We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Good location. Close to Central Station, so easy access to other areas. Close to the red light district if you're curious. Felt safe in the area. Staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Computers w/Internet in the business center. I booked this on points, so not sure of the $$ value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen to spend your reward night at our hotel and that you have enjoyed our comfortable rooms and the business centre. We are even more delighted to read that you found our colleagues to be friendly and that you felt safe during your entire stay!

Again thank you very much for your positive words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    651
    103
    36
    21
See reviews for
176
732
123
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We we're only supposed to stay here two nights, but due to hurricane Irene, we arrived in AMS a day early. The hotel had no issues checking us in early, and at the lower rate we had originally booked. The rooms were good size and very clean. This hotel is no more than a five minute walk to the Central Station. There Is plenty of everything around this hotel. You're on the outside of the red light district, 15 min walk to the flower market, 5 min to Dam Square, 20 min to Rembrandt square...great hotel if you can get it for a reasonable price. We paid about $190 euros/night. I did not eat at the restaurant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear valued guest,



Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during the difficult circumstances caused by the terrible hurricane Irene.



We are truly happy to note that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We are very proud that you were impressed by our service and that you found our rooms to be clean and of good size.



Indeed our location is one of our great assets, being only a short distance away from the train station and located in the city centre of Amsterdam.



Again thank you very much for your positive feedback and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.



Yours sincerely



Aernout de Jong

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The reason I say it was the best by Amsterdam standards is that most hotels in Amsterdam, for that matter in Europe, pale in comparison to those in USA or Canada. I usually stay at the Ibis Hotel. However, decided to change as I can not handle the small rooms at that location. I booked a king room. The room size was decent (again by European standards). The bathroom was much better and larger than other hotels in the city. The premise is well kept and clean. The room is very clean with new furniture. The hotel building is old, but has been renovated and modernized, The staff were friendly. The breakfast buffet was quite pricey (25 euros per person). Internet access is free in the business room, but 20 euros every 24 hours if you wish to use it in your hotel room. The hotel is just 15 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station (down the first street that leads to the train station). It is also quite close to shops and other attractions. I did notice that at night the area is a bit shady so use caution when walking late in the area. Then again, most of Amsterdam looks shady and quite dirty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear valued guest,



We were delighted that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your weekend trip and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your kind words.



We are very proud to read that you have rated us as the best hotel by Amsterdam standards. As a four-star deluxe hotel we wish to take good care of our guests and to offer the best possible service. Therefore it’s wonderful to read you find our staff friendly and that you have experienced excellent service.



Again thank you very much for your positive comments and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.



Kind regards,



General Manager

Aernout de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

I booked two rooms for a one night stay for my two adult children and my husband and myself. They gave us adjoining rooms which was great. The staff were very helpful and polite and the rooms were clean and modern. A nice touch was the aromatherapy essences to help you sleep. We didn't eat at their restaurant and instead chose to dine with the locals. Good value hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is great pleasure to read your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are truly delighted to note that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We are very proud that you were impressed by the helpfulness and politeness of our staff and that you found our rooms to be clean and modern.

We would be happy to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Amsterdam City Centre a long weekend and was amazed by the friendliness and responsiveness of the personnel. There was always a smile on the faces which made me feel very welcome.

Moreover, the hotel is very centrally located with main tourist attractions in walking distance and the central station not far away. The hotel itself is up to the higher standards with an appealing modern interior design, big rooms a business centre where you can use the internet for free and make print outs and it has a small fitness room.

In short - I can very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our staff to be friendly and responsive and that their smiley faces made you feel welcome!

Besides that we are glad that you liked the location of our hotel and that you have enjoyed our facilities such as the business centre and fitness room.

We are honoured that you would recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed for three nights and loved it. Arrived early morning and the room was ready and waiting. We had booked and payed 21 days in advance so buffet breakfast was included in the tariff. This was a great saving judging by what hotels in Amsterdam charge for breakfast and the buffet was great, plenty of choises to suit everyone. The staff were all very efficient, the room was lovely, very quiet and walking distance to everything. Wasn't too keen on the evening meals but this wasn't a problem as plenty of restaurants nearby. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted to note you would stay at our hotel again.

It is also wonderful to read that you have enjoyed the quiet rooms, the breakfast and our friendly staff so much. We however regret to learn that our dinner menu did not live up to your expectations. I therefore hope that you would allow us the opportunity to learn from your experience. Could you please inform me on an appropriate time to contact you on and send me your contacts details via e-mail to amsnl.gsc@ihg.com.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for 6 days for our honeymoon in August. The hotel was lovely - really clean, comfortable rooms. We were honeymooning on a ridiculously tight budget so the fact that we were given a free upgrade and had a free bottle of wine waiting in our room when we arrived made a huge difference. Small touches, like aromatherapy in the room and an ice disepnser just outside our room, were really nice. The staff at this hotel were very helpful (particulalry Sylvie) and more genuine than we have ever come across - usually I feel quite irritated by the constant and obviously fake 'good mornings' and 'enjoy your days' that are handed out by hotel staff around the world, but there is something about the staff at this hotel that feels very genuine in their desire for guests to enjoy they stay here. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much your positive comment regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

It is wonderful to read that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team was able to give your honeymoon that extra special touch to make it an even more memorable and comfortable trip. It was our pleasure to provide you with this nice upgrade and the bottle of wine.

We are pleased to read that you have also enjoyed some of our other products such as aromatherapy as part of the ‘Sleep advantage program’ which will help our guests to unwind after a busy day.

We are proud to learn you would like to stay with us again! Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.