We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of the Leidseplein district of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of the Leidseplein district of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel in the middle of the action of Leidseplein district. Nice rooms great breakfast and great staff here at the American hotel. The leidseplein district is one of the best places in Amsterdam for food fun and people watching. There really is no bad view or for that matter great view but a room looking out over the canal is always nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    621
    220
    87
    41
See reviews for
139
643
108
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location very close to city centre, great and friendly staff who were very helpful. Art Deco look to hotel is really stylish and we all loved the lighting themes. Food was very good and they even catered for 15 of us arriving late for dinner on Sunday night! Breakfast was as you would imagine. Room was ok but nothing special and quite a cramped bathroom. Worst was that I got a lot of noise from the room above which is not the hotels fault but some clown in the room above! We had a business conference here and the facilities were fine. All in all not bad. Wifi signal was a bit weak.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel to hold your business meeting and for your review posting. We shall test the wifi signal. We hope that we shall have the privilige of organising your business meeting again next year. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was surprised by my husband for Christmas to a lovely weekend break to Amsterdam. He showed me the hotel and thought it looked nice. When we arrived (at night) I was surprised at how grand the hotel was. The reception staff checked us in she was very friendly and explained that we had booked bed and breakfast and the resort tax was included. In the lift on the way up to the room my husband decided to tell me how much he paid for the hotel. (At this point I started to worry that we would be in a small dark room at the back of the hotel) in fact we had a lovely room 204. The bed was massive, bathroom lovely and clean and no need for me to pack shower gels etc it was all available free of charge.
The next morning we went for breakfast ( we are both healthy eaters and been on a few city breaks before and not been able to eat a lot of the breakfast so I didn't hold much hope) I was very wrong. They had lots of fruit, eggs, meats, fruit juices. Lots of choice.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing. I cannot fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to hear that we managed exceed to your expectations. We hope that we may welcome you again in the future. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a very nice location. Just few steps from the main restaurants in the downtown and thaw casino.

The rooms were not the same, as we were having four rooms same category, we found everyone had different size !

The employees were not very friendly with us !

I'll suggest you request a room next to the elevator otherwise you'll walk allot.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We regret to hear that, apparantly, our staff has not extended the courtesy that you did expect. Maybe you can contact us to elaborate on your expierences in order for us to improve our services. Indeed almost all rooms in the 113-year old hotel are different in size, shape and, sometimes, decor. For a future visit it is best to state your preferences whilst making your reservation. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 days over New Year. It wasn't cheap by any means but it is a big grand hotel and the location is brilliant. We barely took any transport as it was so easy to walk everywhere. It's very close to all the museums and the main canal rings. When we arrived they gave us an upgrade to a suite on the 1st floor overlooking the square and fountain. The room was huge but the windows were quite small for the size of the room and the lighting so dim that we quite often struggled to find things! I guess it didn't help that it was dull and wintry outside but if anyone from the hotel is reading this perhaps you could put brighter lightbulbs in! The bed was very comfortable and you can ask for extra/different pillows which was a nice touch. Breakfast was not included, but we had breakfast on New Year's Day, it was EUR 20 per person and was hugely disappointing. Quite a decent buffet selection of stuff (not cooked to order) but the quality was not what I'd expect from a posh hotel: scrambled eggs dry and crumbly, croissants dry and hard etc.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but I probably wouldn't stay here again if I went back; I imagine you can get places that are just as nice (if less grand) for less money.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Your comments have been taken on board for improvements. Please always contact our reservations department if you are looking for attractive packages or offers. Maybe that will convince you to re-visit after all. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. Lovely room and all staff very friendly and welcoming. Bed was sooo comfy I didn't want to leave!!
Close to everything you want to see in amsterdam. Only problem which is not hotels problem was the noise of the planes passing

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and review posting. Because of the ongoing storm, the airplanes are directed over the city centre which is not the normal procedure. Most of the year, the planes are not authorised to fly over the city centre. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am writing about this hotel not as a place to stay but as a sight. I have not stayed or eaten there but I did visit to look at the building itself. It is an Art Nouveau and Art Deco Building begun in the late 19th century and completed in the 1920s and is on the Dutch National Architectural Register. The hotel is a large yellow brick structure beside a main canal close to Museumplien. It has a large tower that acts as the main foccal point and the exterior on close inspection has details of both the Art Nouveau and Art Deco. Inside is a beautiful restaurant bar with stained glass windows and paintings including one large stained glass window with parrots. Worth it to see the building.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and ypur review posting. The listed building is indeed a historical and architectural masterpiece. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit so much. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.