We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOUR CHOICE IN AMSTERDAM CENTRE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“YOUR CHOICE IN AMSTERDAM CENTRE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is my fourth trip to Amsterdam, and if you wish to stay in the Center of the City close to Centraal Station, and want a spacious room, comfortable bed, and modern hotel with excellent staff, then this is your hotel of choice. During my stay from Aug. 23-29, I had the pleasure of being in a Club Room, which is spacious, clean, comfortable, and includes a delightful breakfast . The staff is extremely professional and courteous, and shows their dedication to superior customer service. This was demonstrated in numerous ways-the provision of early check-in upon arrival, prompt delivery of an extension cord to the room, hassle-free extendion of my stay to accomodate a flight cancellation due to bad weather, an informative and friendly Concierge and Front Desk staff, and attentiveness by staff in the Club Room. Upon a return trip to Amsterdam, I would immedately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your detailed and enthusiastic review following your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are very proud that you have so many positive points within your review! It is lovely to hear that you would book our hotel again during your next trip to Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read you had a perfect stay in one of the Club Rooms which offers a number of advantages; there is an upgrade in amenities, internet is included and it gives access to the luxurious Club Lounge with its complimentary breakfast and refreshments, work stations and international newspapers and magazines. Therefore we are pleased to note you enjoyed the profits the Club Rooms offers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel. In the meantime if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    618
    99
    36
    20
See reviews for
161
692
121
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I am a Priority Club member which means I try to stay close to Holiday Inn brands.
It doesn't always serve me well but I have yet to be let down with a Crowne Plaza.
This hotel was no exception. The room / bathroom / foyer were all up to scratch, no problems at all.

the location is great. Close enough to walk from the main station and anywhere else in the Centre you may need to go.

The best part here were the staff....usually staff are only mentioned in terms of how they deal with problems. I had no problems here but was still bowled over by how friendly they were. We didn;t arrive until after midnight but the front desk was fully manned and the welcome and offer of maps/information etc. was as friendly as if it was midday.
Throughout the stay, the "good mornings" - smiles - friendly comments were perfectly pitched to not be patronising or irritating.

Maybe it's just Dutch hospitality but I found the people here just great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic review following your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted to read you had such a good stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to read you are a member of our Priority Club and that you are close to our different brands of the Intercontinental Hotels Group. We are honoured we had the opportunity to welcome you at our hotel.

It is very nice to learn that you experienced no problems and that the staff made such a good impression.

Again thank you very much for your positive comments and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Good location. Close to Central Station, so easy access to other areas. Close to the red light district if you're curious. Felt safe in the area. Staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Computers w/Internet in the business center. I booked this on points, so not sure of the $$ value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen to spend your reward night at our hotel and that you have enjoyed our comfortable rooms and the business centre. We are even more delighted to read that you found our colleagues to be friendly and that you felt safe during your entire stay!

Again thank you very much for your positive words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We we're only supposed to stay here two nights, but due to hurricane Irene, we arrived in AMS a day early. The hotel had no issues checking us in early, and at the lower rate we had originally booked. The rooms were good size and very clean. This hotel is no more than a five minute walk to the Central Station. There Is plenty of everything around this hotel. You're on the outside of the red light district, 15 min walk to the flower market, 5 min to Dam Square, 20 min to Rembrandt square...great hotel if you can get it for a reasonable price. We paid about $190 euros/night. I did not eat at the restaurant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear valued guest,



Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during the difficult circumstances caused by the terrible hurricane Irene.



We are truly happy to note that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We are very proud that you were impressed by our service and that you found our rooms to be clean and of good size.



Indeed our location is one of our great assets, being only a short distance away from the train station and located in the city centre of Amsterdam.



Again thank you very much for your positive feedback and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.



Yours sincerely



Aernout de Jong

General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The reason I say it was the best by Amsterdam standards is that most hotels in Amsterdam, for that matter in Europe, pale in comparison to those in USA or Canada. I usually stay at the Ibis Hotel. However, decided to change as I can not handle the small rooms at that location. I booked a king room. The room size was decent (again by European standards). The bathroom was much better and larger than other hotels in the city. The premise is well kept and clean. The room is very clean with new furniture. The hotel building is old, but has been renovated and modernized, The staff were friendly. The breakfast buffet was quite pricey (25 euros per person). Internet access is free in the business room, but 20 euros every 24 hours if you wish to use it in your hotel room. The hotel is just 15 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station (down the first street that leads to the train station). It is also quite close to shops and other attractions. I did notice that at night the area is a bit shady so use caution when walking late in the area. Then again, most of Amsterdam looks shady and quite dirty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear valued guest,



We were delighted that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your weekend trip and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your kind words.



We are very proud to read that you have rated us as the best hotel by Amsterdam standards. As a four-star deluxe hotel we wish to take good care of our guests and to offer the best possible service. Therefore it’s wonderful to read you find our staff friendly and that you have experienced excellent service.



Again thank you very much for your positive comments and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.



Kind regards,



General Manager

Aernout de Jong
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

I booked two rooms for a one night stay for my two adult children and my husband and myself. They gave us adjoining rooms which was great. The staff were very helpful and polite and the rooms were clean and modern. A nice touch was the aromatherapy essences to help you sleep. We didn't eat at their restaurant and instead chose to dine with the locals. Good value hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is great pleasure to read your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are truly delighted to note that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We are very proud that you were impressed by the helpfulness and politeness of our staff and that you found our rooms to be clean and modern.

We would be happy to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Amsterdam City Centre a long weekend and was amazed by the friendliness and responsiveness of the personnel. There was always a smile on the faces which made me feel very welcome.

Moreover, the hotel is very centrally located with main tourist attractions in walking distance and the central station not far away. The hotel itself is up to the higher standards with an appealing modern interior design, big rooms a business centre where you can use the internet for free and make print outs and it has a small fitness room.

In short - I can very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our staff to be friendly and responsive and that their smiley faces made you feel welcome!

Besides that we are glad that you liked the location of our hotel and that you have enjoyed our facilities such as the business centre and fitness room.

We are honoured that you would recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.