We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can not go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You can not go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay. You are smack in the middle of AMSTERDAM! This is the best hotel to stay at if you plan on explore Amsterdam. I got to the hotel at about 9 am, and after a short nap, I went exploring. All day long, I had my room close by if I needed to take a break. After my long day, the bar down stairs was just what I needed before going off to bed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that we contributed to a great day of exploring the city. Also it is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our New Dorrius restaurant and bar after your busy day.

We look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre when you journey brings you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    669
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
179
765
123
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed here for one night on an unseasonably warm May night. Location was excellent, about 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station. Check in staff were very friendly and professional. The room was nice, clean and the bathroom was modern. Didn't eat in the hotel, but there are many small cafes and restaurants nearby.

One criticism would be the price, which wasn't the cheapest in the city centre, but apart from that, everything was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your kind feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments on our friendly and professional staff and clean guest rooms are greatly appreciated. As a four-star deluxe hotel, located in the city centre of Amsterdam we wish to take good care of our guests and to offer the best possible service. The area around the hotel offers many possibilities to lunch, dine or just to have a drink. During your next stay in Amsterdam we would like to invite you to visit our contemporary restaurant and bar 'New Dorrius'. Our stylish yet relaxed restaurant and bar offers an inspiring menu that includes Dutch classics and international favourites with a Dutch twist.

Again thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great place to stay for all the main attractions. A very comfortable hotel. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We are glad to read that you have had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that our location was beneficial for you to explore the main attractions in Amsterdam. As the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located in the heart of the city, main attractions are in walking distance or easily to be reached by public transport.

Thank you for your comment and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Several years ago, I stayed at your hotel for just one night - I had no complaints.

Last Friday, I have, again, visited you, and have the following feedback:

Renovations made at your reception area really working. The check-in desks are well positioned, and the whole area is very welcoming.

Reception & Check-in:
Staff are very polite and professional. Even though, I had not advised of an early check-in, they made sure I was quickly accomodated, and even upgraded to a larger room. They duly mentioned special offers, hotel facilities etc..etc.. and shortly after my arrival in the room, made a call to check that all was OK.

Room:
Clearly quality renovation since my last visit. The overall quality of the room was excellent, it's a nice size, design, finish, well equipped, and comfortable. TV, internet, bathroom is nice. The shower unit was very easy to use. I liked the Nespresso machine - Nice touch.

Room-Service:
The ordered food and wine lunch duly arrived within mentioned time of 20 minutes - The pizza was tasty and good value. Room service staff were polite and efficient.

I departed fully relaxed, having decided that your hotel will now become the hotel of choice for all future travel to Amsterdam. It will also be recommended to colleagues & friends.

In short, your hotel & staff are a credit to your management company and to IHG Hotel chain!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your positive experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us.

We are proud that after several years, Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre left such a good impression which made you wanted to visit us again. We are even more delighted to read your positive feedback on the quality of the renovations we made in September 2009. It is important to us that our guest feel comfortable and at home, so it really enjoys us to read that you departed the hotel fully relaxed.

We are honoured to learn that our hotel has become your hotel of choice when you visit Amsterdam and that you are going to recommend this hotel to all your colleagues. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed here on 24th July for 1 night on a over night stop to Munich.I have stayed here before and knew what to expect.Some times you go back to a hotel and wonder why you liked it so much last time? Not with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City centre,they continue to surprise me with there level of customer care..10/10 again..See you in November

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear valued guest,
We are honoured to read that we left such a great impression which makes you want to come back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
As customer care is one of our top priorities, we are pleased to learn that this is the reason you would want to visit us again.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in November.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam was a great hotel. Centrally located. Near everything. We could walk everywhere. Near train. Were able to get tickets for museums through the hotel. Made it easier. Hotel staff so helpful and friendly. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Yes it is the boring brown building on the left just out of a seedy area of Amsterdam. But inside felt welcoming, safe and rooms whilst not huge worked very well and provided a good base from which to walk. Would use this hotel again if I had to visit Amsterdam but not my bag really, but would try their airport one to see if as good as this. Really good food and service, although the pizza wasn't!

Room Tip: internal views are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that the interior design was to your satisfaction. We welcome you to explore the other Crowne Plaza properties in Amsterdam as well, especially the new Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South which will open in the 4th quarter of 2011.

Although it is a pity to read you did not enjoy the pizza, we would like to thank you very much for rating our Food service as good quality.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back o the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.