We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is little to fault about this hotel. It is in an impeccable location, over the three days I stayed I didn't need to use public transport once as everywhere I visited was within walking distance. The room was large and spacious with lovely high vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was a little dated which I suppose was quite authentic, everything was clean and comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel which I definitely would have (menu looked delicious!) and the entire staff were attentive and friendly. I would most certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    604
    213
    85
    41
See reviews for
138
623
105
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is beautiful and close to everything. Walking distance to the museums, shopping and restaurants. If we need to get around in the city, we just hop on the tram which is only a few feet from the hotel. Breakfast was very good and served in the hotel's Art Deco restaurant. Although our room did not have a canal view, it was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Styed 4 night. The hotel in centerly located in the Damm squre, near public transport and 5 minutes away from the rijks museum.
Room was clean with a pot for coffee/ tea/ hit chocolate.
We took a deal that did not include breakfast, nevertheless we've tried it- it's a huge European buffet style breakfast (chees, cold cuts, fish etc.), if you just want coffee - there are many places near by (e.g. Starbucks).
I'de highly recommend this hotel for all typs

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinklow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visually amazing especially at Christmas

Excellent breakfast with wide choices of a fully cooked dishes and continental

We had one evening meal which was also very good

Our only criticism was the view from the room ( 003) to be avoided looking onto an inner courtyard stacked with air conditioning plant

On our previous visit we stayed at a hotel with great canal views - there are similar views from this hotel also rooms with balconies that look really attractive

The room itself was very adequate with a comfy bed - the shower was in the bath which was not too convenient

We would most certainly like to stay again in a better room

Room Tip: Avoid room 003 and similarly located rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and yet another stay. Indeed please contact us before your next stay in order for us to block the room type of your preference. The room that you occupied this stay has indeed no view. However is very beloved with guests that prefer a very quit room in the busy city centre. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this Hotel Break via the Lidl Website and i have to say it worked out brilliantly - way better then i thought. Hotel is in a great location for all the shops and sights - everything is within walking / tram distance.

Reception is always very busy but the Concierge is a great wealth of knowledge and is v.helpful for tickets / taxis etc. If you need to you can leave your luggage with him, if you have a late flight.

Breakfast was yummy - great variety and plenty of it.

If I have to complain - it would be about the cleaning etc of the rooms.. We were part of a group and one room never got cleaned one day, no fresh towels etc. In our room, bins werent always emptied or dirty spoon left and a sponge for cleaning or toilet not cleaned... As Frances Brennan from Park Hotel in Ireland would say, the devil is in the detail... but saying all that its a lovely hotel & I would NOT HESITATE IN RECOMMENDING...

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit small and some have a bath / some dont - so depending on what you are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Apparantly something did not work out 100% with the cleaning logistics. Our apologies, We shall try to analyse what happened. Maybe the DO NOT DISTURB sign was left on? Good to see that it did not keep you from recommending our hotel because of the overall experience. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on Business. Amazing interior and great central location to explore Amsterdam. Room was very comfy. Was a bathroom fan that just would not turn off but other than that great stay.Hotel restaurant and bar very popular.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your compact, yet complete review. We are happy to notice that you experienced such an enjoyable stay. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent four days in this beautiful hotel. The staff are friendly, courteous, helpful and extremely professional. The concierge is amazing, very knowledgeable and no task is too great or small. The reception was great and ensured a smooth arrival and departure. I even witnessed their tact and patience with some very difficult customers. The bar staff is extremely efficient with a relaxed manner that put their guests at ease. We had our breakfast in a huge, airy restaurant. All tastes were catered for, and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast by the window watching the world go by. Our room was absolutely beautiful and comfortable with a big soft bed and interesting décor. The hotel will even supply bed boards if the mattress is too soft for you. The only issue I would have would be the lack of a safety grab bar in the bath. There is potential for a slip or fall getting out of the bath.
The hotel is ideally situated close to all great amenities. The bus 197 to and from the airport stops just outside. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If I ever return to the wonderful city that is Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. It is very rewarding to notice that you has such a pleasant stay. We shall look into your comment concerning the grip. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.