We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
warwickshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“top hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We booked this hotel after reading about it on this site. Have to say its in a great location, central for most things. The hotel is well presented both from outside and in. The rooms can be on the tight size for space but are clean (last time we stayed in amsterdam the hotel we booked had the smallest room ever compared to that one this one was double the size). We asked for an outside room with a balcolny which we got and is was lovely. The bar is pretty swish but is pricey. 5.5 euros for a larger. We ate out for breakfast as this was cheaper than the 20 euros they wanted. I plugged my netbook into the wired internet and it worked perfectly and was free. The beds are lovely and bigger and soft with very clean white sheets. The bathroom did its job and the towels were soft. We also had bathrobes and slippers provided. We only stayed there two nights but will be booking this hotel next time we come to amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    604
    213
    85
    41
See reviews for
139
623
105
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I love this hotel and have stayed there on two trips to Amsterdam. The art deco dining room is one of my favorite places on earth and the hotel itself is beautiful. I have also found the staff to be helpful and attentive and the rooms to be comfortable, The thing that keeps this from being a five-star hotel, in my view, is the inexplicably high cost of wifi access. The hotel charges 20 Euro a day for access. You can also use two computers provided for guests, at a per minute cost (it cost me 11 Euro to print boarding passes, so the 20 Euro is probably a better deal). I really don't see how the hotel can justify such greed - we all know how much it costs them to provide wifi and there is no logical reason they should expect to make such a huge profit on what should be a basic amenity.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Right on the Canal. Solid old fashioned hotel with charater and charm. Great location, walk every.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed Feb for a special break away. Booked a classic double room got a very big room with separate office area. Well stocked mini bar but did not use as too expensive, Very clean and lovely bathroom. Did not use food area`s 19.95 euros per person for breakfast when there is a great bakers just up the road. Amsterdam is a very expensive place with drinks and food not cheap anywhere but it is a good town to visit different cultures and areas of interest. I would stay at this hotel again as it exceeded my expectations and is in a central location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Very comfortable hotel, staff were very accommodating when we were woken up at 7am with the noise from the building work going on in another anex of the hotel. Complementry breakfast was offered and they moved us to another room with a balcony and a lovely view over the canal. The hotel was very central to everywhere, and the bus back to the airport was just outside the door of the hotel and took about 45 minutes. Price 3 euros.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Booked this hotel based on location and reviews. Location is superb, took the 197 bus from the airport and was very easy and probably the best way to get to this area so will give details on how you do that.

On leaving the airport follow the signs for buses and stop in at one of the news shops who will sell you a stripenkart, 7.50 Euros for 15 strips. At the bus stop there is a big electronic sign telling you which bus stop each bus is so easy to find where you need to go. When the bus turns up hand your stripenkart and tell the driver you want to go to Leidseplein, he will stamp 5 strips and hand it back to you. There is a screen on the bus that tells you which stop is next so easy to know when to get off. The Leidseplein stop is directly outside the American Hotel and its that simple. You can use 5 strips getting back to the airport and use the other 5 on trams getting around the city and always buy another stripenkart if you need to.

The hotel location is ideal for the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, House of Bols, Heineken Experience and a host of bars and restaurants in and around Leidseplein. Its also a 30 minute walk to red light district and about the same to Anne Frank house. Out the back entrance is also the stop for the Hop on Hop off canal boat cruise which is a great way to see the city. The boats have commentary ( In English ) so provide a guided tour also and cost 20 Euros and are available to use 24 hours from purchase. There are 3 different lines you can ride green, red and blue and stop at all the notable landmarks Muesemplein, Central station, Anne Frank house to name a few.

We arrived at 12pm and although check in is supposed to be 3pm I emailed before letting them know that I would like Canal facing room and to check in early if possible. They emailed back saying although they couldn’t guarantee either request they would do there best and I was delighted that on my arrival both requests were facilitated by a very friendly and helpful reception girl who checked us in. She asked if we were celebrating and I said yes as it was my girlfriends birthday and in the room was a nice welcome letter and two free drinks vouchers for the bar.

We had a few drinks in both bars and the American bar with all the celeb photos was quite nice with good friendly staff. Found the staff in the hotel overall very good and helpful with requests during our stay.

As breakfast was 20 Euros we decided to eat elsewhere as there are plenty of alternatives right on the doorstep at half the price.

Location, service and the overall building general areas and the fountain outside where great. Where this hotel doesn’t score top marks is as others have mentioned the rooms need a facelift as although they are clean, the chipped paint and hooks hanging off in our room didn’t really measure up to the rest of the hotel. That said if I went back to Dam I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Bar/restaurant in the place, close to everything, nicely stocked mini-bar, but like most of Europe the room was a bit small.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.