We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel, Amsterdam city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel, Amsterdam city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Check in, general questions, directions and special requests were handled with a high level of efficiency and a smile.
King sized bed exremely comfortable, adequate extra pillows and quilt.
Bathroom supplies (shampoo, body wash and lotion, provided.
Location was excellent, less than 10 minutes from Central train station. Tram lines on the same street and 5 minutes to the Dam.
Business Center had free computer service. Health Club and sauna were quite convenient. Upscale Restaurant had gourmet food.
Best features were the location, helpful staff, quality and cleanliness of entire hotel. Sound proofing was excellent, did not hear outside noise.
No negative features and this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as the hotel of your choice for your trip to Amsterdam. We are proud to read your kind feedback about your stay in Amsterdam.


We are always aiming to offer the best service and products to our guests, that’s also why our team is doing their best to provide our guests with the very best service and attention! It is great to read that you mentioned our way of giving service as ‘high level of efficiency’. Kind words like yours makes us smile the way we do at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

The ‘best features’ of the hotel you pointed out were; helpful staff, quality and cleanliness of the entire hotel and the sound proofing. Of course it’s overwhelming to read that you found no negative features at our hotel.

Again thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Best regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    635
    99
    36
    21
See reviews for
170
714
121
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed here for a week stay in April while hosting a conference.

The CP Amsterdam is a very nice hotel, centrally located and recently refurbished - rooms and public spaces are in great condition.

Location:

Absolutely great location, a few minute walk from the Central Station and close to all major hot spots in the city - yet the rooms give a quiet feeling. Great spot for exploring Amsterdam by foot or public transport, not so great if you are by car (which I in general do not recommend in Amsterdam).

Priority Club:

Big disappointment. As platinum member I did not receive a room upgrade, got a voucher for breakfast for one person for one day only (nice, however my room rate already included breakfast so useless) - the other days were discounted (note that the breakfast is expensive and not worth the money in my opinion) and 20% of their way overpriced internet access. With other words: don't expect anything as priority club member - they do not upgrade to Club access, room upgrades seem rare. Unfortunately there are not many alternatives for PC members apart from the very nice, but very expensive Intercontinental Amstel and Holiday Inn (which is quite far from city center).

Rooms & Extras:

Rooms were very nice, stylish, media hubs (i.e. USB charger for iPod, laptop could be connected to TV, etc) and very clean. Had a nice view from my room too! Beds were comfortable. Unfortunately, in-room internet is grossly overpriced at 20 EUR per day. For me a reason to might stay somewhere else next time. The connection was also very slow - to give you an idea, it wasn't even possible to stream youtube low quality videos without waiting on buffering all the time. Disappointing!

Breakfast was okay, but not worth the 25 EUR (!) they charge for it. Quite a basic spread with limited choice of items for the price they charge for it. Would've expected more.

Service:

Absolutely great - all staff members (and I have met a lot of them) were very friendly and professional - not a single exception to it. It seems that the hotel spends a great time on training there staff - or they just have a very good hiring policy :)

Conclusion:

Great hotel, keep in mind that internet + breakfast come extra to nearly 50 EUR a day. Platinum members - keep in mind that the hotel doesn't seem to care much about that; which is a shame. Even so, still a great hotel and absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to inform us about your service experience during your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. This feedback is highly appreciated since it enables us to take action and improve our quality of products and services.

We are very pleased to read your feelings towards the service our colleagues delivered during your stay and we are proud to assure you that this is one of the high standards we are offering to all our guests!

As we are always aiming to satisfy and impress our loyal guests, it concerned us to read your comments about the service/benefits you received as a Platinum Priority Club member.

I hope you would allow me the opportunity to personally discuss your previous stay with you. Could you therefore inform me on an appropriate time to contact you and would you please send me your contacts details via e-mail to tako.kimplate@ihg.com.
We would like to use your experience to improve our service level and hopefully you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Tako Kim Plate
Front Offie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

A hotel which fitted my requirements, cozy & trendy enough (renovated completely in 2009), very helpful staff (maybe this was even best of all I experienced in the hotel), nice room with very good beds (did not want to get out!), good restaurant, enjoyed the launch, good business facilities, shopping nearby, restaurants nearby but still not a large hotel. Not far (walkable) from the train station.
I would stay there again (when they don't hike the price!).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are very pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us and that you found our staff to be very helpful!

It’s great to read your positive feelings towards our hotel facilities and guest rooms. It is so wonderful to see that the effort we make is being deeply appreciated.

I have shared your comments with our team and they were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre soon.

Best regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel is just over the road from Central Station and close by to all the sights. Our room was spacious, modern and clean. There is a tray with Coffee, Tea, biscuits, etc. A fridge, room safe and even little sprays to put on your pillow to help you have a good nights sleep - but the beds were that comfortable you dont need them. The breakfast was fabulous and you could even have a drop of Cava if you were up to it - I mixed mine with fresh orange juice (well it was morning after all!). The lounge area is very stylish! You dont need adapters as there is a plug port in the room.
Amsterdam was nicer than I thought - if you are going to Anne Franks house go early or very late as the queues are massive! A Canal cruise is recommended and there are lots of Argentinian Steak houses which are good. The drinks can be very expensive look at the prices before you buy in some places and some even charge to use the loo.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your wonderful review concerning your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre. It deeply stirs us to read such positive words about the hotel.

We always try our utmost best to provide the guest with a room that suites their needs and will exceed their expectations. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our advanced sleep advantage program and hope that you woke up well rested and ready to enjoy the day! To ensure you of the same comfort, the advanced sleep advantage program including the lavender spray is provided in every Crowne Plaza worldwide!

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our breakfast so much! We would like to mention that our restaurant ‘New Dorrius’ is also a very nice place to eat lunch or dinner. Our team would be more than happy to welcome you in the restaurant the next time you visit the hotel!

Once again we thank you for your positive words and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future and hopefully impress you again.

Best regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We found this hotel one of the best we have stayed in. It was clean, comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the food in the restaurant was good and served by friendly staff who could not do enough to help. The bedrooms were modern and clean. The beds were so comfortable that we had the best night sleep ever. Position great and near all the sights. All in all an excellent hotel and one that we would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review concerning your stay at our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are very proud to read that you had a lovely stay with us and that you found our hotel one of the best hotels you have stayed in. It’s also great to read that you would certainly recommend this hotel.

It is overwhelming to read your kind words about the service of our team in the hotel and you named them ‘extremely friend and helpful’. Our team would always be more than content to help you in every way!

Please also be assured that we have passed your very kind comments to all of the staff concerned. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worces
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Hotel in good location a couple of mins from train station.
first impressions very good,the first room we were offered
was very small so we were offered a choice of two other rooms
one which was just as small and one slightly larger which we
moved to.beds and pillows very nice.bathrooms and showers
very nice plenty of hot water.
we ate in the hotel restaurant the first night the food and the service
was excellent,then we had breakfast it was the total opposite poor
service and poor food.after taking this up with the restaurant manager
the breakfast x 3days was removed from our final bill.

Room Tip: do not except the first room they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your review concerning your stay at our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are very pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and that you found our location and rooms very good.

I’m glad to read that you had a great dinner experienced in the New Dorrius Restaurant. However we were concerned to read your comments about the disappointing breakfast the next morning. Please be assured that we are always aiming to satisfy and impress our guest and that this is certainly not representative of the usual service excellence here at the hotel.

We have shared your comments with the various departments and made them aware on the areas of improvement. Your comments are taken up with our management team as we are always looking for ways to improve our service level and the guest’s experience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in the very near future.

Best regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel is a hop, skip and jump from Centraal station. We only needed to stay overnight for one night and it was perfect. Very new, modern and spacious. Nice bathrooms that have showers up to American standards. Very comfortable beds and had more space than older hotels in area. Breakfast was not complimentary and seemed too expensive.

It's not along the canals - so if you're looking for a romantic view out the window or want to be in a narrow old, Dutch building - this is not it. But it's very nice and I'd say Americans could equate it to nice hotels in big, U.S. cities. Maybe better for business and quick trips than romantic get-away place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your detailed and enthusiastic review following your brief visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had such an pleasant overnight stay with us at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

You describe the hotel as very new, modern and spacious. Actually the hotel underwent a comprehensive renovation in 2009, which has resulted in the stylish new look and upgraded comfort.

In your review you say that the Crowne Plaza is not the place to stay when you are looking for a romantic getaway in an Old Dutch building. We would like to mention that our hotel consists of several buildings including Old Dutch houses! When you are visiting Amsterdam again, our reservations department will do their best to make a reservation for one of the Authentic Amsterdam suites!

Again thank you so much for your feedback and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.