We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Hampshire Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“American Hampshire Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel and staff all first rate. Excellent service, rooms beautiful and clean. Bar and food outstanding. Location perfect. Highly recommend.

Any thing you need, you just ask and get a prompt response.
The surrounding area is full of tests taunts and bars, excellent shopping near by.
Faultless

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    747
    254
    100
    46
See reviews for
177
797
120
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great option if you are looking for the perfect location visiting Amsterdam. Not a luxury hotel, but very clean and attentive staff. Breakfast was expensive, so is not a good option having so nice and good restaurants around. Near the museums area, the canal, shopping areas, restaurants.

Room Tip: View the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for only 2 nights as part of a big trip across Europe and we loved the luxury feel and wonderful service we received. Well located we a number of bars and restaurants nearby, with a lovely atmosphere around. Close to canal rides, public transport options and walking distance to attractions like Van Gogh museum and the like. Above all, best service of the 8 hotels we stayed in during our European stay. Definitely would recommend.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I and my wife have stayed for three days at the famous American Hotel in Amsterdam and it was a very nice experience. The location of the hotel is perfect, with a great view of the canal and a few minutes walk to the main museums. The room is large and clean, and the staff is really helpful. The restaurant has good food at fair prices. I surely recommend this hotel if you want quality at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location large room and bed very comfortable service was good close to all sights and shopping area was sorry to leave would recommend this hotel highly for a short or long stay for business or pleasure recommend canal view room also canal tour is located at front of hotel

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and review posting. It is a hugh motivation for our team that you have enjoyed our service and your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us. We hope to welcome you again soon! With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful old hotel! Staff service is five star and the location is perfect. Museums and attractions were within walking distance.The rooms are all different (we had a group of six couples and all were pleased with their rooms). The air conditioning works great. The restaurant has beautiful stained glass "old hotel" decor. Breakfast buffet was good...buy the day before for a discount. The hotel bar was great...our favorite waiter had been there for 42 years...so fun! We had room 607...large and a wonderful view of the canal!

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. It is a pleasure to read that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to welcome you all soon! With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed this hotel and the location could not have been better. I did get a little street noise, but it never really bothered me all that much. I loved my tiny balcony overlooking the action below.

Yes, the rooms are tiny, but it was an efficient space. The bed was comfortable and everything worked as expected. And the hotel staff were lovely.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and Amsterdam so much. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#80 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#58 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.