We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful Hotel in a great location. Walking distance from the train station (with luggage), amazingly welcoming staff who spoke perfect English (even though we speak Dutch as well). I was upgraded as I'm a PCR Gold Member. Room was so comfortable, great bed and a Nespresso Machine (was very welcome due to just arriving from Paris where they still haven't learnt to make coffee). I've stayed at many Crowne Plaza's, and this is one of the best. I would definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel. It is with pride to learn your great review.

We are also proud to learn that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the best Crowne Plaza you have ever been to. This year our hotel won the award of ‘Best Crowne Plaza’ of the region Europe. Therefore we are delighted that we could live up to this prestigious award.

We are honoured noting that you are a Priority Club Gold member of Intercontinental Hotels Group and that you enjoyed the free upgrade. Becoming a member of our Priority Club Rewards comes with many benefits, as extended check-outs until 2pm and you will receive a complimentary newspaper.

It is with great pleasure to learn that you would definitely book Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre again and therefore we look forward welcoming you back. In the meantime, if you require a any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    870
    605
    104
    38
    23
See reviews for
154
669
118
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Very nice modern hotel, very clean. Room are normal size, not too big but not too small. Location is great, less then two minutes walking from Central Station. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with us. It is wonderful to read that you describe our hotel as modern and very clean.

Indeed, the location is one of the great assets of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. As our hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam main attractions and the Central Station can be reached easily.

Again thank you for your review and we do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you again to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Very handy location 5 min walk from central train station and close to Dam square and other tourist destinations. Beautiful modern room with exposed beams, espresso maker and very nicely finished bathroom. Room was a little dark however. Ate two meals in the restaurant and was not disappointed. Free wifi due to our platinum status with priority club. would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive review concerning your stay at our hotel. We are honoured to note that you would definitely stay again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It was lovely to read that you are a Platinum Member of our Priority Club and that you have experienced the benefits of the Priority Club such as complimentary internet and upgraded room amenities at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Again thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with us and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Really nice hotel and great location, however is you belong to Priority Club reward programs skip this hotel. They dont give upgrades to a club lounge.

Room Tip: stay at Starwood hotels if you have status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and sharing your experience with us.

We regret to learn your feedback concerning our Priority Club Rewards. Please be assured that we are always aiming to give upgrades to our members of the Priority Club.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We do hope that on your future visits to Amsterdam you will provide us the opportunity and pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Convenient location,thermostat control,and well mailtained,this is an excellent Amsterdam choice.Rooms are small but well appointed..recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are proud to learn that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is an excellent Amsterdam choice and that you would recommend us.

We look forward having the pleasure of accommodating you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Where to begin? The beautiful [recently remodeled] rooms? The housekeepers? The friendly staff? The helpful concierge? The lounge area? The location? The restaurant? The rooms were clean and very comfortable, the sheets high quality, amenities in the bathroom--it seemed like a very high end boutique hotel. Okay, I did not get to the work out room, but heard that it was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is truly a delight to read your review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are very honoured that all the different areas of our hotel could live up your expectations!

Please be assured that we have shared your kind words with the entire team of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and they were very glad to hear your compliments.

Again, thank you very much for your great comments and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. In the meantime, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel is few steps from all attractions , they are very friendly and helpful staff and as priority club member they upgrade us to club room with benefit of 50% discount on breakfast and 25% on car parking, driving is very difficult in Amsterdam and best way is walking or take the tram or hire a bike .

You will find out many restaurants near by and the tram stop opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Club room was having big window overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for this positive review. We are pleased to read you are a member of our Priority Club Rewards.

Indeed, the area around the hotel offers many possibilities to lunch, dine or just to have a drink. During your next stay in Amsterdam we would like to invite you to visit our contemporary restaurant and bar 'New Dorrius'. Our stylish yet relaxed restaurant and bar offers an inspiring menu that includes Dutch classics and international favourites with a Dutch twist.

Again thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.