central location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your experience with our hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed the central location so much. With the Central Station only 5 minutes away, Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is easy to be reached by public transport. As you mentioned, every 10 minutes a train departs from Schiphol International Airport to the Central Station. This makes Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre also in good reach for International travellers.

Again thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We do hope having the opportunity of accommodating you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful Hotel in a great location. Walking distance from the train station (with luggage), amazingly welcoming staff who spoke perfect English (even though we speak Dutch as well). I was upgraded as I'm a PCR Gold Member. Room was so comfortable, great bed and a Nespresso Machine (was very welcome due to just arriving from Paris where they still haven't learnt to make coffee). I've stayed at many Crowne Plaza's, and this is one of the best. I would definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel. It is with pride to learn your great review.

We are also proud to learn that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the best Crowne Plaza you have ever been to. This year our hotel won the award of ‘Best Crowne Plaza’ of the region Europe. Therefore we are delighted that we could live up to this prestigious award.

We are honoured noting that you are a Priority Club Gold member of Intercontinental Hotels Group and that you enjoyed the free upgrade. Becoming a member of our Priority Club Rewards comes with many benefits, as extended check-outs until 2pm and you will receive a complimentary newspaper.

It is with great pleasure to learn that you would definitely book Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre again and therefore we look forward welcoming you back. In the meantime, if you require a any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Very nice modern hotel, very clean. Room are normal size, not too big but not too small. Location is great, less then two minutes walking from Central Station. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with us. It is wonderful to read that you describe our hotel as modern and very clean.

Indeed, the location is one of the great assets of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. As our hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam main attractions and the Central Station can be reached easily.

Again thank you for your review and we do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you again to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Very handy location 5 min walk from central train station and close to Dam square and other tourist destinations. Beautiful modern room with exposed beams, espresso maker and very nicely finished bathroom. Room was a little dark however. Ate two meals in the restaurant and was not disappointed. Free wifi due to our platinum status with priority club. would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive review concerning your stay at our hotel. We are honoured to note that you would definitely stay again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It was lovely to read that you are a Platinum Member of our Priority Club and that you have experienced the benefits of the Priority Club such as complimentary internet and upgraded room amenities at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Again thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with us and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Really nice hotel and great location, however is you belong to Priority Club reward programs skip this hotel. They dont give upgrades to a club lounge.

Room Tip: stay at Starwood hotels if you have status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and sharing your experience with us.

We regret to learn your feedback concerning our Priority Club Rewards. Please be assured that we are always aiming to give upgrades to our members of the Priority Club.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We do hope that on your future visits to Amsterdam you will provide us the opportunity and pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Convenient location,thermostat control,and well mailtained,this is an excellent Amsterdam choice.Rooms are small but well appointed..recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are proud to learn that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is an excellent Amsterdam choice and that you would recommend us.

We look forward having the pleasure of accommodating you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.