We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super well located quality hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Super well located quality hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Several years ago, I stayed at your hotel for just one night - I had no complaints.

Last Friday, I have, again, visited you, and have the following feedback:

Renovations made at your reception area really working. The check-in desks are well positioned, and the whole area is very welcoming.

Reception & Check-in:
Staff are very polite and professional. Even though, I had not advised of an early check-in, they made sure I was quickly accomodated, and even upgraded to a larger room. They duly mentioned special offers, hotel facilities etc..etc.. and shortly after my arrival in the room, made a call to check that all was OK.

Room:
Clearly quality renovation since my last visit. The overall quality of the room was excellent, it's a nice size, design, finish, well equipped, and comfortable. TV, internet, bathroom is nice. The shower unit was very easy to use. I liked the Nespresso machine - Nice touch.

Room-Service:
The ordered food and wine lunch duly arrived within mentioned time of 20 minutes - The pizza was tasty and good value. Room service staff were polite and efficient.

I departed fully relaxed, having decided that your hotel will now become the hotel of choice for all future travel to Amsterdam. It will also be recommended to colleagues & friends.

In short, your hotel & staff are a credit to your management company and to IHG Hotel chain!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your positive experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us.

We are proud that after several years, Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre left such a good impression which made you wanted to visit us again. We are even more delighted to read your positive feedback on the quality of the renovations we made in September 2009. It is important to us that our guest feel comfortable and at home, so it really enjoys us to read that you departed the hotel fully relaxed.

We are honoured to learn that our hotel has become your hotel of choice when you visit Amsterdam and that you are going to recommend this hotel to all your colleagues. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    658
    106
    36
    22
See reviews for
176
747
123
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed here on 24th July for 1 night on a over night stop to Munich.I have stayed here before and knew what to expect.Some times you go back to a hotel and wonder why you liked it so much last time? Not with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City centre,they continue to surprise me with there level of customer care..10/10 again..See you in November

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear valued guest,
We are honoured to read that we left such a great impression which makes you want to come back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
As customer care is one of our top priorities, we are pleased to learn that this is the reason you would want to visit us again.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in November.

Kind regards,
Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam was a great hotel. Centrally located. Near everything. We could walk everywhere. Near train. Were able to get tickets for museums through the hotel. Made it easier. Hotel staff so helpful and friendly. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Yes it is the boring brown building on the left just out of a seedy area of Amsterdam. But inside felt welcoming, safe and rooms whilst not huge worked very well and provided a good base from which to walk. Would use this hotel again if I had to visit Amsterdam but not my bag really, but would try their airport one to see if as good as this. Really good food and service, although the pizza wasn't!

Room Tip: internal views are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that the interior design was to your satisfaction. We welcome you to explore the other Crowne Plaza properties in Amsterdam as well, especially the new Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South which will open in the 4th quarter of 2011.

Although it is a pity to read you did not enjoy the pizza, we would like to thank you very much for rating our Food service as good quality.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back o the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the near future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel based on friend's recommendation and was not disapppointed. This was our first time to Amsterdam. The hotel is ideally located in city center within a 10 minute walk to the train station (not recommended to walk if you're lugging alot of bags around), Anne Frank's house, Dam Square, and the canal boat tours. Hotel was clean, room large with comfortable bed, refrigerator, and room safe. Staff was very friendly and accomodating and recommended restaurants based on our tastes. You've got to check out the Pancake Bakery but get there when they open to avoid stanindg in line. It's a crepe rather than pancake but it was DELICIOUS, HUGE, completely filling a dinner sized plate, and did I say delicious? You won't walk away hungry!! You've also got to try Dutch pea soup...some places were better than others but it was always tasty. We took the Connextion bus to transfer from AMS airport to the hotel which cost about 15EUR per person and took about 30 minutes after dropping other people off at different hotels. Our friends took the train from the airport to city center for about 4EUR per person but complained it was a mistake dragging all their luggage (2 rolling duffles and 2 small carryons) across train tracks, up and down curbs to get to the hotel. Train station is only a 10 minute walk without baggage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam

We stayed 3 nights in a club room. Excellent hotel in a very good location. The rooms are a good size for European standards and are equipped with everything you need (including UK power sockets). Friendly and helpful reception, concierge and F&B staff. The club room is certainly worth the extra cost as it provides you with complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day and complimentary internet access in your room. Would definitely recommend! 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We deeply appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts about the hotel with us. We will be sure to pass on these kind words throughout the hotel and I am positive that it will put a smile on many faces.
It is a pleasure to learn that the Club Room you stayed in and in particular the power sockets were convenient to you and that you have enjoyed the extras the Club Lounge has to offer you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth. UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just stayed for 2 nights. Excellent location, just 2-3 mins from main railway station. Asked for a quieter room and were given a gorgeous room in their 'quiet zone' which doesnt allow children, no cleaning before 10am and is on top 2 floor away from any street noise. Will definitely be my 1st choice when next i visit amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room so worth it. no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.