We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms in a good quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms in a good quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was our first time staying in a regular hotel in Amsterdam, previously we stayed in B & B's. The reception staff, with one exception were very professional and friendly. our check-in was not handled well and despite telling us that our room was ready for occupying after it had been inspected, the length of time taken to inspect the room was inordinately long. The young lady at reception made no effort to follow up this procedure and we just waited. This plus the fact that we had to ask twice for additional towels was the only problem that we had with the reception. The room we had facing the canal was spacious and the bed large and extremely comfortable. The decor is of another era but definitely in keeping with the tradition of the hotel. The breakfast was a top range buffet in a glorious art deco environment. We also had dinner in the same restaurant where the food was good but the service could have been better considering the fact that the restaurant was far from crowded. To avoid excessive noise from the outside crowds I would suggest requesting a room facing the canal. The advice and service from the Concierge was outstanding. Recommended as an ideal location in order to easily get to anywhere you want to see.

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and review posting. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience. Your constructive comments will be shared and used for service improvements. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    652
    230
    91
    44
See reviews for
146
695
109
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Except for the restaurant, whose decoration is incredible, and the bar, the hotel is disappointing. The room was very common and the bathroom exiguous. If you want to enjoy the restaurant, come for a breakfast or just a coffee. Hopefully it is very well situated, next to the museums and the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The less contemporary rooms are scheduled for refurbishment later this year. We think that with the word: hopefully, you actually mean: definitely? Please allow us to show you the refurbished rooms upon your next Amsterdam visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I forgot to put my Kindle in the safe. Big mistake since it was not there when I came back from a long day of walking. Other than that the hotel is at a super location, and the room was ok. Very noisy shower vent, and a super small window where a bit depressing. Will not go back mainly since I really liked my Kindle, and the staff didn't really seem to care it was stolen from the room.

Room Tip: Room with window to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that you have lost your Kindle. We do however take your claim of the device being stolen as a serious allegation and regret that you leave no room for doubt that the alleged missing item could have disappeared any other way. Hereby you are incriminating our employees without any proof or evidence. We are left to wonder why you have chosen this platform to communicate with us and why the incident was not reported to the police. We would very much welcome an investigation. Until then we should treat this as a suspicion and not just yet as a fact. We hope you will contact us personally so we can handle this in a decent manor. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norge
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have just come home after spending 4 nights at Amsterdam American Hotel. All in all this was a very good experience, even though it came with a couple of flaws. Everything went smoothly from checking in and until we checked out. The staff is very professional and very friendly. We really felt that we were well taken care of. Our room was very good. Very spacious, with the view to the street between the hotel and the beautiful theatre next door. This is also where the little bump came, when some workers started at 6:30 in the morning both Monday and Tuesday in the street between these two locations. During the weekend everything was perfect and we slept like two babies in our big comfortable bed. The other flaw was that no information was given that the hotel would take a deposit of 200 Euro when I submitted my credit card. I later checked the website the hotel was ordered from and I see it has been mentioned there under "See more conditions".

The hotel has a perfect location almost in the middle of everything you can see in Amsterdam. The Heiniken Brewery (open for publik), Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the beautiful Vondelpark are a few minutes walk away. There are a huge amount of restaurants nearby and several shops too.

Having fallen in love with Amsterdam I will be back soon, and this is certainly the hotel I will be staying at.

Room Tip: Choose a room with canal view. Our room 011 was very good and of a good size, and perfect for a wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Great to read that you will be returning. Indeed our deposit conditions are mentioned, however, we shall look into it if we can display the conditions in a more visible manner. It is difficult to influence construction works carried out by the municipality. But on your next visit we can also accomodate you in a room towards our inner courtyard. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. The staff was helpful. The location of the hotel is very good, and our room had a great view of the canal out the window. The hotel has a great history and is worth walking around inside the hotel just to see all the unique features. The room was nice, clean, big bed, and the AC worked very well. The only knock on the hotel is that the "free internet" is slow, and was annoying throughout the stay. The cafe downstairs is very nice, and worth a look around. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to notice that you had such an ejoyable stay. Our free WIFI is for private use purposes. If higher speed is required for business purposes, vouchers can be obtained for more bandwith. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We booked a trip to Warsaw and Amsterdam and had our travel agent make hotel reservations in Amsterdam. She sent us to the Amsterdam American which has an outstanding location, great staff, wonderful breakfast and most of the things you want traveling in an unknown city. HOWEVER, our room left much to be desired--the lighting was poor, there was room only for one easy chair and the room appeared to be at least 3 times longer than it is wide. There was one small window overlooking the roof, although there were 3 plants placed there to break up the view. I suspect that the inadequate room was due to the travel "deal" we were given so while I would give the hotel very good ratings the room (#131) cast a shadow on our stay. Avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 131.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The room appointed to you is indeed a relatively compact room. If feasible we shall always try to only accomodate single travellers in this very room. Upon your next visit, please inform us about your preferences, in order for us to try and accomodate you in a room matching your needs. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I would highly recommend the American Hotel in Amsterdam to anyone. We had a long weekend stay to explore Amsterdam. The hotel is situated brilliantly in the heart of Amsterdam with everything you want in a walking distance. The Van Gogh museum is absolutely wonderful and is only 10 minutes from the hotel on foot as is the Rikjsmuseum. The hotel has numerous restaurants and bars within a 5 or 10 minute walk although dont overlook the hotel itself with its lovely Amercan Bar and beautifully decorated restaurant. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night. It was delicious food. I had the lamb which was perfectly tender and pink washed down with a good bottle of Cava. I would also highly rate the hotel staff who were so helpful throughout the stay and even when very busy, always willing to be friendly and accommodating. You can also sit outside the hotel during the day or on an evening by the very attractive fountain and people watch. Amsterdam is a vibrant exciting city and the water fountain is a great place to watch people coming and going. Again the staff waiting on the outside tables are really super and make you feel welcome and comfortable at all times. All in all, if you want a City break and want a really lovely hotel located in the heart of Amsterdam where everything that you are likely to want to see is within a walking distance of the hotel, then choose the American Hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are grateful for your kind recommendations. We hope to see you again in the future. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Café Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.